We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to relax”
Review of Papillon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Papillon Resort
Ranked #51 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Although I had called the resort two days prior to arrival and asked for a pickup from the airport, there wasn't one. Upon checking in, I mentioned this and got a shrug in reply.The golden rule in Thailand is not to get angry if things don't go your way, so if you follow that, you're bound to get a warmer reception no matter what the situation is. Happy at seeing the ocean right in front, I decided not to get fazed by this and when we were given a free room upgrade, I decided not to let it cloud my judgment of this place! The room was a bit small than I was expecting but very comfortable and clean so no complaints there. Wifi worked well. After consuming our welcome drink, my husband and I walked down to the more crowded side of the beach as Papillon is quiet and away from all the action - which can be a good thing or a bad thing - depending on what you're looking for. Our stay here was great! At night, you can just relax on the deck chairs by the pool and look out at the lights far out in the ocean with absolutely no disturbance. You can rent a scooter if you ask at the reception and go all over Samui with no issues (which is what we did!). Coming back late at night is also quite safe as they have a security person in the lane that leads up to Papillon.
Patrick, at the reception, was great fun and we became quite friendly with him.
Great value for money, as this is probably one of the cheapest resorts you'll find on Chaweng Beach, although way up on the north side. 5-10 minutes drive from the airport, and if you rent a scootie, you can get around pretty quite conveniently. There is a convenience store at 2 minutes walking distance and some restaurants, massage places, laundry, money exchange, 7/11 about 10 minutes walk tops. Loved the view of the ocean and if you've just arrived in Thailand as we did, this is a great place to start off your trip - not the least bit overwhelming, very calm and chilled out and gives you time to decide what you want to do next while enjoying the surroundings.

Room Tip: Go for the larger room options if you're looking for a spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dollster83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

Rooms are beautiful, clean and comfortable.
Staff didn't have great English, and service was average.
Pool was great and it's right on the beach.
For us things were a little built up and not the prettiest beach

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank edukid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed here this month for 2 nights. At first sight its a perfect paradise. The coffee shop / Restaurent in on the beach and gives a beautiful view to the endless ocean. I found everyone at the resort very helpful and joyous, and ofcourse they deserve to be happy to live/work in that place. The food especially the breakfast was amazing, i havent eaten an omelette so good recently and my wife loved the pancakes on breakfast. the team also helped me through various things since i was new to the place. The hotel also helps you with bikes to roam around the island. its also close to the walking street where all the action happen in chewang.

I have taken a standard room and it was good rather excellent for the price i paid. very clean with extra beach towels, mini bar, sit out, etc. The hotel is very quite and very peaceful. me and my wife loved the stay here and everybit of it. The lady at the reception speaks english and comes across as a very helpful person.

At last, I would like to extend my special thanks to Patrick. He is an absolutely great person at this place and i am glad to have met such a cool guy. he was very helpful to us during our stay and i must admit that if would not have been there, we would surely have missed our flight.

Thank you very much Patrick, and i really hope to meet you someday again.

Great Place, Great People and a Great stay !!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chefanthony_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here month of January 2014. Our room was fairly clean and cozy. Food was mediocre.The resort is on the ocean but there is no beach. Beautiful clean pool with gorgeous view of the ocean. Don't expect any help or information from the owner unless you speak French. Even tho he clearly speaks English. There was one lady in the restaurant who was very friendly and helpfully tho can't remember her name. The resort is in a great location far enough away from the noise on Chaweng beach.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockyfx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Placed perfectly at the beach in the Chaweng area of Koh Samui Island in Thailand, this is the perfect beach-front property. The breakfast, consumed leisurely sitting on the rising-sun soaked chairs, was nice and tasty. Even better were the rooms which were spacious, well-provided for and just perfect for a great night's rest.

If you happen to be in Chaweng, this is a choice you should NOT overlook. Only disappointment as with many other Thailand hotels, is their approach of opening up the door between two rooms to create a "suite" !!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gopisuhasini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed here as a reasonably large family and friends group for a few nights after a family wedding elsewhere on the island (also very good - see other review)and found the resort a great place to stay. Was slightly worried by a couple of reviews suggesting a grumpy owner, but we found all the staff, including the French owner, very friendly, helpful and want to thank them all for a really good stay.

very handy for the town but far enough away not to have any noise issues. ALso very handy for the airport.

After the previous place, the first impression was of somewhere a little cramped, but that impression soon faded. We'd booked a room for four adults and a couple of children based on the website, but found the villa not quite large enough and the staff organized as shift to a new villa as soon as we mentioned it at no extra cost.

We had rooms next to the pools. The one, for small children, was perfect for babies and toddlers and the other was large enough for a swim and very well maintained.

The restaurant is extremely good quality with a French menu (frogs' legs included!) and a Thai menu. Very well cooked and presented in a lovely setting by attentive and friendly (but not over attentive) staff. Breakfasts were very casual and made to order. Good range of food on offer and good coffee. Better food that we found outside the resort and wish we'd just eaten there all the time! Free wifi in the restaurant area (which is covered but open to the pool and the beach). But you're there to relax so that's not an issue!

On-site masseuse next to the pool who those who experienced her service said was very good.

Easy walk down the beach to the town (you'll probably have to wade a little a one point but the water's warm and not deep) past plenty of watering holes and massage options.

The staff will organize a car if need one. We decided at the last minute and one was delivered for us in 5 minutes. For fishing trips, it'll be as cheap doing it from the hotel and the agent at the top of the street next to the main road.

We'd be very happy to stay again and recommend it fully. The resort is very good at communicating and answering questions by email. We kept changing bits and pieces - especially the arrangements for arrival - and there were no worries or complaints about it. they were very patient! (Oh...and I had the best pina colada I've ever had in the coconut shell (see picture!!) by the pool. :-) )

Room Tip: I'd be tempted to go for a slightly larger room than you think you'll need from the photos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Professor_Zen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Very nice stay, great location - just outside the noise of chaweng center. We booked for 2 nights in the standard bongalow and extended to 4 in total.

Pros:
Great pool area
Very nice view of the beach
Very good food! (not very cheap though)
Staff are really nice and helpful
Daily room cleaning and bed making
Daily towels change (pool and shower towels)

Cons:
The room is not quite sealed and mosqitos find their way inside (its not too bad though since there's air conditioning)
No free wifi in the room, only in the restaurant.
Water temperature kind'a varies during the shower (its not too bad though, never gets cold or anything like that).
The motorbike I rented from the hotel was kinda crappy, better to rent on the outside.

To sum up: a great value for money. Very good place, will consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Arik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0 mi away
Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
3 mi away
Marco Polo Resort & Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#39 of 103 in Chaweng
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#55 of 103 in Chaweng
426 reviews
2.5 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillon Resort

Address: 159/3 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Chaweng
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £29 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Papillon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Papillon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papillon Hotel Chaweng
Papillon Hotel Koh Samui
Papillon Resort Koh Samui
Papillon Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing