We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel - We Would Return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi
Ranked #29 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel isn't quite in the location we thought probably due to our map reading skills however we were not disappointed. The transfer from the airport to the hotel and checking in was quick and painless.
We had rooms in the hillside and loved them. The rooms are massive and very comfortable. They are made up each day and we had fresh bath and beach towels even when we hadn't requested them. Only made breakfast a couple of times (late nights and comfy bed combo) and it was good. There is a restaurant and pool hillside which is very handy. Yes there are a number of steps down to the main road and then over to the beach but nothing to get annoyed about. Just think about how toned the calf muscles can get! The pool by the beach is lovely and doesn't get very crowded. No need to worry about reserving sunbeds!
We walked in to Chaweng along the road and via the beach. No problems either way although the beach route is less smelly!
Found Hugo's Bar on the walk back along the road the first night and we ended up there for a nightcap or 10 most nights. Toby and his partner are very welcoming and friendly. Give it a go.
All in all a great hotel in a good location. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mcfoulg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Mcfoulg,
Great review. Many thanks, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and hope that we can welcome you back some day.
Best regards/JG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,022)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

327 - 333 of 1,022 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Greeted warmly and we're provided with a sea view room. For the price this place is well worth it. A little further from the main town. Pools are great - breakfast lots to choose from. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: 337 is a sea view room.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LittleBrightAle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Little Bright Ale,
many thanks for the great revue. hope you will return some day.
Best regards/JG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

On 21st july we started our tour of northern Thailand with Orientour. From bangkok we went north visiting Ayutaia, Sukotai Chang may and Chang Rai. Mr Vittaya, our guide was really good at making us discover the monuments, temples and the culture of northern Thailand. We really enjoyed the fact that Orientours organizes small groups in a van (there were four tourists on the van) so that we could experience a tailored trip of a week. Vittaya had also a good knowlwdge of plants and vegetables,besides religion and culture!
Now we are relaxing in Kandabury hotel on the beach of Chaweng. The beach is the most beautiful on the island, according to our experience, and the hotel is placed on the northern part and it is very quiet! Luckily there are not many tourists. The water in front of the hotel is very shallow and, warm and the sand is white. The services in the hotel are very good. The food is excellent. You can choose either buffet or à la carte. There is also a thai restaurant, but you can always dine thai in the restaurant on the beach.
Starting from the hotel we went diving to ko tau, but actually the ship Calypso is not the best when the sea is rough and I felt sea sick all day!!! Our best sea excursion was at the marine park of angtonghwhich also included kayaking and snorkeling (and lunch)
We would recommend this hotel which is situated on the most crowded beach of koh Samui, but which is "far from the madding crowd" and in the evening we like going walking on the beach which is lit by the verious restaurans on the sand and by chinese lanterns flying in the sky.

Room Tip: It depends on the money you have but both the hill side (less expensive) and the beach side rooms ar...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Antonella A,
We are happy to be a part of your wonderful Thai trip, and thanks for sharing it on TA.
Look forward to welcoming you back sometime.
Best regards/JG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Kandaburi is very spacious the bathrooms are enormous we stayed in the hillside room which is across the road and down a lot of steps to the beachside part if the hotel. I like the traditional Thai style and the big pools. Breakfast is nice and there is a free shuttle to town centre 3 times a day but no
Return shuttle. The beach is lovely and there are many restaurants to eat on the beach in the evenings.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Kazsilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Kazsilver,
Thanks for the nice review. Happy that you enjoyed your stay here and hope you can make it back sometime.
best regards/JG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Kandaburi suited our needs perfectly. A bit outside the busiest part of Chaweng but still close enough to walk i f you want too. The rooms are big big and nice. This is very important for us since we travel with our two kids. The poolarea was clean and the staff was really nice. They brought us a cake for my wifes birthday which was a nice touch. No one had told them so they must have looked that up themselves. We have stayed at oyher hotels in Chaweng in the same pricerange and this was the best of them.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickeStenback13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear MickeStenbach13,
Many thanks for your nice review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and location and obviously had a great stay on Samui.
Hope we can welcome you back some time.
With best regards/JG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Whilst it's hard to fault the hotel, the location (beach area) is a bit 'crowded'

The rooms were nice and large, with a nice balcony. Beds were a little hard by our standards - but no big deal. Bathroom was huge with a hot tub and plenty of bench space. I liked the lay out of the hotel as it is all open - this however meant a lot of stairs, and unfortunately, being South East Asia, meant a lot of mosquitoes. We made sure to open and close our doors quickly to make sure they didn't get in the room. It's hard to avoid the mozzies - and at the end of the day, its a tropical holiday so its expected.

The hotel itself had the main road dividing it, and we were staying on the hill side - a little bit of a walk to the beach side, but we had our own pool and dining area just near our room which was nice.

The beach front is small and cramped with hotels - Kandaburi only really has a small section, but it is adequate. I wouldn't say it has a big sprawling area like some of the other hotels on the island. And most hotels are ok with others walking along their beach space - you can go and get a massage on the beach, or have a beer pretty much anywhere.

The staff were mostly pleasant, however the western style resort pace had kicked in - drinks took up to 15 minutes (for beers etc.). It's a much slower pace and none of the staff are in a hurry. Don't expect international resort style service - just be prepared to chill and take it easy - and sometimes try to have some patience!

I'd recommend this hotel - I'd probably stay there again depending on price, but there's so many hotels and resorts to choose from. Also keep in mind its about a half hour walk to chewang via the beach. I wouldn't walk there on the main road (5 minute drive).

Room Tip: Hillside if you want some peace and quiet and a view (but be prepared to climb the stairs). Beach si...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MarcMenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear MarcMenz,
Thanks for the nice review and good that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments regarding slow service, although disappointing, are useful in educating the staff concerned at how they can affect our guests overall enjoyment.
Hope to see you back here some day, and the first couple of poolside drinks are on us.
With best regards/JG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We travelled as a group of 6, all adults and stayed in the hillside rooms. The rooms were very large and clean. As indicated by most the bathrooms are very big but have no doors, which can be unpleasant at times.
The hotel was pretty quiet, so there was always room around the pools and plenty of tables available at breakfast. The breakfast options were very good and should please most people. We ate at the hillside restaurant. We had the occasional lunch at the beach restaurant. I particularly liked the chicken and avocado roll, delicious. We all ate salads and drank with ice and had no problems.
The staff were very pleasant but some had trouble with understanding English. The spa was okay but nothing overly special.
The hotel location is far enough away from all the noise of Chaweng but only a 10-15 minute walk along the beach or a short ride in a taxi or tuk tuk. We all enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Joann D,
Many thanks for the kind review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return to Kandaburi some day.
With best regards/JG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 103 in Chaweng
2,490 reviews
1.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 103 in Chaweng
1,864 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa De Mar
Casa De Mar
#15 of 103 in Chaweng
400 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 103 in Chaweng
1,473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi

Address: 20 Moo 2 Chaweng-Chongmon Road | Bophut Samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Kandaburi Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#18 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#25 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £70 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Chaweng Beach and Koh Matlang, Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi offers range of accommodations with a private balcony. Its 4-star facilities include 2 outdoor pools, a spa and a well-equipped gym. Spacious rooms at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi feature modern interiors that combine contemporary and wooden furnishings. Each well-furnished room is equipped with a 42 inch flat screen TV and a large private bathroom with a bathtub. Guests can enjoy relaxing massage treatments at the Spa or relax sipping cocktails at beach bar right on the beach. Car rental and sightseeing arrangements can be made at the tour desk. Tom Yam Thai Restaurant serves a fine selection of traditional Thai dishes, while international food can be enjoyed at bar Beach and restaurant. Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi offers also free parking, and is a 5-minute drive from Samui Airport and from Chaweng Town area ideal for shopping and nightlife activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandaburi Resort And Spa
Kandaburi Hotel Chaweng
Kandaburi Hotel Bophut
Kandaburi Resort Bophut
Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing