We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE RESORT, GREAT LOCATION, FRIENDLY STAFF, GOOD SERVICE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“NICE RESORT, GREAT LOCATION, FRIENDLY STAFF, GOOD SERVICE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

we stayed at the baan chaweng beach resort for 3 nights and had a wonderful experience. Beach is about 2minutes walk!

the resort is approx 15 mins away from the samui airport and we were provided one-way complimentary transfer from airport-resort.

The resort is located in the HEART of the chaweng beach and very very close to all the restaurants, bars, clubs, massage salons etc.

There is a 7-eleven about 5 mins walk and so many restaurants and bars to choose from.

Service at the resort is great, staff very friendly always ready to assist. Go for suit 320 if possible. It is 1 min walk to the beach and the hotel restaurant where breakfast is provided. our room was spacious with modern amenities and had a private balcony as well, bathroom was good sized.

Would definetely visit samui and stay at baan chaweng beach resort.

ONE DOWNSIDE:: i got locked out in the bathroom because there was a malfunction in the handle, took us about 15-20mins to get a technician who entered from the washroom window and de-assembled the bathroom door handle+lock.

Room Tip: Deluxe Suite for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank REEPERR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    232
    77
    20
    17
See reviews for
119
222
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have just returned form 9nts at this resort having not slept any of those nights even with ear plugs due to the Music from the Ark Bar which goes all night every night till 6am in the morning !! Not just a little loud ,extremely loud.... No one informed us of this and wasn't written anywhere , hence why we are letting people know, service , breakfast all great ... but doesn't make up for no sleep ... Baan Chaweng would be very suited to back packers who can pay a little more

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsbruck, Österreich
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

I had a room on the upper floor, which was quite comfortable and spacious. The cleaning was immaculate and the bathroom big and had a lot of space to store stuff. The hotel lies directly at the beach and the palm trees are higher than the roof. It's in the middle of Chaweng so you can walk to the restaurants, shops and bars.
The pool is small, but ok. But who needs a pool when the water in the sea is 27°C - perfect! The breakfast was ok, they even had 3 kinds of bread (well toast white brown and wholewheat, but...) The service was very good and you can book motorcycles, dive trips directly at the reception.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petr0nilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

This was our 3rd trip here. Needless to say that we totally love it here. The staff are very friendly. The gardens are beautiful and it has the best beach in front of it. We get superior building rooms. These are fine but you do get a bit of upstairs noise (heavy footsteps and sliding chairs) if your upstairs neighbours are noisy. If this may be a problem - book a bungalow. We are never in our room much anyway. This resort is close to shops, restaurants and a couple of nite clubs. The noise within the resort is very minimal, considering planes fly overhead. I have no hesitation in recommending this resort to anyone. However, it doesn't have a gym or kids club. It does have a great beach you can walk or run on each day and the calm waters of the sea is great for kids.

Room Tip: Mattress toppers and soft pillows are available upon request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tropicalholidayho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

After sifting through dozens of Resort choices, my family of 6 adults all settled on Baan Chaweng Beach Resort. For this leg of our trip, we settled for the cheapest room option, which were called Superior Building rooms. After reading other reviews, I had requested first floor rooms but due to the heavy demand, we were given ground floor and we were happy with that once were saw the lay out. We had rooms 129,130 and 131. All were slightly set off from the main path and were closest to the street side rather than the beach side, but we heard absolutely no noise from street or Reception area beside us (there is a long narrow drive way from the street to the Resort). Upon arrival I immediately noticed that the bed was rock hard and called Housekeeping for a pillow top which arrived in less than 5 minutes. This immediately fixed the problem and I slept well for the 5 nights we stayed. My sister next door (see review below MickHM) didn't have a problem with her bed, so it must be just certain rooms with rock hard beds - anyway easily fixed. The Breakfast was more than adequate and was replenished before anything ran out. Even though the hotel was full, it never once felt crowded and finding a lounge by the pool or on the beach was never a problem. There was plenty of shade on the beach due to the massive trees bordering the resort.

The walk to the beach and Restaurant is only a minute away and affords the opportunity to check out the bungalows which were dearer and in my opinion less private and looked to be the same size as our rooms. We were happy we didn't have to climb stairs and were just able to step out on to our verandah and head to the shops in the street or beach / pool / restaurant at the front of the resort. The resort itself is very tropical and immaculate in presentation and is definitely pretty than the other resorts along the beach. Also, the beach directly at the front of the resort has the nicest white soft sand (hard to believe the sand changes to more gritty 100 meters up the beach) and there was no wave break or coral to worry about as there is to the left of the resort in front of the infamous Ark Bar area. The close proximity to the Ark Bar was not a noise issue at all and our younger family members (18 & 21) were happy that it was only a few minutes walk away.

I have to say that I had a trouble picking fault with this hotel, even though I usually avoid larger resorts situated in such a busy tourist area. There is one thing though that I found hard to understand and that is the lack of free wifi at Baan Chaweng Resort. You can access it free from surrounding bars, but why is it not free when most other resorts, including lower quality and cheaper more remote places provide it free to their customers??? Two of us bought access which cost 100baht for 70 minutes. Not much if it worked o.k. but the wifi was so slow and kept dropping out, so we didn't bother buying another.

The general age group of the other patrons seemed to be between early twenties to late forties so this is a good choice for families, friends or couples.

Anyway, apart from the wifi issue, (which is small unless you need to constantly stay in touch with the outside world) I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing stay in the heart of Chaweng.

Room Tip: Don't be scared to book the ground floor superior building rooms as they are great value and wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JessGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed at this resort for 5 nights as a family of 6 women, 3 older and 3 younger being 17, 18 and 21. We decided upon Chaweng as the girls wanted some night life and I am so glad we did. Firstly we love the resort. It has plenty of vegetation as opposed to others along this strip that barely had a palm tree. The rooms are very nice and clean and the beds are not so hard which can be the case in Thailand. Our party stayed in the hotel style rooms and i shared a room with my 17 year old daughter. The resort is located on the beach, the resort restaurant has a lovely view over the beach and the food for brecky was really nice and lots of variety. While it was sometimes tough to get a lounge on the sun at the front, there were plenty in the row behind these, including around the pool. The pool was lovely and cold and clean and not crowded at all. The resort has the nicer part of the beach and it was a relief as we were going to book the Chaweng REgent resort which looks beautifuly but you can't swim out the front of it due to coral. It is a busy beach with lots of sellers but we loved it all from the satay sticks to the noodle soup through to the bathers and dresses. Those selling are not too pushy and are very polite. The staff at this hotel are very friendly and polite and i would definately stay here again. This is my sixth trip to Thailand, staying various places and this is one of my favourites!

Room Tip: Due to the high vegetation at this resort, use mozzie repellant when sitting on your verandahs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MickHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greece
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

This little resort is located right in the middle-strip of the beach-Chaweng/ town....Perfect..and on the best part of the beach..low tide high tide ..jan or july the sea is always deep enough to swim.....believe me...there was other resorts we were going to book but thank god we did not, as the sea was so far out....i don t want tobe in the pool all day im in Thailand... the resort is not 5 star but has an amazing breakfast...some people have written otherwise...i do not understand this...go and see for yourself..!! The location is PRIME..and they are expanding......this resort is amazing value for money....and they have great staff...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GreeceBen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#76 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#48 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 90/1 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#22 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort And Spa
Baan Chaweng Beach Hotel Chaweng
Baan Chaweng Beach Bophut
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing