We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service in a nice little beachside hotel”
Review of Papillon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Papillon Resort
Ranked #49 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Having originally booked a bigger resort and changed at the 11th hour to be closer to our diving center, we found the Papillon's location perfect for our family. Not being there to party, we wouldn't have liked the bustle of resorts central to Chaweng beach. The Papillon was a great compromise, being at the quiet end of Chaweng Beach yet within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. The onsite restaurant serves a reasonably good breakfast from 6.30 am (great for guests being picked up for tours at 7-7.30) with a nice view of the beach, and has a large enough variety of dinner offerings to be enjoyed any time you don't feel like venturing out to eat. Free internet is only available at the bar and is patchy near the pool area, but at 100Baht for 24 hours the paid internet is the most affordable I have seen in Thailand.

The photos of the rooms don't do them justice, and I would strongly urge the owners to get better photos for portals like Tripadvisor and booking.com. We almosts DIDN'T book this hotel because of the room pictures - they look outdated, dark and cramped. We decided to take a chance and found the reality to be very different - rooms are spacious, comfortable, can be interconnected, all open up to verandahs surrounded by abundant greenery and light.

The cherry on the visitor's cake is the service - owners and staff have a "no problem" attitude that can be rare these days, particularly in a 3 star establishment. We were especially grateful to have one of the owners jump in his car and bring my husbands insulin and injecting pen to airport departures after we discovered at check in that he had left it in the room fridge. He was there for us within 10 minutes of our call. That is exactly the kind of service that differentiates a good hotel from a mediocre one.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 475valeska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2013

We have just spent 3 weeks at Papillon Resort or rather 22 nights and as always had a great stay. The rooms are basic but have everything you need. They are cleaned on a daily basis with bathroom and pool towels being changed daily. The bed linen was changed from what I could see every other day. A choice of 8 different set breakfasts were served everyday and if you did not like any of them you could chose from the menu, the staff who worked the restaurant and bar are always happy and the lunch and dinner menus are extensive and reasonable, the drink prices are a little high but you are paying hotel rates. The restaurant review will be separate as I do believe improvements can be made here not with the food or Thai staff but sorry to say the Non Thai managers/workers or whoever they are. Nice again for the resort Well done keep it up and thanks for making our Holiday special.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We booked this hotel specifically because it was on the outskirts of the tourist hub and there was no live entertainment or DJs to play loud music until late.

Unfortunately, unbeknownst to us, we had booked on the night of a staff party and were not told about it until around 5pm that night. We could've automatically booked another hotel but we had already paid for this one and we were happy for them to have a celebration, so long as it was finished by midnight. However this was NOT the case.

Karaoke accompanied with loud cheers were heard beyond midnight and in fact it was only when I got up and asked when the music was going to finish that the noise died down. This was around 1.30am.

When I asked the next day how we were going to be compensated for the lack of sleep, after much arguing with the hotel management, we were begrudgingly offered a measly 10% discount off our food and drinks bill. 10%!!! Which equated to US$4.48 at time of writing.

The management seemed to think it was perfectly acceptable to stage a loud party that went until 1.30am in complete disregard for its guests. Their argument was that it only happens once a year. My argument was that if I'd known at time of booking, I would never have booked that hotel as it went totally against our criteria for quiet, slightly out-of-the-way accommodation.

What has bothered me the most is not so much the lack of sleep, but more the management's lack of professionalism and disregard for the hotel guests. I believe it is unacceptable to argue with your guests when they have a fair complaint ... and insulting to offer them a meager discount.

Customer service and comfort seem to not be a top priority at this hotel.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
6  Thank MonicaButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We just spent 4 nights here, and everything was brilliant. We got upgraded to the premium sea front villa as the restaurant was undergoing renovations, (not sure why we got this bonus, but it was the 1st time we ever got a free upgrade so we were rapt), I am sure we would have been just as happy in the room we booked. It's located at the quite end of Chaweng beach, and it only takes 10 -15 mins to walk into the main town area (some people have said it was too far out but we didn't have any problems with the location at all, a nice walk before and after dinner helps work off all those extra cocktail calories) it was nice and quite for sleeping and relaxing. While it is ocean frontage there is only a tiny beach at low tide, but if you chuck your belongings in a dry bag you can walk or swim around the corner to have lunch on the main beach, the sea never gets higher than chest height, this was a 1st for us, we have never swum to the pub in our lives and we loved it!! The room was spotless, with everything you need, the staff were very friendly and helpful, we booked a scooter rental through the front desk (knowing full well it was 50 Baht more than on the street, but with the scam stories you hear we were happy to pay a little extra for less hassles), and the front desk organized our transfers back to Krabi (which worked out wonderfully). Breakfast had a variety of off the menu choices all of which were fine and the mini bar was reasonably priced. We never got charged for wifi, it was a little patchy from our room but if you went to the reception area it was fine ( I have been charged for wifi in other hotels and had to sit in the hallway under the signal and still got worse reception than here) the dogs were not an issue for us at all, they were all friendly and only barked at you of a night when you approached (just doing their job), but not in any sort of threatening way. The renovations were no issue at all for us ( you have to do them sometime, and low season is the obvious choice), I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel, it was just lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

If only this hotel was slighty closer to Chaweng then it would be almost ideal. If you just want somewhere to laze around then won't be a problem but it's a little too far out of town in order to pop back during the day. It may look walkable on a map but it isn't really - and those taxi fares do start to add up.

Otherwise, the resort is very peaceful and I slept better here than I did anywhere else on my trip around Thailand. The bungalow rooms are pretty much what you would expect at this price level in Thailand - fairly basic but perfectly adequate.

The other downsides were that the resort is currently a building side as they extend the restaurant and the owners allowed their dogs to roam the side which is quite disconcerting when you arrive back late and find them barking loudly at you. It was also disappointing for an hotel in this price range to charge for WiFi.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CamGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Ive stayed in the resort for 5 nights on August 2012.
The place is nice,the staff is very friendly and helpfull.
The room is nice ,a bit simple,we got a room with a second floor where the bed is, the downside is that the tv is downstairs.
Breakfast is nice too, many nice choices and the restaurant has nice choices during lunch and dinner too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for 5 nights and it was great, the room was the best thing... Quiet efficient air con, fridge and comfy bed. The room was nicely furnished with enough 'nice things' to make it feel more comfortable than a generic hotel.
It was a bit more expensive than some of our other hotels at 1860THB/ night but it was clean, pleasant and breakfast included.

The breakfast is a choice of 6 options, the french breakfast I has each day consisted of a slice of toast, a croissant and a toasted piece of baguette with jams. The other options mainly involved meat and dairy which I don't eat. My partner had the American which had fried eggs, toast, and bacon and it looked ok, but the eggs seem a bit suspect as they generally come a bit too undercooked, with the white still very runny.

The loungers were lovely and plentiful, pool facing and beach facing with umbrellas. The pool was a bit small, a length was about 5 strokes, and the jacuzzi was a cosy fit for 4 people.

In all it was a lovely stay, we never ate there in the evening instead we walked into the centre of chaweng. Its an easy walk of about 1km to the main street. You can get a local bus (songtaew) in for about 50THB per person.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.0 mi away
Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
0.6 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#31 of 104 in Chaweng
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tango Beach Resort
Tango Beach Resort
#58 of 104 in Chaweng
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
First Residence Hotel
First Residence Hotel
#48 of 104 in Chaweng
235 reviews
2.5 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#32 of 104 in Chaweng
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillon Resort

Address: 159/3 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Chaweng
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £28 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Papillon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Papillon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papillon Hotel Chaweng
Papillon Hotel Koh Samui
Papillon Resort Koh Samui
Papillon Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing