We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quaintest lil place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Ranked #2 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2009

i think buri rasa has less than 20 rooms but its a fantastic plce..i booked it thru a website so was very skeptical when we left but im glad i booked it coz it was really pretty n nice..the location is super if u want action all the time...u have tons of stuff all around..massage parlours,bars,restaurants,shopping.however if u want none of those then its better to move away from chaweng beach as this is wher all the action happens..however once u get into the hotel u hear none of the noise or anythng..the hotel has rooms whch have individual dip pools...they say the pools r private but u can look into those from other rooms...the beach out thr is pretty clean too n they have a pool whch is pretty nice too..

Stayed: January 2007
Thank MumbaiBeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

864 - 870 of 1,418 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2009

We stayed at the Buri Rasa Village and found it to be an excellent oasis of tranquility in the midst of the activity on the main street of Chaweng which is right outside the front entrance. This was despite the hotel claiming to have problems of noise caused by the building site next door (we hardly heard a thing).

The hotel is village style and everyone has their own entrance with small private gardens for those on the ground floor. The rooms we had were charming and there was sufficient room - without being excessive as you sometimes find in hotels in Thailand.

Breakfast was a little unusual as you were required to order most things from the waiter to compliment a relatively small buffet. That being said everything you would expect was available, it just took us the first day to realise exactly how the system worked. Other meals we took in the city so apart from feeding the children we don't know too much about the restaurant.

The swimming pool is not quite up to expectations and not very inviting but then you have the beach right on your doorstep, so who really cares.

If you like shopping and bargining with the store holders then this is a great place to be - so that you can run away when you have had enough.

Overall impression - nice hotel, nice service and facilities - without being exceptional, but probably good value when compared with other hotels we saw on the same street.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terryliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

The Buri Rasa Resort is a nice, well located on Chaweng beach. The overall ambience of the resort is OK. The service is very good and the staff are friendly and helpful.

The rooms - are average. We booked villa with a plunge pool. Our expectation was that the pool would have sun exposure and we would be able to enjoy the sun in the privacy of our own villa enclosure. This was not the case. The pool was very small ( think hot tub size) , well shaded ( with no direct sunlight) and was overlooked by two other units. The garden and pool area were not really private as they could be easily over looked buy two different units on the second floor.

The restaurant ( betelut) is very good and we highly recommend it. The breakfast buffet was also very good.

All in all we liked our stay, however it was not the "pool villa " experience we had anticipated.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank pjmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2008

A enjoyable stay at the Buri Rasa. The hotel is well situated at the quieter end of Chaweng Beach, although the whole area is pretty quiet at the moment.

Good Points: location, value for money ( got a very good discounted rate on line of £70per night), friendliness of staff, quality of food in the restaurant, free wifi

The food was very good indeed , particularly the night we dined at Betelnut. Breakfast is a decent buffet with hot stuff off the a la carte

Not so good points:I booked the hotel knowing well that I would arrive very early in the morning. Therefore I booked from the previous night...the room wasnt avaialable on arrival...not good.

Our room wasnt cleaned till very late in the day...around 4oclock on a couple off occasions.

There is construction going on adjacent to the hotel. This didnt bother us , but I expect it would have if you had one of the rooms overlooking it


None of these points diminished the enjoyment of our stay to any great extent and I would stay here again at the right price

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

We stayed at Buri Rasa for four nights in early October and loved it! The hotel itself is located on Chaweng beach which makes it ideal for people who want to be part of the action; and yet, its away from the crowded (central) parts of the beach, so its a little oasis of calm. We stayed in a Garden Villa, which was cute, comfortable and convenient. It was a little smaller than what we had expected and perhaps the larger Villas with the plunge pools are worth the extra. That said, the service was super-friendly, unimposing and efficient. The hotel doesnt feel like a resort-so those looking for an all-inclusive resort experience should definitely avoid it. The spa, pool and bar are perfect for a couple holidaying together, but looked inadequate for large groups of people looking to lounge around by the poolside all day. The stretch of beach that the hotel looks out into is gorgeous, not too crowded and is not a throughfare for the throngs of tourists who crowd Chaweng. The only downside of our stay (which the hotel has little to do with) was the construction noise resulting from some huge construction project right next door. The rooms are insulated from the noise (unless you get them adjoining the wall in question), but there;s no ignoring it as you walk about the property during the day. All in all-we were very staisfied with the stylish, boutique resort and would highly reccomend it to couples looking for an intimate experience. While it is on the pricier side, you get what you pay for! We were told that It might be worth your while to call the hotel directly to negotiate a better rate than whats available on the Hotels web site-particularly if you've gotten a better deal off another third-party website.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluestraveller14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2008

We stayed at this place for 5 days as part of our honeymoon in August. The location of the hotel is perfect- it is right in the middle of chaweng but once you enter the hotel premise, you find yourself in an oasis of calm and beauty. The rooms are nicely decorated, well equipped and the facilities immaculate. The service was outstanding, their attention to detail very impressive. We got upgraded the first morning without even requesting it since there was construction going on next room.
Our hotel manager, an ever-smiling guy called Phet was extremely accomodating with all our requests including free wi-fi in the room and info on things-to-do in samui.
The breakfast was fresh and healthy with a nice variety and next to the sea. The beach bar was relaxing, not too pretentious.
The hotel grounds and pathways were curious and charming giving us a real feel of the tropics.
The room service was personalised with little goodies like cookies, welcome cake and wine, flowers and very interestingly shaped toiletries.
We would reccomend any one staying at Buri Rasa to pick their beach suites which had a seperate lounge and bedroom plus balcony. Definitely worth the money. The hotel is within easy walking distance to shopping, restaurants, clubs as well as Samui's best massage parlours.
The sand just outside the resort was clean although the sitting area was relatively small and not as private. However, there are pretty cool watersports such as water bike, canoeing , etc which can be rented just outside the resort.
All in all- GO FOR IT :)

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank scarlett24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2008

We stayed at Buri Rasa again and it was absolutely delightful! The room, gardens, staff, food and ambiance are outstanding. (The resort is designed for couples).

If you want to stay in Chaweng the location of the Buri Rasa is ideal as it is close to all the shops and restaurants. The Buri Rasa is a smaller resort that is warm and welcoming which is always a special treat when you are on a holiday.

We love the staff - one of the turn-down staff members noticed we were playing The Clash (our favourite Thai band). He asked us if we wanted him to send a DVD of the band and he did! He was so kind and a lovely person - we are very grateful.

The dinners on the beach are also very romantic and the food is absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MelbAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.6 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
843 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#12 of 103 in Chaweng
2,638 reviews
0.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 103 in Chaweng
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.9 mi away
Muang Samui Spa Resort
Muang Samui Spa Resort
#4 of 103 in Chaweng
949 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buri Rasa Village Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buri Rasa Village Samui

Address: 11/2 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#2 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Business Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £136 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buri Rasa Village Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning Buri Rasa Village located at the very center of Chaweng Beach, Koh Samui. Buri Rasa is an enchanting traditional southern Thai dwelling in a Garden of Eden. Echoes of halcyon days with once upon a time tales of aristocracy escaping to country or paradise island retreats with a full compliment of servants and services to meet their every need & requirement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Buri Rasa Village Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buri Rasa Village Hotel Chaweng
Buri Rasa Village Koh Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing