We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Koh Samui adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi
Ranked #29 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you are thinking of a holiday in Koh Samui may I recommend the Kanaburi as a great resort to stay at. With the resort split into two section by a main road I suggest that you try the hillside part of the resort. The main walkway to the sea dissected the rooms on either side, so could be a little busy and noisy at times. We stayed in a room on the hillside which were very spacious and a 20 metre walk to a beautiful pool and eating area. The breakfast menu in the morning was predicable after the first couple of mornings but still very nice with a large array of choices. Eating out I suggest the beachside restaurants , reasonably price with a great view at night.

Room Tip: Choose a hillside room, with only a short walk to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonyMountGambier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear TonyMountGambier,
Thanks for choosing to stay with us, and thanks for taking the time to post a positive review. Hope you can make it back to Kandaburi sometime.
Best regards/JG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

My partner and I stayed 2 weeks at Kandaburi Resort in a Beachside room. The hotel has 2 sections hillside and beachside. Has 2 restaurants one hillside (we didn't dine here so can't comment on this one) and one beachside (beautiful food reasonably priced for hotel standards).

I just read the last review "Large rooms" and I've gotta say was a little bemused. Why didn't they do their research more thoroughly and choose a hotel closer to town and that better suits their needs (can I suggest the ArkBar) instead of complaining about the choice they made and then posting it on Trip Advisor?
The whole reason my partner and I choose this hotel is because it isn't right in the centre of the hustle and bustle (like Chaweng Regent) so you don't get all the noise from the bars and clubs and it is positioned on the most beautiful stretch of chaweng beach. No part of Chaweng beach is deep, so if you want a deep beach stay in Lamai. The transport is not an issue in Samui and it is cheap so the location of the resort is not an issue at all.
The price of food/drinks at the resort is comparative to eating/drinking at any resort in Samui so yes there are cheaper alternatives away from all the resorts.

This is our second stay at Kandaburi and it won't be our last. The rooms are enormous and air-conditioning works very well! The service is friendly and personal and the staff go out of their way to accommodate your needs. We have no hesitation in recommending this resort to others. It truly is a pleasurable relaxing place to stay!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi Diana C,
Great to have you stay with us again, and sincere thanks for taking the time to post such a nice review.
We look forward to your next stay with us.
All the best/JG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed hillside, in a standard room, the room was large with a nice wetroom with bath and shower, unfortunately we were never up early enough for brekie so unable to comment on that, the restaurant is expensive and wasnt great so advise eating out, location is a bit far out which gives you 5 options
1 get a motorbike (150 bt a day)
2 walk approx 15 mins to start of strip
3 utilise the free bus (only runs a couple of times 11,3,5 from memory)
4 get the bus 50bt to anywhere in chaweng per person(negotiable)
5 get a taxi (approx 150-200bt to start of strip)

Beach is ok, sea is shallow under 3ft even if you walk out 100m or so where it gets very rocky, swimming is kept to the pools which are nice and clean.

Nice and quiet hotel with nice staff, something was missing though, probably recreation equipment (ping pong, pool etc), and entertainment, also it doesnt have that special feeling..... But its not a bad price and of you want a lazy holiday round the pool id recommend it to you, a nicer alternative is the chaweng regent more expensive but worth it

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Greeny129,
Thanks for the review. We are pleased that you apparently liked your stay with us, and thanks for highlighting our convenienient location and how easy (and cheap) it is to travel the 2km to Beach Rd, Chaweng.
Regards/JG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We have recently stayed at this hotel and loved every minute of it. The hotel is split between the hillside section and beachfront section by a road, but it's not very busy. Both sections have a swimming pool and breakfast room, which is perfect.

We stayed in a beachfront room and they are huge, one of the biggest bathrooms I have stayed in. The beds were really comfy and the wifi was great all over the resort. The rooms were cleaned to a high standard and if you didn't get up early the staff left new beach towels outside your room - a first for me but great service.

Breakfast goes on until 10:00 which was perfect for us and there was a wide choice of food. We enjoyed the egg station and the bacon station, where this was even cooked fresh. There was a good choice of juices with local juices on offer too. We ate lunch by the pool on a few occasions and the portion sizes were good along with the presentation. Spring Rolls and Satay were roughly 120 THB. The hotel has two happy hours during the day, which we thoroughly enjoyed.

If you don't want to eat at the hotel you can walk onto the beach, turn right and there are three restaurants or out of the hotel at the front and turn right. Here you can have Pad Thai for around 120 THB. There are also hawkers on the beach where you can buy very tasty corn on the cob for 50 THB and fresh fruit for the same price.

The beach is stunning and also very shallow, so great for families with small children. That said, the pool is fantastic and we didn't leave there much!

There was a wedding going on whilst we were there and it looked fantastic, with the staff really going the extra mile.

The hotel is roughly a 15 minute walk into the town. The easiest way is to walk down the beach, turning right from the hotel. When you come to Ark bar, walk out onto the road from there.

A special mention to the manager John, who made us feel very welcome. Thanks John, a great hotel!

Hopefully this was helpful, please contact for more specifics

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jame5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi Jame5,
Thanks very much for taking the time to post such an informative (and positive) review on TA. We are delighted that you enjoyed Samui and Kandaburi, and hope we'll see you back here sometime.
All the best/JG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed in Kandaburi Resort for 4 nights and really enjoyed our stay. We booked a hillside room which is across the road from the beach but has its own pool and breakfast area so not a problem, the beach side rooms were much more expensive so we were pleased with our choice. When we checked in we were upgraded to a pool access room which was a lovely bonus. Our room was very spacious with a huge bathroom. A semi private pool was directly accessed from our room(shared with 3 other rooms) this was shallow but very convenient. Pity you can't get to the main pool from here. The room was very clean and breakfast was delicious. The location is about 10min walk from the centre which wasn't too bad as it meant it was nice and quiet at night. The beach at this northern end isn't great though. Dinner at the restaurant by the beach was the best I'd had in Thailand. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth_Mark_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Elizabeth_Mark_1,
Thanks for choosing to stay with us, and many thanks for the nice review. Your kind words are much appreciated.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great resort - very smart, very clean, reception efficient and polite but could be a bit more friendly in their approach rather than business like. But were helpful don't get me wrong. The rooms are very clean and very nicely fitted out. Big and spacious in our 2 bedroom BEACHSIDE room, not beachfront villa as we had through we were getting. Pool and restaurant bar area is tops but the whole beach is a little of a let down (when you are used to Fiji islands). Nice but not the ocean. When looking at the others and position to noisy restaurants/music locations/town it was the best place to be. Very relaxed pool side and the food was very good.
They could have put more water out in the rooms (1 small bottle each per day) and put one lot in the fridge (as you need to drink lots)
We stayed well by not having ice, salads or street food.
Things to do - Boat trip to Angthong National park was a great day out.
Night life on Chaweng street is worth a look - and not touch. Great food at Galanga!
Fisherman's Village lovely get away from Chaweng and Friday night market is the best!
Don't ride the swaying elephants.. and don't you think a tiger needs to be drugged to be hugged for a photo!!?? Not necessary Thailand! Work on your rubbish collection and more people will come!

Room Tip: BEACHSIDE - isn't beach front but it means you are the beach side of the road.. rather than hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wignells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Wignells,
Thanks for choosing to stay with us, and thanks for the informative review.
Hope to see you back here some day.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I have stayed at the kandaburi on 3 different occasions now , we keep staying here because of the location , it's up the northern end of chaweng beach which is great cus it's nice and quiet but if you want to go into town it's only a 10 minute walk away . It's also always been a nice clean hotel and has everything that you could want in a hotel . But this last trip was a little different and abit of a disappointment , mainly because we got put on the hillside , when we were meeting friends from Australia ( Melbourne ) who were staying on the beachside which did end up being a bit inconvenient . Also the having to share an open bathroom with a mate of mine wasn't the best especially after a bit of Thai food with just a see through curtain .
We did all however have a good holiday but next time will be looking at other accommodation options and possibly in other hotels now . It's a shame though cus it's a great place .

Room Tip: Make sure you are put on beachside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Mark D.,
Thanks for choosing to stay with us three times so far. I'm disappointed (and a bit puzzled why) six months after your stay you post your first ever TA review, about the inconvenience (?) of you staying Hillside and your mate staying Beachside. I'd hope that you'd consider returning some day, and if so, I'd recommend that you book the same room type as your mate.
Also, we are doing up rooms later this year and will add a bathroom door to those few rooms that don't already have one.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,557 reviews
1.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,920 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
2.1 mi away
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
#40 of 104 in Chaweng
732 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi

Address: 20 Moo 2 Chaweng-Chongmon Road | Bophut Samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Kandaburi Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#18 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#25 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £70 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Chaweng Beach and Koh Matlang, Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi offers range of accommodations with a private balcony. Its 4-star facilities include 2 outdoor pools, a spa and a well-equipped gym. Spacious rooms at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi feature modern interiors that combine contemporary and wooden furnishings. Each well-furnished room is equipped with a 42 inch flat screen TV and a large private bathroom with a bathtub. Guests can enjoy relaxing massage treatments at the Spa or relax sipping cocktails at beach bar right on the beach. Car rental and sightseeing arrangements can be made at the tour desk. Tom Yam Thai Restaurant serves a fine selection of traditional Thai dishes, while international food can be enjoyed at bar Beach and restaurant. Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi offers also free parking, and is a 5-minute drive from Samui Airport and from Chaweng Town area ideal for shopping and nightlife activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandaburi Resort And Spa
Kandaburi Hotel Chaweng
Kandaburi Hotel Bophut
Kandaburi Resort Bophut
Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing