We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel I have stayed in whilst being in Thailand”
Review of Papillon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Papillon Resort
Ranked #50 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best hotel I have stayed in whilst being in Thailand”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Great location, facilities, service and food.. Wish I could have spent longer than one night here but had to catch my flight back to phuket.. Overall this was easily the best hotel I have stayed in whilst being in Thailand.. Room was already cooled upon my arrival and a free cold drink was given to me at reception.. Food at the restaurant was really really good :)

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank lukehenry93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    81
    24
    7
    11
See reviews for
55
104
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed with them for 3 days in May 2014. Its was a low season and only 3 rooms in the property were occupied.

The rooms were decent enough but quite old. They do need a serious overhaul as I could see the paint chipping and other noises from the walls.
Nice sitting space outside the room.

The staff overall was very helpful, specially the 2 thai ladies who were in the restaurant and reservation desk . The thai guy at the reception was did not smile and wasn't much interested in customer service.

Did not have food so can't comment on that .

Location is good and within 5 minutes drive from main Chewang road. Would not recommend walking though as its not all that near with quite a few steep slopes.

Rented a bike with the hotels help and had no issues.

Excellent value for money as I could not find any hotel in that price range in that part of town.

Swimming pool was nice although a bit small, no problem as no was else was using it.

Recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rohan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahore, Pakistan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Although I had called the resort two days prior to arrival and asked for a pickup from the airport, there wasn't one. Upon checking in, I mentioned this and got a shrug in reply.The golden rule in Thailand is not to get angry if things don't go your way, so if you follow that, you're bound to get a warmer reception no matter what the situation is. Happy at seeing the ocean right in front, I decided not to get fazed by this and when we were given a free room upgrade, I decided not to let it cloud my judgment of this place! The room was a bit small than I was expecting but very comfortable and clean so no complaints there. Wifi worked well. After consuming our welcome drink, my husband and I walked down to the more crowded side of the beach as Papillon is quiet and away from all the action - which can be a good thing or a bad thing - depending on what you're looking for. Our stay here was great! At night, you can just relax on the deck chairs by the pool and look out at the lights far out in the ocean with absolutely no disturbance. You can rent a scooter if you ask at the reception and go all over Samui with no issues (which is what we did!). Coming back late at night is also quite safe as they have a security person in the lane that leads up to Papillon.
Patrick, at the reception, was great fun and we became quite friendly with him.
Great value for money, as this is probably one of the cheapest resorts you'll find on Chaweng Beach, although way up on the north side. 5-10 minutes drive from the airport, and if you rent a scootie, you can get around pretty quite conveniently. There is a convenience store at 2 minutes walking distance and some restaurants, massage places, laundry, money exchange, 7/11 about 10 minutes walk tops. Loved the view of the ocean and if you've just arrived in Thailand as we did, this is a great place to start off your trip - not the least bit overwhelming, very calm and chilled out and gives you time to decide what you want to do next while enjoying the surroundings.

Room Tip: Go for the larger room options if you're looking for a spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dollster83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Rooms are beautiful, clean and comfortable.
Staff didn't have great English, and service was average.
Pool was great and it's right on the beach.
For us things were a little built up and not the prettiest beach

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edukid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vashi, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed here this month for 2 nights. At first sight its a perfect paradise. The coffee shop / Restaurent in on the beach and gives a beautiful view to the endless ocean. I found everyone at the resort very helpful and joyous, and ofcourse they deserve to be happy to live/work in that place. The food especially the breakfast was amazing, i havent eaten an omelette so good recently and my wife loved the pancakes on breakfast. the team also helped me through various things since i was new to the place. The hotel also helps you with bikes to roam around the island. its also close to the walking street where all the action happen in chewang.

I have taken a standard room and it was good rather excellent for the price i paid. very clean with extra beach towels, mini bar, sit out, etc. The hotel is very quite and very peaceful. me and my wife loved the stay here and everybit of it. The lady at the reception speaks english and comes across as a very helpful person.

At last, I would like to extend my special thanks to Patrick. He is an absolutely great person at this place and i am glad to have met such a cool guy. he was very helpful to us during our stay and i must admit that if would not have been there, we would surely have missed our flight.

Thank you very much Patrick, and i really hope to meet you someday again.

Great Place, Great People and a Great stay !!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chefanthony_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here month of January 2014. Our room was fairly clean and cozy. Food was mediocre.The resort is on the ocean but there is no beach. Beautiful clean pool with gorgeous view of the ocean. Don't expect any help or information from the owner unless you speak French. Even tho he clearly speaks English. There was one lady in the restaurant who was very friendly and helpfully tho can't remember her name. The resort is in a great location far enough away from the noise on Chaweng beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockyfx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
147 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Placed perfectly at the beach in the Chaweng area of Koh Samui Island in Thailand, this is the perfect beach-front property. The breakfast, consumed leisurely sitting on the rising-sun soaked chairs, was nice and tasty. Even better were the rooms which were spacious, well-provided for and just perfect for a great night's rest.

If you happen to be in Chaweng, this is a choice you should NOT overlook. Only disappointment as with many other Thailand hotels, is their approach of opening up the door between two rooms to create a "suite" !!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gopisuhasini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
2.2 mi away
Seascape Beach Resort
Seascape Beach Resort
#62 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#36 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Marco Polo Resort & Restaurant
2.5 mi away
First Residence Hotel
First Residence Hotel
#40 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
2.5 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillon Resort

Property: Papillon Resort
Address: 159/3 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Papillon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Papillon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papillon Hotel Chaweng
Papillon Hotel Koh Samui
Papillon Resort Koh Samui
Papillon Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing