We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi
Ranked #31 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We spent 10 glorious days here at Kandaburi and absolutely loved the experience, our room was very spacious as was our bathroom. We stayed at the beach side and was so close to Chaweng beach and the restaurant that served a Devine breakfast, lunch and dinner! We tried all! Anondnipa was so friendly and made as feel at home during our dining experiences. The other staff were exceptional also. We loved our experience at Kandaburi and can't wait to come back! :-)

Stayed: July 2014
Thank LuiMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Hi LuiMelbourne,
Thanks for the really nice review, specially the kind words about our staff. Hope that we'll see you back here sometime in the near future.
Best regards/JG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,060)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

368 - 374 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed with a friend for two days & one night during our 'Island hopping'.
We were greeted with a nice refreshing blackcurrant drink upon arrival and taken to our room which was nice and clean, very spacious and sufficiently equipped.
The only thing we found odd was that you were in the bathroom as soon as you opened the door, you went to the bedroom and sitting area through your bathroom! A bit strange as I said but nothing we were too bothered about. The pool was nice and clean, we enjoyed the cool water drinking beers. Restaurant had wi-fi, so could do a little bit of work.
Breakfast was nice, good selection of food, nice and fresh. Also we went out to a nearby town for dinner in the evening. Most people took cabs but we decided to walk. In the end it was only 10 minutes walk, so absolutely no problem.
Would recommend.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Misha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Misha H,
Thanks for choosing to stay with us, and thanks for the kind review. As you discovered, North Chaweng is a great location and an easy walk into Chaweng centre.
regards/JG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We are thoroughly enjoying -possibly our last -family holiday with our 4 children ages 14 to 22. Rooms are very large so are very family friendly and easily accomodate the extra beds we have always required! A rare find!
As usual, it is the staff that make a stay memorable and they have been exceptional. From the office to "Paul" at the poolside bar- friendly, attentive and becoming very good at English!
Rooms are clean, comfortable with a Thai feel. Beachside rooms don't have a view but face on to a gorgeous ponded walkway lined with fragrant flowering frangipani trees. These extend around the pool area and bar providing fragrant shade with the occasional free flower dropping for your hair!
A 50 baht/head ride to the busy main part of the street or a 15 minute walk. Close enough but also nice to be a bit away. Beach pretty, but shallow - nicer than central Chaweng area but possibly not as good as beach closer to the South end. No surf on Koh Samui anywhere!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Diana F,
Many thanks for the great review.
As you discovered, at 50sq m our rooms can easily accommodate 2 adults and 2 children. Hope we will see you back at Kandaburi sometime, with or without the children
Best regards/JG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Weve been to many posh places in our time and this place is not posh but comfortable,a feel back home type of place.
Egg and bacon sarnys for breakfast and strong tea,hp sauce on tap.
Our room was large and serviced every day.
We will be back asap.Irish bar in town,Murphy's have a good pie and black pudding.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spplarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi there spplarry,
It was great to see you here again, and many thanks for the nice review. We all look forward to your next visit.
Best regards/JG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 weeks hillside, do not be put off staying hillside, the view from our room was lovely and we really didn't mind crossing the small road to the beach side, there is a security guard there 24hrs a day who got up to cross you but most of the time he really didn't need to. The rooms are really nice with a huge bathroom, beds were really comfortable. The hillside pool/restaurant is a lot more chilled than the beach side but we didn't sit/eat there much.

Food: we are breakfast at the beachside each day, plenty of choice, pastries, Continental and hot breakfast with bacon, egg station ect. Breakfast is on until 10 but we always got there about 8, anytime after 9 I found the food had dried up and was hardly refilled. We ate lunch here about 3 times in the 2 weeks, it was nice but more expensive then on the beach as you would expect. We ate here once at night and that was because we had a free dinner to use, we used it at the BBQ night which is a Wednesday, I would recommend going to this, lots of food and really nice.

Room service: we had no problems getting our room cleaned, I think they come around twice as if we missed them early in the morning it was always done when we got back about 5pm. Changed bed, clean bath and beach towels every day.

Spa: we visited the spa once for a 1 hour aromatherapy massage, again because we get a free voucher when we booked. The spa is lovely and clean and I liked the massage, but we both agreed we had had better on the strip for 300 baht if we had of paid.

I would definitely stay here again if we go back to Samui, the location was perfect for us, about a 15 minute walk down and you are on the main strip. The walk along the beach is really nice of a night we just cut off at ark bar. The hotel is literally a 2 minute walk from treetops restaurant at the Anantara hotel, a must do!
If you have already booked you will love it! If not book it! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Danielle B,
Sincere thanks for posting such a lovely review, and I hope that you can make it back to Kandaburi some time.
Best regards/JG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Fantastic holiday, beautiful hotel, resort and staff. Cannot fault anything at all. The rooms are fantastic, extremely spacious and cleaned daily. The hotel grounds are gorgeous, always plenty of sun beds and the staff are all friendly and helpful. Having read previous reviews before our trip, I was a little sceptical but I really have no idea what anyone has to complain about. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Carol F,
Thanks for choosing to stay with us, and thanks for your nice review.
We are delighted that on your first visit to Koh Samui you enjoyed Kaandaburi so much, and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back some time.
Best regards/JG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Currently staying here after moving from another hotel. The Kandaburi is a large hotel and very impersonal. Our room wasn't cleaned even after we put the notice on the door and spent most of the day round the pool and then went out for massages and dinner. Prices for food and drink are high and aren't overly tasty as I guess they are mass produced. The rooms are large, but the bath is designed for children or very small people, and my husband is still complaining about the bad smell of the after sun body lotion which is given in a bad refill design. I will be complaining to our travel agent when we get home.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sonyat747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Sonyat747,
Firstly, apologies for the body lotion. We wash the container and refill after every guest, and in your case this wasn't done.
Secondly, according to our records, the only day your room wasn't made up was when the Do not Disturb sign was out all day.
Thirdly, I'm puzzled about the gripes regarding our small(?) bath and "mass produced food". All of our meals are prepared and cooked to order.Our baths are small?
Finally, I wonder if your view of our hotel was coloured by the fact that you had spent the previous week in a pool villa hotel, costing considerably more. It's understandable I guess that we didn't measure up, but it's a shame that instead of taking your complaints to us, you choose the anonymous forum route and prevent us from addressing the problems directly.
Thanks anyway for choosing to stay with us and for posting on TA. If you ever consider returning please contact me direct and give us a second chance for you to enjoy what the vast majority of our guests enjoy.
Regards/JG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,602 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
0.1 mi away
Casa De Mar
Casa De Mar
#11 of 104 in Chaweng
464 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Samui Resort
Sheraton Samui Resort
#38 of 104 in Chaweng
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi

Address: 20 Moo 2 Chaweng-Chongmon Road | Bophut Samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Kandaburi Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#18 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#20 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £89 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Chaweng Beach and Koh Matlang, Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi offers range of accommodations with a private balcony. Its 4-star facilities include 2 outdoor pools, a spa and a well-equipped gym. Spacious rooms at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi feature modern interiors that combine contemporary and wooden furnishings. Each well-furnished room is equipped with a 42 inch flat screen TV and a large private bathroom with a bathtub. Guests can enjoy relaxing massage treatments at the Spa or relax sipping cocktails at beach bar right on the beach. Car rental and sightseeing arrangements can be made at the tour desk. Tom Yam Thai Restaurant serves a fine selection of traditional Thai dishes, while international food can be enjoyed at bar Beach and restaurant. Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi offers also free parking, and is a 5-minute drive from Samui Airport and from Chaweng Town area ideal for shopping and nightlife activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Accorhotels.com, Ctrip TA, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandaburi Resort And Spa
Kandaburi Hotel Chaweng
Kandaburi Hotel Bophut
Kandaburi Resort Bophut
Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing