We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Could be better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Baan Chaweng. Hotel let us check in two hours early so it was nice, however the room was just cleaned and the door was fully open when we got there? First thing we had to do was kill around 20-30 small mosquitos in the room.

- Service was good and room was cleaned every day so no complaints about that.
- Just as we were afraid of before our stay, all sun beds not blocked by trees were reserved every day by other guests (or mainly their towels!) so we didn't stay at poolside / beach side at all. Poor, just poor.
- Our room (128) had very poor Wi-Fi coverage and it barely worked. Also there was this session-based login / password thing so for each device you needed your own password. It didn't work very well.
- Breakfast was OK.
- Location was superb, in the heart of Chaweng Beach. Maybe for some the proximity of Ark Bar will be too much, as you will most likely hear the bass sounds even during the night.

All in all, you would think that you could get better in Samui for the price (approx 100€+ for a night).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomppah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    234
    77
    20
    19
See reviews for
120
224
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

The resort offered an oasis away from the hustle and bustle of the town. Although, there were planes constantly flying over us, you have to consider that it's inevitable as you're on an island. Rooms, service, beach was great! Everyone very friendly and can't do enough for you. This beach isn't the white sand and blue water like Phi Phi Island but still decent. For good food and better prices, walk outside of resort and away from the main strip.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jewelzz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silkeborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
180 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had booked Baan Chaweng together with friends based on the many reviews on TA saying it the hotel was quiet although we had our concerns about noise from the Ark Bar close by. We appreciate that it was New Year and high season but for 6 nights we did not sleep much due to very loud techno music and screaming DJs at the Ark Bar. This lasted until 4 or 5 in the morning. The main street noise was of no nuisance to us though. We tried complaining to the hotel because maybe the noise was louder because we were on the first floor in deluxe building rooms but the hotel was fully booked.It really ruined our stay there and especially because it was the first and maybe only trip to Thailand for our friends.

To review the hotel in general: The rooms (deluxe building) were very nice although one of them a bit dark because of high palm trees covering the balcony - from both rooms, the sea could be seen between the bungalow roofs. One room seemed to be missing some of the furniture but it did not matter that much - the balconies were spacious and nice. The bathroom was perfect with a special roof light arrangement - good amenities and towels. Light in the room was not good - it looked like something in a prison...

Hotel area is nice and clean with a very fine garden. Pool was nice but it was cold (due to cool weather). Location is perfect.

Breakfast and restaurant was okay - nothing special but fine enough.

Service at the reception was tops - our friend had to go to the dentist and the receptionist called ahead and checked for an appointment. Restaurant staff service was both good and bad. Some mornings we were asked several times if we wanted more coffee/tea - one morning we never got in contact with them and went to our room for some coffee later on. The staff had a habit of shouting across the restaurant which is not okay in our opinion.

We had a Compulsory New Years Dinner (which we normally try to avoid). It was just as bad as we expected: Cold and poor food, long queues, poor entertainment and people leaving very early. Our waitress did what she could to make it a good evening for us but we also left early because they started playing techno music (no more Ark Bar for us!!) and making prize draws.

All in all the hotel was fine but we cannot rate it higher because of the noise. We are not that sensitive but listening to brainless techno music for hours in the middle of the night is not our kind of holiday.

Room Tip: Avoid the deluxe building rooms as the noise from Ark Bar transfers very clearly to these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trane&Trane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Chaweng Regent and decided to move aft 4 days for a number of reasons. We walked the beach and decided to check a few hotels. We decided to move to this hotel. The hotel rooms were much larger, came with a bathtub and the staff was unbelievably much friendlier.

We booked the best bungalow of the hotel which was room 505. Right in the beach and no trees in the way of the view of the sea. It was a great bungalow with jacuzzi living room and bed was very comfortable. We unfortunately had to move from the room after two days as it was already booked and we changed to a really cute bungalow room 502 which had the ocean view also. The service was excellent, staff was unbelievable, food was Great t the hotel and the rooms were much cheaper than the Regent and a lot better.

I would return to this hotel without hesitation

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank diamondeyhes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

This is essentially a very nice hotel that we would have been given a higher rating by us.

The rate was excellent. The location is great- right in the heart of Chaweng and on what is easily the best part of the beach. Grounds and pool are beautifully kept. Rooms were kept clean (housekeeping always did a great job), but could do with an update; especially the mattresses (which were hard as iron. Really. And the pillows which felt like bags of small foam offcuts).
That aside, the rooms were great value for the price and location. Breakfast selection was adequate but generally of poor quality.

Cheap mojitos on the beach every afternoon.

However, the restaurant staff were so appalling that we would never consider another stay here. One of those staff was so insolent and plainly rude that became the daily joke amongst us (and others).
One morning, we were told to move from our beach lounges that we had been sitting in for hours because they had been reserved for someone else (even though there were four lounges right next to us). Those people were brought towels, an umbrella, tables and regular drink service. We, along with every other guest, were never provided any of those services.
Now, I don't expect to be treated like royalty when we stay somewhere; but I do expect that my custom is no less important than anyone else. Whilst we were there, we saw other guests complain to staff about the same issue.
It's a shame really. This is a nice hotel. But staff like that will have potential guests running the other way....and telling everyone else to do the same.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K0500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

There are so many hotels around this area that it's difficult to choose - we only stayed here as a friend was also staying and recommended. The hotel is down a side turning off the very busy main road in Chaweng so excellent location to access the many bars/restaurants. Helpful and welcoming staff. We booked a standard room which was a good size with a nice large bathroom - the rooms could do with a bit of updating, the bed was very hard and the towels have seen better days however everything was kept very clean. The rooms are set in lush tropical gardens with a path leading down to the pool/restaurant and beach. Small pool but right on the beach with plenty of sun-loungers. The restaurant overlooks the beach and the included breakfast was very reasonable - nice touch is the chef who cooks your eggs to order. Didn't visit the spa itself but the spa staff also set up beds on the beach for treatments at a considerably reduced price - well worth taking advantage of this option if you don't mind people watching!

Room Tip: Some of the standard rooms are quite dark so would recommend looking at several options - if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 51angler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed from Sept 9 to Sept 17, 2013. We paid around USD 87 per night for a "Superior Building Room". I didn't think this was cheap especially since we live in South Africa and the South African Rand only gets us 3 Bhat or 10c American. However, I did loads of research and price checking for our dates and could not find anything that appealed to me at this price or less. Spending more was not an option. No regrets whatsoever! We really loved Baan Chaweng. Upon arrival we were immediately impressed and relieved that there is no deception in the photos available on TA or the Baan Chaweng Website. It was beautiful. Staff were so warm and friendly and checked us in within minutes. They remained warm and friendly every time we saw them. I loved all of the staff here. I was seriously on the lookout for the rude or indifferent ones that a couple of reviewers have mentioned. There were none. The staff are awesome. Always willing to advise us, organize cars or scooters or whatever, chat to us about our day, and give us warm genuine greetings every time we saw them. Both male and female, all were genuinely friendly. We got an upstairs room in the building and we loved it. Very very spacious, with a huge balcony. Don't expect ocean views from any balconies or "building rooms". The theme here is like a jungle oasis. Lush tall trees and gardens surround you and it is beautiful and cozy. As others have mentioned, the beds are really hard, so we simply asked reception to provide the cushioned mattress cover which they were happy to do for us. No charge, of course. The room and finishes: Spacious, tidy, tastefully decorated, private, balcony, quiet, but unpretentious with simple finishes. The floors have a screed finish. This is a coating that is applied over the concrete that looks like decorative polished concrete. I found it to look good, feel good under foot, and think it is practical and sensible. Everything is very clean in the room and in good condition. The minibar has plenty of convenient beverages, but so does the 7-11, so we didn't really use the mini bar. There was sufficient space for a bag of ice in the freezer and to keep all of our waters cold. I have included some photos of our room, the lobby, and the balcony.
Complimentary waters provided daily. Housekeeping was great and everyday everything was replenished, all towels replaced, even our own things like shoes and bags were tidied up a bit. We felt really well taken care of. Over the week when i had time to really stare at the details, I did see that there is some minor things around the property that are looking aged, or poorly finished. Some of the teak handrails (not on the balcony) for example, felt a bit loose and looked like they could use some new oil or varnish. The bathroom tile finishes, upon close inspection, are kind of poorly done with thick gaps of grout. Clearly all done in a very economical manner. This stuff didn't bother us in the least!! I highly doubt you will find better at this price when you consider accommodation and overall ambiance and convenience. If you are not the type who must have granite and marble and glass balustrades etc. then you should love this place. A few of the evenings and nights, distant music could be heard from Ark Bar or somewhereI, but no thumping bass, and nothing that could keep you awake at night. I am very very sensitive to noise when i am in my room. I expect tranquility and I had it. I only heard the music when i woke up a couple of times before the sunrise and switched off my aircon. For us, noise was not an issue in any way. This property is ideally located on the beach, where you can walk over the the parties, or browse the street shops on the road. The property is set back from the main road much further than other hotels which is great. No noise or hustle bustle once you're on the property. There is a private lane and parking area guarded by security 24-7. The beach is practically private just for the hotel. Of course, people and vendors can pass by, but there is a rope on the sand demarcating the very large area of sun loungers just for Baan Chaweng. The water was clean and warm and wonderful to swim in. Shallow enough for kids and those who aren't great swimmers (like my wife) but it gets nicely deep a bit further out for the real swimmers. There are a bunch of jetskis that are stationed just to the left of our section of beach, floating in the water, not on the beach. They posed no problem, and are not very noisy. When someone rents one, they take off with it and you don't see or hear them again until they return it. We felt that there was just enough lively activity on the beach and in the water. The water is clean and blue, but not clear. visibility will be poor for snorkeling. The pool, that has been called small by some reviewers, looked pretty big to me, and beautiful, and was empty most of the time, so if you are visiting at a slower time of year, it might be all yours if you want it. Whether for beach or pool, there are beach towels issued to you near the pool which you drop off when you're done with them. No bringing sandy towels back to your room to hang dry, so that's nice. I popped in at a few other resorts along the beach and none of them made me feel like i made the wrong choice. Breakfast was great! There are standard western items available every day, as well as a couple of Thai dishes (more like lunch-food in my opinion) which changed every couple of days to something new. Omelets done quickly while you wait, scrambled eggs, fried eggs,copious bacon, sausages (actually little hotdogs or viennas) several kinds of bread for toasting. Croissants (not luxury buttery crispy ones), pastries, cereals, fruit and yogurt. I can't see how anyone can fault this breakfast for a mid range hotel. The coffee was not great, but not gross. Not really hot in the pot, so once you add milk it's barely warm. We bought some Nescafe gold and had a cup in our room every morning. There's a kettle and mugs provided. If the price of Baan Chaweng is right for you, then I highly, highly recommend it. If we go back to Thailand I would certainly stay again. Thank you for a wonderful time, Baan Chaweng!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank slimkoppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.0 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#73 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
0.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#31 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 90/1 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#22 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort And Spa
Baan Chaweng Beach Hotel Chaweng
Baan Chaweng Beach Bophut
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing