We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would go back”
Review of Palm Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palm Island Hotel
Ranked #100 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Red Deer, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I would go back”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Pros: nice beach, nice pool, hotel rooms are cleaned everyday. Very comfortable beds. Friendly breakfast staff, breakfast included. Very quiet hotel. They give you a beach towel every day, no charge.
Cons: the drains in the bathrooms smell horrible, they did nothing when we complained. No safety box. Rude reception staff. Don't book anything through them- they'll rip you off and laugh about it to your face. They need better beach chairs. They charge 10% on everything you order. Had lunch there once. It was bad.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    22
    19
    13
    27
See reviews for
16
35
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This isn't a terrible place to stay, we arrived after a taxi took us there we didn't book it ourselves. The hotel pool and reception looks like luxury and right on a gorgeous beach too. But the rooms are not very clean stains on bed sheets And dirty walls. Also my partner got really bad food poisoning while staying here he had eaten at the restaurant within the hotel and Burger King the next day which I had to so we are thinking it came from the hotel. Overall a pleasant stay. Staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Han143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We booked Triple Vila .. Dirty Bed Sheet , Dirty Towels . They will not clean your room properly.
Lady at Reception "LEX" is rude ..didn't help us at all.
Lack of Staff , unhygienic place .

Never ever book this Hotel.

If you require more info about the hotel .. contact at Surbhinicky@gmail.com

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky812014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chaweng hotels

Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The hotel is in a good location, but that was probably the only good thing about it. On our arrival the sheets on the bed were dirty, massive stains on it. We informed the reception about it and they sent someone to change the sheet, the new sheet was too small for the bed and we got told that will have to do until the next day.
Next day the housekeeping cleaned our room but forgot to give us new towels, toilet paper, water bottles, tea, coffee etc, so we went down to reception again where they told us, they would inform the housekeeping. 2 hours later we still had not seen anyone, so we had to use our own towels for showering.
The following day, it got even better, by 6pm our room was still not cleaned and we informed the reception again. The housekeeping came up about 1 hour later and gave us 2 bottles of water and one toilet roll, and while I was saying to her that the room has not been cleaned yet, she literally closed the door in front of me. REALLY???
This is definitely not what I expected for paying 5000 baht per night!!!
Safe was not in the room either which most of the other places provided.

Neither reception nor housekeeping was very friendly or helpful and I would definitely not recommend this place to anyone...not for that price!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stef_with_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

I want to say only about massage service on the beach from this hotel. If you will be at Chaweng beach please use for massage this hotel's service only! High professional women, very friendly, friendly prices, no music around - only bird's signing.

Would recommend it!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikhail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is your average, nice Thai hotel - a place to relax away rom the seedy strip of Chaweng. We had a garden view room which had a really pretty view. The pool is great and it's a lovely experience to eat practically on the beach. The beach itself is gorgeous and quiet. $42 CA.

The food there was also excellent - though don't order the jungle curry unless you are prepared for some SERIOUS spice!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We spent 6 nights at this hotel for the 5th time. We always book the beach front cottage. Cottage very comfortable, spacious and very clean. Staff very friendly but English not good. American breakfast included in rate but very basic. You get 2 eggs, sausage, bacon, ham and 2 slices of toast. You also get a glass of juice and a cup of coffee or tea. It is well prepared. We ordered a few times Thai food from the menu. The food is excellent and cheap. One night they served us on the beach. We were also served on the balcony of our cottage. This is a basic hotel but if you go for a beach holiday the hotel will do. Beach very nice. The hotel is also very quiet compare to the other big hotels. Can highly recommend this hotel but book a cottage. Hotel is walking distance to beach restaurants. The seafood was not as fresh this time at the restaurants on the beach. I think it is because of the low season. Cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: Book a cottage or a sea view room. Cottages much more expensive than the rooms but worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TableMountain_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.1 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#54 of 104 in Chaweng
405 reviews
0.6 mi away
Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
0.5 mi away
P&P Samui Resort
P&P Samui Resort
#76 of 104 in Chaweng
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#29 of 104 in Chaweng
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tango Beach Resort
Tango Beach Resort
#52 of 104 in Chaweng
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marine Bungalows
Marine Bungalows
#218 of 317 in Ko Samui
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Island Hotel

Property: Palm Island Hotel
Address: 101 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Island Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Palm Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Island Hotel Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing