We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Psychotic staff - Feared for our lives.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
Ranked #90 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Psychotic staff – Feared for our lives.”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Last week I stayed at the Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel. Myself and 3 work colleagues who are all professional teachers and in our late 20’s travelled to Ko Sumui to enjoy a relaxing mid-term break from school.
On Monday afternoon last we decided to rent 3 scooters to travel around the Island. We booked the bikes from reception and paid the fees. In testing one of the bikes a friend of mine brushed the curb and scratched the paint in two places, we decided to go back to the hotel to inform the receptionist. My friend was happy to pay for the damage. We informed the receptionist that we had not been told about insurance and wanted to pay a fair price. The receptionist as this point began kicking a step and waving violently at the female member of our party saying that this was not his fault. At this point we asked for the police to be called as we were afraid for our safety. At this he began advancing towards us violently and had to be held back. The receptionist then began punching himself in the head and face areas and bashing his face off a wall to the point where he dislodged his tooth and his face was covered in blood. We were absolutely scared for our lives and wanted the police to be called.
We asked on 5 occasions for the police to be called but staff refused, likewise they refused to escort the man off the premises. We pleaded for help but got none, when we said we wanted them to drive us out we were informed that we had to pay our bill. At this point they threatened to call the authorities unless we paid, we informed them we had no problem with this. My friend and his wife fled to take refuge in their hotel room but decided to climb a fence into an adjoining hotel. I was left with my other friend to plead with the staff to take our credit card which they had access to and to allow us to leave. After 30 minutes the receptionist who was covered in blood and standing 10 meters away was approached by a female member of staff who tried to calm him down, he tried to assault her violently and then began shouting at myself and my friend. We retreated behind a car for safety. The receptionist advanced to his scooter which was parked beside us an began searching for something in the storage area, at this we began to panic fearing that the man was retrieving a weapon to use on us. The staff stood around enjoying the show and nobody offered us any help, the receptionist left on his own accord on his scooter cursing and shouting at us. The staff could not have cared less and made us pay our entire bill. We were petrified that the man would return and begged for them to help us get away - they refused. After the bill was paid the manager sent staff down to our rooms to check the mini bars and would not let us leave until I had paid for the one coke I had consumed. Both my friend and his wife who had taken refuge next door returned and we collected our bags, the staff did not apologise and grunted at us, we were charged an extra 30 euro for a lift to the ferry to get off the island. I have never before witnessed fear like it, had the man attacked us I believe at least one of us may have been murdered such was the anger he exhibited. We have all been deeply affected by this incident; to say it ruined our holiday is the least of our worries. To think that an incident like this can occur in broad daylight over something as minor as a scratch is unbelievable. We were shocked that no one offered us any assistance and enjoyed watching the scene unfold. No one in their right mind should ever contemplate staying at this hotel –EVER.

Room Tip: Don't for a second think about staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 334IrishG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somruedee, Owner at Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
The incidents about this is not the big things. Only the customers when they rented the motorbikes .One of them fall down and motorbike was scratched, they came to inform the accident happened and the receptionist say that they must to pay for the scratching but they denied to pay and asking for the insurance .We would like to say that in the really every motorbikes renting on Samui , they no have insurance and the contract renting said if the accident happen or fall down and scratched or broken in part of the motorbike, the rental must to pay for the whole damage cost. In the contract mention like that. But they still denied to pay asking why we did not tell them before. We can tell that before they rent we give them to sign contract agreement already and they sign their names. They spoke with the receptionist too much because they don’t want to pay until he had bad mood and explode the temper like that .
We must to say apologize for the customers and by this way we had the compensation them by do not charge for damaging cost 4,500 baht .The 4 tickets that they give us booked for them back to Bangkok and we paid for them later they cancel but we must to response because the tickets cannot refund 6,000 baht and we waive for bills 4 breakfast, Marlboro and water 1,283 baht and we apologized by e- mail to them. We do the best for service mind .In every people who came here and we opened the business for 30 years we realized that customers are number one and customers always right but this case we did not know what happen. We must to accept for something wrong in our service from our hotel and we told apologize to the customers already .We promise in the same case will not happen again and we will look after the customers and service them with our mind to do not complaint about this anymore.

We wish for You and for Your family a peaceful life.

Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    32
    19
    18
    25
See reviews for
7
55
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This hotel is totally overpriced and offers you almost nothing for free. The pictures on the website are a total lie. There is no beatch in front of the hotel there is just the plain ocean. The area at the pool is very small for 400 rooms and there are only 3 sun umbrellas and only a few deck chairs. The provided towels are shabby and torn. The reception does not speak english and all and is not helpfull. For any extra thing you have to pay extra. For example the Safety box. You have to put coins in it and loose them everytime you open it and get something out. The breakfast is nothing special and the restaurant is not clean and comfortable. The only good thing to say is that the staff at the bar and breakfast is very polite and nice and the rooms are okay. I would definetly never go back there.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Miss_Beetle84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chaweng hotels

Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

About 5 minutes on bike from the main chaweng road. Nice and quiet bungalows with a good breakfast and good service. It's right on the beach but its not the best beach on the island but has good pool.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_St89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I was travelling with my girlfriend and another couple, we chose this '"resort" because it said it was close to the beach, it isn't, has wifi in the rooms, it doesn't, and because it's a 5 min walk from the town, again it isn't to walk it would take 20 mins, and that will only be the start of the strip, when you get that far you will have been harassed by at least 10 people trying to sell you a suit.

The wifi shouldn't be the focus of my trip but as I was trying to organise the next part of my trip, it was a big plus the hotel having it, but it only occasionally worked out on the balcony of the room, for the price of the room you'd expect the tv to be watchable for when you want to chill out, again though the reception was terrible and it couldn't be watched.

The staff to be fair were really friendly but had no English, for the price of the rooms you'd expect to be able to communicate a problem to reception, the poolside bar has some of the worst food I ever tasted.

It's not a dirty hotel or anything it's just out of the way and greatly overpriced, we found a place down the road, that was actually on the strip for about 1700 baht less a night, if your stuck stay here, but it's not the place for a budget traveller

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TymonMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I had the presidential suite and haven't seen the other rooms. Impression of the hotel as a whole is average. I'd estimate it just below 3 star. Breakfast is okee. Sometimes the chef decides to cook a la carte, what then makes it great. Pool is small and not very inviting to lounge around. Beach is gone when high tide and at low tide small. Forget about sitting on the beach in front of the hotel.
It's close to the busy beach, but far away not to hear much sound. It's about a 10-15 minute walk over the beach to reach the busy beach.
Having said that, their presidential suite is like striking gold. It's right on the beach. You can jump from your big private plunge pool right onto the beach or into water if high tide. View is very very good. At night you see the lights of other hotels in the bay, the moon reflect in the water, you see people in the distance play with fireworks, you hear the waves while you stare into the sea from your plunge pool or bedroom. This is as "beach front" as it gets (otherwise you'd be on the water)! So I'd highly recommend this hotel if you can get the presidential suite!

Room Tip: Presidential suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galore360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We have stayed now three times in this hotel. Once in deluxe seaview bungalow, once upgraded from deluxe seaview bungalow to President Suite 104 and once (this time) downgraded from 104 to deluxe seaview bungalow for 5 days out of 8 days. They gave us every day a new story, why we couldn't have the room 104 inspite of the fact, that we had booked it and the booking was confirmed. Everyday waiting for the expected room spoiled our stay totally. We found out, that during these 5 days other guests and as far as we could see, different guests were upgraded to 104 or they had paid better price than we for the room. Also we met about 10 guests, who had problems with the bookings, they were not given the booked room or they were moved even to another hotel. One guest told, that in their other hotel they didn't have even a shower. This time it seemed that the whole booking management failed. Because of the fact, that you can not be sure, that they have the room you have booked, this might have been out last stay in this hotel.

Pros. The hotel is basic clean. They changed every day bed linen and towels. The pool area is nice. The breakfast is basic, but enough. The New Year dinner and program was very good. The hotel is quiet, because it is far enough from Chaweng center. You can enjoy the silence. The view from 104 balcony or seaside bungalows is breathtaking. The President suite is excellent.

Cons. Management of bookings failed. They have coconuts hanging in coconut trees. People are sunbathing just below these trees. Lifedangerous. One day they didn't have beach towels. There were spiders and lizards in our bungalow. If the sea is rough, there might be plenty of water in front of seaside bungalows and on sunbathing area.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fintraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I and my wife have just come back from New Year trip in Thailand. During 3 days 2 nights at Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel, it was really the memorable vacation. The room was really clean and nice. In addition, we saw sunset from our sea view room. The service was also great and its staffs were really, for example, they gave us a lot of sightseeing information (we went to Pha-ngun countdown party because of the recommendation and had a really good New Year time there). The best part of my trip is New Year's Eve party provided by the Hotel, fresh and good taste seafood with variety type of drinks next to the pool. We will definitely come back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: try deluxe sea view .. nice view with reasonable price
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
2.5 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Seascape Beach Resort
Seascape Beach Resort
#69 of 104 in Chaweng
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tango Beach Resort
Tango Beach Resort
#53 of 104 in Chaweng
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Chaweng Resort
Chaweng Resort
#65 of 104 in Chaweng
181 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chaba Samui Resort
Chaba Samui Resort
#32 of 104 in Chaweng
607 reviews
3.0 mi away
Marco Polo Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel

Property: Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
Address: 154/3 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Island Beach Hotel Chaweng
Samui Island Beach Resort And Hotel Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing