We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid the restaurant...you'll be glad you did!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Avoid the restaurant...you'll be glad you did!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Having visited the restaurant on the beach a fortnight ago whilst on our honeymoon, my husband and I found this to be our single worst experience of our entire trip to Thailand. We were hoping to sample some good seafood and during a stroll along the Chaeweng beach we noticed the restaurant at this resort offering a delicious seafood barbecue meal option for 2500 baht per couple (roughly £45) including a glass of wine each which seemed pretty reasonable and in comparison to other prices in the area, would indicate a meal of a reasonably good standard.
The 'seafood' consisted of, undercooked red snapper that was so slimy and gelatinous that it turned our stomach, chewy overcooked lobster,stone cold squid that was worryingly inedible, cold prawns that were rubbery and dry, mussels that we're equally hideous and our 'hot' jacket potatoes with butter and herbs were completely raw and freezing cold.
We wouldn't usually go into such detail and rarely make complaints but our response from the management when we complained was appalling. An initial waiter offered to cut 20% off our bill despite the fact we had eaten barely 10% of our meal and when we asked to see the manager he was very rude and stated that he would take 10% off the bill and this was non-negotiable unless we wanted to have another seafood platter which was clearly out of the question at which point we were given the bill and practically escorted from the table, hungry, offended and a little nauseous.
There are so many great places to eat in this area and for a lot less money that I would really advise to avoid this place completely...unless you don't mind terrible service and horrible food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    234
    77
    20
    19
See reviews for
120
225
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just returned from Koh Samui and keep returning to this lovley hotel for the 4th time.
I did search for any better deal but center spot and beach front, good maintainnce and very nice stuff, make their points for this hotel.

Only drawbacks are interminttent or weak WIFI,which the hotel very easily can be fixed if hotel management driven into it, and a lack of water pressure in the bathroom.

I did try the SPA this time, thought I might get a treatment worth the extra money compare to the streets, but was disappointed. Some massage shops around even have more comportable facilities in less price.

Room Tip: bungalows, otherwise you are on a building rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReuvenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

A good resort perfect location for beach and town. Rooms are good. Sit a breakfast overlooking the beach. Very convieent to town and close but not to close to airport. It is on chaweng beach the main Samui beach.

Room Tip: location right on the beach on one side of resort and front side of resort is the centre of town whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We wanted somewhere close to the beach but also in the main part of town. After having done a bit of research, including TA reviews, we decided on this hotel.

We arrived very early in the morning but were able to be given our room straight away which was very welcome. The room itself was large but quite basic, with the oldest TV I have seen in many years! However, the aircon was excellent, there was a fridge which was great and also tea and coffee making facilities. The room also had a safe and hair dryer, although this kept cutting out every two or so minutes, and you had to wait for it to cool down before it would start again. No bath but an adequate shower, and there was always hot water. Towels have seen better days but were changed daily. The room was very clean. We didn't hear any noise from nearby bars at night.

Breakfast is taken in the restaurant overlooking the beach. However there wasn't a lot of choice, and it became very repetitive during our 10 day stay. We also needed a packed breakfast as we left for an early flight, and it was very poor - 2 slices of dry bread, jam, croissant, banana and can of juice.

There is a small pool, nice, but we spent our time on the beach. We didn't have any problems getting sunbeds although some guests could be very territorial! There are plenty of hawkers on the beach but we didn't find them pushy or aggressive. There was a small stall that set up daily close by that sold tasty snacks such as satay or corn on the cob. The beach itself was lovely, soft sand and clear warm seawater. I found the jet skis for hire a little too close for comfort, I just got the feeling that if an inexperienced driver lost control it was all too near to the swimmers be able to avoid them. Just a personal feeling. As others have mentioned, sometimes flights landing and taking off go right over your head, but we didn't find this a real problem.

Overall this was an OK stay. The staff were very good, but the room was basic and I prefer more modern facilities. The hotel website states it is 'recently opened' so I thought it was going to be newly built or refurbished. However we booked the basic room so maybe there are better options. The location of the hotel was ideal with restaurants and shopping within easy walking distance.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We spent 6 nights here in May. Got a room on the second floor, which was OK, but meant that we had to climb stairs in the heat (kept us fit I guess). The room was OK. A little bit dark, and had a door joining in the room next door, which did not seems to have a lock on it (ie. just had the large couch pushed up against it), which made us a little concerned. The hot water was a bit temperamental also, but since it was so hot there anyway it didn't matter too much. This hotel is located in the flight path for the airport, so you will have planes flying over every 45 minutes or so (you get used to it though).
The grounds are lovely and lush and well maintained. The restaurant is overlooking the beach, which is a great way to eat breakfast each morning. Breakfast was sufficient, with a good selection (maybe not the best we had on this trip, but certainly noting to complain about). The location was great, being right on the beach, and just a short walk to the main drag of Chaweng. The Ark Bar down the road could be heard one night with its loud music (not sure why they need to play it so loud).
I'd probably stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel was kept really clean, the gardens were beautiful and so was the swimming pool, restaurant, beach area and the general surroundings. The staff were very pleasant, helpful and friendly. I stayed in the Premier Deluxe Room which was huge, had a lovely walk in shower area, nice bed, all new and clean furniture and a balcony which overlooked the beach and palm trees! Was in the best part of the beach for sun bathing and swimming as well as being minutes away from the main street, bars, shops etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for a week during April 2014.
If the centre of Chaweng, with all its shopping and night life activities are for you, you cant go wrong with this hotel. All the action is within walking distance. We had a large comfortable room, the staff was very helpful and friendly and service was excellent. Our room was serviced daily and kept spotlessly clean. The beach area is stunning and the front villa's are virtually metres away from the sand. On the negative side, slight as they may be, our room is possibly ready for an upgrade while the aircon in the room was noisy, despite it being a split unit. However, we soon got used to the aircon and it did not limit the overall enjoyment of our stay at all.
We can sicerely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose one of the seperate villas close to the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johannhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.0 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#71 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#31 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 90/1 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#22 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort And Spa
Baan Chaweng Beach Hotel Chaweng
Baan Chaweng Beach Bophut
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing