We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed, Angry!!!!”
Review of Palm Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palm Island Hotel
Ranked #99 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in Palm Island for 2 nights only a few weeks ago. We had a lovely time in Ko Samui, however we were horrified and shocked to discover that we had money robbed from us by our bags been thourghly checked and carefully put back in the same position. We are quite upset and disappointed that this has happened as we are always very careful. We would just like to warn anyone who is considering to stay there that your bags will be searched for anything valuable and especially money as we have learned.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GAIL g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Palm Island Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed at Palm Island Hotel in February and the experience was pretty good. The rooms and pool area was kind of dated but it fine for the price. The staff were helpful and organised transfer and boat to Koh Tao for us. Location was good as it was close to the main action in Chaweng but still quite when you wanted to go to sleep. Bathrooms were nice and clean. I wouldn't recommend the eating in the restaurant. All in all it was a comfortable stay though not luxurious

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Stayed here for a month in August. I had stayed at this hotel about six years ago when it was reasonable. Now the owner (lease holder) wants shot of it and does not want to spend a penny putting anything right.
It would take too long to list everything that doesn't work in this place,
The only thing the owner seems to have maintained is the prices he charges, not by any stretch of the imagination. reasonable for the condition of this hotel.
Plenty of cheaper cleaner

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We stayed here for 7 nights at the beginning of January 2011. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Clean rooms serviced every day. Lovely pool and beach front location. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Its close to all the bars/clubs and shops..approx 5 minutes walk but very quiet if you want to relax and get a nights sleep.

It was very reasonable to stay there..only small complaint that the breakfast was small...one cup of tea/coffee, small glass of fruit juice, 2 small slices of toast and eggs of your choice. No top ups available as it was all table servided by waiters. If you wanted more you had to pay.

However their bar food was nice and good value..portions were much better.

Great if you are european, single (age 28-40) and wanting to mix with other like minded people.

Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Truthteller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

I decided on the Palm Island courtesy of the sales people at the airport.
The rooms are nicely equipped for Chaweng beach, in terms of the price. The air-cond worked well and the shower and bed was fine. It had a fridge and a balcony also.
The pool is nice and big enough to swim in should you not want to swim in the sea which is next door!
The restaurant is mediocre and this was the worst aspect of the hotel. The laundry service however, was very efficient and nicely priced. The maids did a super job.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marktEnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

I stayed at palm island for about 7 or 8 nights, I walked up most of chaweng beach looking for a nice hotel at a good price, this was by far the best value for money. Its clean (cleaned every day and well) and the aircon is good, although sounds like you're sleeping next to a jumbo jet, but it drowns out any noise from outside and you forget about it.
The rooms are big and light with a nice balcony. Bathroom is clean but a bit run down. The only thing they don't have are safe deposit boxes. So in all the room is good, nice bed, bathroom is basic but clean, shower OK.
The best thing about this hotel is the pool area and the fact you are literally on the beach. The pool is nice and big with water flowing off one level into the main pool and very well maintained, an excellent pool. Location is perfect not in the really noisey part but only a short walk. The staff dont kiss your backside and are not fake unlike a lot of places so if you want that dont come here, but they are fine.
The breakfast here is pretty rubbish, the 'continental' is a round of toast (smallest bread ever) and very little orange juice, and it finishes at 10.30 so missed it a lot. But there's lots of places on the beach that do good breakfasts for cheap.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tansiedogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

Never before have I stayed in a hotel with more unfriendly, unhelpful staff where the most basic customer service proves to be a huge problem.
On our arrival, my 2 friends tried to pay for our beach bunglaow on their credit cards and the staff put each payment through twice. When this came to light, the staff were extremely incompetent and not in the least bit sorry and as a result it took us 3 hours of hanging around reception waiting for this to be rectified. After ruining our whole evening by their error, they even made us pay for the food we had to eat there! It now turns out these payments were never refunded at all! We are still trying to sort it out.

Breakfast is 2 slices of toast and 1 small cup of tea/coffee. Most mornings we ended up having to serve ourselves as we got fed up asking and waiting. Other mornings we gave up and went elsewhere. On the rare occasions we had lunch there, we ended up more or less serving ourselves.

The beach bungalow we had was not worth 6000 baht per night. The drains smelled, there was no hot water and the lighting was barely existent.

Working at the hotel seems to be a social gathering for the staff - on one occasion I came back from the pool to find 2 maids cleaning and about 4 staff reclining on our sofa having a chat.

Avoid booking trips through this hotel also - the one we booked failed to turn up for us.

If you want some entertainment, hang around reception for an hour and watch the queue of people of all nationalities wating to complain about something and the staff pretending not to understand.

All in all - don't expect much from this place.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allybLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.1 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#56 of 103 in Chaweng
412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
0.5 mi away
P&P Samui Resort
P&P Samui Resort
#71 of 103 in Chaweng
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Suneast Bungalows
Suneast Bungalows
#164 of 184 in Bophut
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tango Beach Resort
Tango Beach Resort
#54 of 103 in Chaweng
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#32 of 103 in Chaweng
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Island Hotel

Address: 101 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Price Range: £33 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Island Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Palm Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Island Hotel Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing