We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“another good location away from crowd”
Review of Palm Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palm Island Hotel
Ranked #100 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Malaybalay City, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“another good location away from crowd”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

i like this place, eventhough it is at chaweng beach but it is good to stay away from the crowd , have a swim and sun bathing at the beach, having my massage by the beach was so relaxing ,i would walk to the night market and some bar at night from the hotel and it is safe , walking at the beach or running is fun too

Room Tip: please choose room on the second floor by the swimming pool or choose the room by the pool,for your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nailyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    22
    18
    12
    26
See reviews for
14
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Took us over an hour to get to this hotel on a tuk tuk from the ferry port, not sure whether it was the 'driver' or just because it was the other side of the island (which isnt very big). The hotel reception is situated off the main road so you have to walk through an alley way / path area to get there. We had false hopes as we walked past some of the rooms on the way to the reception/pool area which looked quite nice. Our room was back on to the main road and up some grotty stairs, so it felt like we werent part of the hotel and in a block of unwanted flats. The room was quite big, basic, but clean.
It is in walking distance to the main night life, no more than ten minutes, which is where you can find all the main bars, restaurants and clubs. We found our favourite bar, ARK BAR which is a big party on the beach (or you can go here for pool parties in the day).
The bar / restaurant service at the hotel is from one happy chatty fella. the food is good although you are given a service charge even when you order a bottle of water!
If I was to come back here I would make sure I had a room near the reception area rather than being put in what felt like a block of flats with some random (and noisey) residents.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

Here was nice location and clean but must be carefully when you want to have some drinks or eat any breakfast lunch or dinner at the restaurant any staff will get you more over real price from your beverage or food and drink double price for stupid Farang to spend big money on holiday or maybe this is a new Promotion from Summer season on this hotel , Big Thankss

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunsita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We came to Palm Island after being completely disgusted by the condition of our room at Baan Rom Mai and whilst it cost £295 for three nights (between Christmas and New Year) we were relieved to have found a little bunglow here. The interior was great, clean and the bathroom had marble tiles. the pool area was fantastic and besides a few noisy guests it was very peaceful. It is not a resort for backpackers as it may be above budget but really good compared to a lot of the resorts in Thailand.

Pros: on the beach, close to many beach restaurants, lovely pool area, clean and homely interiors, close to the shopping areas. Also close to the international hospital. Beautifule full moon and sun rise!

Cons: breakfast was included but very humble portions, people selling stuff on the beach can get a little too much - they offer lanterns and cheap lasers etc as well as noisy fireworks.

All in all a very good resort that was a welcome break from the madness of Phi Phi and the filthy state of Baan Rom Mai resort down the road.

Prego restaurant is very close which is lovely but try some of the seafood on the beach - we bought two fresh squid for 100 Baht and asked for it to cooked as crumbed calamari. It was delicious but enough for 6 people!

Room Tip: the bungalows around the pool area are nice with a verandah and nice bench/chairs to enjoy it from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcapza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This is the worst hotel ever! It has a lovely pool and is right on the beach but they took us around the back of the hotel to our room! Which looked at least 50 years old! We had no window! The walls were filthy, the sheets weren't clean, our tap dripped all night, the air con made us so ill! We got back one night and they changed all the locks but didn't tell us so when we went to open our room we couldn't! And on our last morning they were drilling at 9 in the morning!!! Our room was like a dungeon!! Not good value for money at all!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ss123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chaweng hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

This hotel is well located and good value for beachfront. Is is starting to show it's age and the rooms are smaller but you stay for the staff and the beachfront position, it is where you want to be. Hanging on the side of the pool looking at the beach 2 meters away says it all. The staff were great, made towel sculptures every night and noithing was too hard for them.

Room Tip: I avoid the bungalows, main builing, upstairs, centre, great view of water
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHK2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2012

we stayed here august 2012,me my daughter and my dad.I never usually write reviews but i wanted to let people know that i found this hotel expensive for what it was compared to some of the other hotels on samui.We paid £40 per night per room and we stayed for 5 nights,basically the hotel is charging for location(right on chaweng beach) and you get little else apart from the lovely pool area to make up for the expense.The hotel is outdated by about 10 years,you can tell that when this hotel was new it was probably a good choice as looking around the restaurant/reception/rooms etc,the whole place is being neglected,which is a shame to see as it has such great potential.Breakfast was quite a poor affair,1 egg,1 hotdog sausage,1 toast and a slice of bacon with tea,juice or coffee, there are other items which you can pay extra for and the was no refills on the coffee,im no big eater on a morning but somebody who is would be starving after the palm island breakfast.Rooms are spotless and i couldnt fault them at all but they did feel like something i would only pay £15 a night for in thailand.Staff are nice though ,very helpful .All in all its mainly the fact we felt felt a little ripped off in the pricing of this hotel that made me review this hotel on here,dont mean to sound negative because there are good points too,ie the pool area is lovely,the location and rooms are really clean .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millyLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.4 mi away
Suneast Bungalows
Suneast Bungalows
#158 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#53 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muang Kulaypan Hotel
Muang Kulaypan Hotel
#60 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#71 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#35 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.5 mi away
P&P Samui Resort
P&P Samui Resort
#85 of 104 in Chaweng
3.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Island Hotel

Property: Palm Island Hotel
Address: 101 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Island Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Palm Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Island Hotel Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing