We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A paradise with everything to make you return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Ranked #2 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A paradise with everything to make you return”
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We stayed for over a week and did not want to leave. If you want a place to relax and rejuvenate on a beautiful beach, the Buri Rasa is it. The beach and sun are fantastic. The water on the beach stays warm even at night. The hotel is gorgeous both because of its authentic design and its intimate size. We received an upgrade to the garden room with wading pool and what a wonderful treat that was. The service of all the staff was always with a smile and always helpful. Porn and Arm took care of us all on the beach with a warm smile and greeting every morning. Our best greetings to Porn and Arm! The ladies in the spa gave great massages and treatments. We really enjoyed getting to know the staff generally, as they were a positive and pleasant group to talk with. The restaurant cuisine and staff were world class. Our compliments to them. The New Year's eve dinner and celebration was truly special with a seafood extravaganza, shows and fireworks. One of the most enjoyable and memorable New Year's nights for us. Really my wife and I cannot compliment this hotel enough. In terms of downsides, I can only think of a few but really they didn't affect our supremely positive view. First, there is the construction noise from the neighbouring property, but the hotel can't control it and we were warned in advance when we booked. In the end, the construction noise merely replaced our alarm clock in the morning and once on the beach the noise was not an issue. Second, we disagreed that people who were not hotel guests could use hotel beach chairs, because the sizable price guests pay should come with exclusivity and monopoly of services. Third, the ramshackle state of the Chaweng street is a wart for this amazing place. However, you have restaurants and bars on the beach which allow you to completely avoid the hassling of street vendors and the lack of aesthetics on that street. But these are all minor issues which pale relative the paradise that this place is. We can't wait to return and we would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aristotelian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,079
    197
    50
    17
    10
See reviews for
270
723
52
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

We stayed at the Buri Rasa at the end of November 2009, and were glad that we did. It provides the best of both worlds being a very quite and relaxing resort that has a front door on the main road through Chaweng where there is a plentiful supply of restaurants, bars, and clubs.

The hotel itself comprises a number of two-story villas set in gardens that lead down to athe beach. There are different types of room - ours were on the ground floor and had a small outside sitting area behind tall walls - entry was by a solid door into this sitting area - very private if you wished to sit outside your room.

The hotel provides sun beds, parasols and beach towels for the beach, and attentive staff were always nearby to bring drinks etc whenever required.

The rooms were furnished in Thai style and lots of bathroom goodies were provided. The rooms were kept immaculate.

Dining was at the Betelnut restaurant in the hotel grounds near to the beach. Breakfast was superb, and the one main meal we ate there was also superb.

We found everyone of the hotel staff that we encountered during our stay to be very friendly, all knew what they were doing, and were happy to meet any reasonable requests from hotel guests. It was nice to be pampered.

But that is not all. Being where it is, it is not far to go to the many different restaurants and bars that Chaweng has to offer. We ate at a different restaurant each night. Nearby is a restaurant / bar called The Wave which we liked a lot. Wherever we went during the evening we always finished here before retiring to the hotel next door. The owner Pete is a great character, and he has some great staff. We went to their weekly quiz on Tuesday evening - a fun night that everyone in the place seemed to enjoy. The Wave also has a library of many hundreds (perhaps more than a thousand) books that can be hired - the hire fees go to support local animal charities. Pete can also arrange island tours providing a driver and car or minibus for four hours - price Baht 1,400 - go where you want and avoid some of the places that the organised and more expensive tours take you to. Pete will let you know some of these more interesting places.

We also went on a 4 x 4 tour around the island with Mr Ongs tours. More expensive that Pete's but they took us right over the top of the mountains and we stopped for lunch at a mountain top restaurant. Brilliant.

If we go to Samui again, we would definitely think about staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RayWatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2010

Having trawled through many reviews for Chaweng properties, I came across Buri Rasa and thank goodness I did!!!! This hotel was first class in every way. Incredible rooms, impeccable service, great private beach, amazing restaurant (the breakfast alone was well worth getting up for), the highest standards I have ever come across from a hotel, and excellent value for money (I booked through hotelclub [via tripadvisor] and got my room for 4900 a night). I was on a romantic holiday with my partner but would definitely recommend this place for a honeymoon - it was so heavenly, we changed our plans to return there. I will be going back again and again!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinaMac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2010

This is the most spectacular hotel on chaweng beach. An idylic little village right on the lively chaweng strip.

We had the garden court room with a dip pool. The room was artfully furnished with a canopy bed and all the modern amenities. The bathroom was huge with an old style thai fountain in it.

Open the glass sliding panels to the room and you are in the garden court. Lush vegetation abounds, a dip pool (which is also a jacuzzi) under a wooden canopy and a large day bed to tan or lounge on. The whole place is walled and gated for privacy.

Service is exemplary. From check in to check out and everything in between the staff make you feel right at home. First time ever that upon check in the staff did not ask for any deposit or credit card security.Staff at the poolside caters to your every whim and fancy, even running across the beach to procure fresh sliced pineapple or roasted corn. While lounging in the sun the staff brings you ice buckets for your individual drinks so that they remain chilled even under the smiling sun.

The award winning dining facilities are supplemented by a 24hour authentic thai diner, Ninja Crepes, just across the hotel.

The spa gives you five star services at a fifteen percent discount, simply because you are a guest at the hotel.

For me Koh Samui is the only place to be in Thailand and Buri Rasa is the only place to be in Koh Samui.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlphaFoxtrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

I've been to the Buri Rasa Hotel twice already, once in March 2009 and now again over New Year's Eve 2009-2010. I returned to this place because it is one of the most relaxing and charming hotels I have ever seen - and I have been travelling to many places in the world.

Service at the Buri Rasa is outstanding. The reception staff was informed about my arrival and that I am a returning guest. Within a few hours, everybody (!) of the hotel staff greeted me by name and knew my preferences. Going to my room, the housekeeping staff put up a "Welcome Back" (plus my name) sign on my bed out of flowers.

Apart from the perfect service, it is a small and cosy place, wonderfully naturally designed, and at a perfect quiet location on busy Chaweng beach. The restaurant and breakfast area at the beach offer amazing views, and breakfast quality is outstanding. You can basically order what you like, and it is being made on the spot for you!

The hotel's spa offers good value and service but is usually very busy so be sure to book your treatment ahead!

Wi-Fi is available free of charge within the whole hotel area - including the beach - which was of great help as I am using skype on my iPhone!

Would I recommend this place? Yes, absolutely!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fivetonine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

We stayed at Buri Rasa end of december and loved the place.

Our room (nr 25) was beautiful, the garden nice but too many mosquitos to sit outside in the evening. The construction next door was not too disturbing but prevented us anyway from using the little pool or sitting outside during working hours.

Always a nice breeze at the restaurant and therefore no mosquitos.
Breakfast was very nice. The fresh fruitjuices you could choose from, the variety of bread, yoghurt, fruits, ... all very nice.

We once tried the restaurant and it was really lovely food, although a bit pricy.

The computers for guests were most of the time available, so perfect as well.

All staff at Buri Rasa was very friendly and helpful. Well, all but one. The guy at breakfast always seemed sleepy and forgetting about the things we ordered. But really, besides that: marvellous.

The beach in front of the hotel is swept daily and it is a gorgeous beach. Just sand (no coral) and clear blue water. Fantastic again.
Just watch out for the jetskis as they seem to come pretty close from time to time.

Enjoy your stay, you won't regret.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bibi-ikke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Global
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

We really liked this little hotel and were pleasently surprised with the restaurant. it proved to be one of the best in the island. The hotel is all that it claims... however, there was a construction site right next to it. The staff could not do much about it and unfortunately it meant no treatments in the spa (it was too nosy to enjoy) and made it difficult to sit on our beautiful terrace to listen to the numerous fountains and birds. Lovely place, but if you go ask if there is still construction going on.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiquita123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.6 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
725 reviews
0.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
1.1 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,446 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buri Rasa Village Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buri Rasa Village Samui

Property: Buri Rasa Village Samui
Address: 11/2 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#1 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#2 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Business Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Buri Rasa Village Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning Buri Rasa Village located at the very center of Chaweng Beach, Koh Samui. Buri Rasa is an enchanting traditional southern Thai dwelling in a Garden of Eden. Echoes of halcyon days with once upon a time tales of aristocracy escaping to country or paradise island retreats with a full compliment of servants and services to meet their every need & requirement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Buri Rasa Village Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buri Rasa Village Hotel Chaweng
Buri Rasa Village Koh Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing