We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing from start to finish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi
Ranked #28 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing from start to finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

I dont quite know where to start on reviewing this hotel. It was perfect from start to finish and as i am a bit of a hotel snob i have high expectations.
we were greeted with a refreshing drink and cooling towels on arrival, and although we arrived before the requested check in time our room was ready within 10 minutes which was fantastic as we had travelled for 20 hours and were absolutely shattered.
we were taken up to our room on the hillside by a member of staff, who showed us around the room and showed us how everything worked. The rooms were airy and spacious, with plenty of cupboard space. The safe was discreet in the wardrobe and we used it all the time with no problems. The television great for the rainy afternoons.
I had done my research on the hotel and had read some bad reviews about the rooms on the hillside, that it was across the road and a long walk to the main part of the hotel, this was not the case, it was less than a 5 minute walk and although you had to cross the road there was always a 'lollypop' man as we call them in britain, who was there 24hours a day to guide you accross the road.
After 2 night We received an invitation by the management to join them for welcome drinks and nibbles. Some people may have been dubious of their intentions but in reality it was just the General Manager, John Gill wanting to introduce himself to his guest and make sure that we were happy with everything about the hotel. I thought this was a lovely touch which i have not experienced before on previous holidays and Mr Gill was a genuine person and an asset to the establishment.
His staff were also an asset to him especially Somikat and his staff at the beach bar who got to know us well and helped us with whatever we wanted.
We ate a few times at the restaurant and beach bar and had room service and the food was always faultless. and there are also some lovely restaurants on the beachfront and on the main road. It was never overcrowded but i think that was due to us going in low season, which was perfect for us.
This is a hotel that i will return to again and again, god willing!!
Another Special thanks to John Gill for everything and to his wonderful staff who were too many to mention them all. and we hope to stay longer next time!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sianiflewog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    342
    139
    69
    32
See reviews for
220
451
33
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
malaysia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Am so glad that I made the right decision to stay here. Right from the start, we were greeted by the smiling and friendly staff. The checking-in was quick and handled by the staff while we sat at the lobby, sipping our welcoming drink.


What I like about this hotel:-
- the size of the room. It was so spacious that three is not a crowd. There were ample places for you to put your things. I like the mini table with 2 chairs in the room.
- near Chaweng and yet quiet. We walked to Chaweng the first day and it only took us around 15-20 mins even though we walked slowly. Coming back we took a 'songthaew' which costs us 100baht. The hotel provides shuttle service to Chaweng 3 times a day.
- Fresh and clean towels
- Friendly, efficient housekeeping and maintenance staff. Prompt action


Downside:-
- toilet seat was not clean - had permanent stain
-beach area - not so nice
-no wifi
- air-con was leaking and water was dripping. Luckily, the air con was situated away from the bed. But I must give my commendation to the housekeeping staff who instantly informed the maintenance dept about the problem. They came to repair immediately on two occasions.

Conclusion:-
Staying on the hillside area is just as good as the beach area. It is not that far to walk across to the beach area if you know the short-cuts. Preferably request for a room near the swimming pool.
Staying during off peak period has its advantages.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We got a flash deal on www.booking.com and decided to stay here. We only needed a room for couple of nights since we were heading to Koh Tao soon. The hotel has two sections. One near the beach and the other across the street and can be a bit of a walk if you want to go to the pool or beach. The rooms are huge and probably some of the biggest i have seen. The service is friendly too. Great cocktails at the bar. Overall a great place for families. Only downside its a 20 min walk to the centre so if you're looking for some quiet time this is a great hotel.

Room Tip: While you're booking make sure to check whether your room is near the beach section!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rishi_des
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burntisland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

just finished two weeks at the Kandaburi fabulous location great food and well looked after by all the staff, room cleaned and changed daily properly,being our first time in Kho Samui weren't sure what to expect can only say the hotel surpassed all expectations, huge rooms with first class facillities free toiletries fresh towels and beach towels supplied daily slight problem with some ants and mosquitoes spoke to reception problem solved within 20 minutes nothing was too much trouble for the staff special mention for big M the beach bar manager good at his job with a first class way with himself and customers, hotel has two excellent pools resturaunts and bar looking right onto the beach, having travelled to a lot of different locations throughout Europe and North Africa I would put the Kandaburi up there with the best of them already planning trip for next year,many thanks to manager John Gill and his excellent staff for a wonderfull holiday hope to see you in April/May

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andyo o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

As someone who travels abroad regularly for both business and pleasure and having been to Thailand many times before, I have definitely seen the range of accommodation on offer. With this trip being my first to Koh Samui, my expectations were quite high considering the huge range of accommodation options. However, I can say with confidence that this particular hotel, in many ways, very much exceeded those expectations. The location of Kandaburi is ideal. Far enough away from Chaweng to enjoy a relaxed atmosphere but only a short walk to restaurants and shopping. The rooms were very spacious and the beds really comfortable. I was a bit disappointed to find WiFi for the room was not included, however, for the small amount of time spent on Facebook etc the fee was not too unreasonable. The TV's are quite old as well but otherwise the room fixtures were modern and more than adequate. My room was on the beach side of hotel which meant just a short walk to breakfast (which was quite varied), one of the beautiful pool areas and of course, the beach. I found the staff in the restaurants and housekeeping to be always very polite and helpful - just what you would expect from a hotel in Thailand! I would definitely recommend this hotel to families, couples and people travelling solo - it will be one hotel I will return to in future.

Room Tip: Would definitely advise paying the extra to stay on the beach side as this property is split in two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulesGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkok
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Partly to escape the flooding in Bangkok and partly for a much needed break, I headed off to Kanda Buri Hotel on Samui and am just back after a lovely week. Sure, it was helped by the glorious weather and the hotels perfect location on the beach, but it was more about the incredible staff - so helpful at every turn, no request was too much. Spacious and well appointed rooms, lovely pools and a very clean, great happy hours by the beach - and a great breakfast with such a massive range of choices ! The hotel is well linked in the very reputable and caring trip and tour providers so there is lots to do. Only criticism was the food in the formal thai restaurant, was a bit disappointing - more work needed here. Overall, a great stay. The staff are fantastic and really work as a team. Will be back.

Room Tip: Two areas, one on hillside one by beach - ask for quote for each
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodie28Bangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed in the Kandaburi for 2 weeks at the end of October, start of November. We were greeted with a warm welcome. The rooms are massive and as a faimily of 4, there was adequate room for us. The water in the pool in the hillside half of the hotel seemed clearer than the beachside but both pools are great. Our girls had hours of fun in all the pools! The staff are really helpful even if there is sometimes a small language barrier. But then if I wanted someone who spoke clear english, I'd have holidayed at home!!!

Pop down the bach to Your Place. They do the best Pad Thai out and bring your bottles of beer in an ice bucket! We ate here numerous times. Just be careful if you go to the toilet, there was a massive spider in them one night!

If I had to pick one down side to the Kandaburi, it would be the price of food and drink. There's a tax and service charge added onto your bill. We had a free meal voucher and ate in the beach restaurant. The food was delicious.

We also had a voucher for a full body, aromatherapy massage which was amazing and the most relaxing hour ever!!!

One evening we were invited to the manager's cocktail party. A nice touch with the most amazing canapies you'll ever see.

There is no kids club or kids tv channel but with the amazing pools and beach on your door step, you don't really need them.

All in all, I recommend this hotel 100%. I wish I was still there.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,273 reviews
1.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Samui Paradise Chaweng Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi

Property: Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi
Address: 20 Moo 2 Chaweng-Chongmon Road | Bophut Samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Kandaburi Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#17 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#25 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Chaweng Beach and Koh Matlang, Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi offers range of accommodations with a private balcony. Its 4-star facilities include 2 outdoor pools, a spa and a well-equipped gym. Spacious rooms at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi feature modern interiors that combine contemporary and wooden furnishings. Each well-furnished room is equipped with a 42 inch flat screen TV and a large private bathroom with a bathtub. Guests can enjoy relaxing massage treatments at the Spa or relax sipping cocktails at beach bar right on the beach. Car rental and sightseeing arrangements can be made at the tour desk. Tom Yam Thai Restaurant serves a fine selection of traditional Thai dishes, while international food can be enjoyed at bar Beach and restaurant. Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi offers also free parking, and is a 5-minute drive from Samui Airport and from Chaweng Town area ideal for shopping and nightlife activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, ACCOR, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandaburi Hotel Chaweng
Kandaburi Resort And Spa
Kandaburi Hotel Bophut
Kandaburi Resort Bophut
Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing