We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Island Resort and Spa
Ranked #83 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Phuket
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Below average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed in one of the older cheaper rooms which was really in need of renovation although it did have a new AC unit installed. It's on the beach but the area in front is not ideal for swimming. It's a bit too close to the Ark bar which could be heard in the room at night. I wouldn't recommend this resort to anyone, there are better options around.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThailandLiveaboards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    88
    44
    37
    18
See reviews for
6
28
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Naaldwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

This review is bassed on a one night stay in the oldest bungalows they've got. We booked a "chaep" (1000 bath) bungalow. The room is small and not clean. It needs renovation! The windows can't be closed properly and that makes it easy for bugs to get in to your room. And there are a lot bugs over there! Also the poor Windows makes it realy noisy! You here the music from the bars until 5 o'clock in the Morning like it's in your backjard! We booked for the second night a bungalow (2000 bath) near the beach and pool. Those are great!! I would rate them a overall 4,5! Location is nice but book a new bungalow!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henkenlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chaweng hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

Originally booked Al's Huts but they were sold off and we were given the Island instead. Amazing place. Staff were lovely, the rooms were amazing and the location was just perfect. Really wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendanM1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Great experience at this hotel. We (myself and four other girlfriends) spent about 3 days at this island resort. Beautiful place and will definitely be coming back! Staff were exceptionally friendly and accommodating. We were in a two roomed bungalow and had 5 guests so they gave us an extra bed in the living room. Pool was great and overlooking the beach which was amazing. Clear waters! You could get a massage done on the beach next to the resort for as little as AUS$4 for an hour.
Everything is walking distance, all the closest bars, clubs, 7 eleven, you name it. The location is definitely perfect. Buffet breakfast every morning with an omelette bar, cereal, fresh fruit, etc.
Great beach to stay by (Chaweng beach).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wuthichai, ผู้จัดการ at The Island Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thanks you choose us as your accommodation. Your feedback is valuable to me. I will try to update the hotel provide better service. And hope you will come back and visit us again later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

It felt like we were showering in grey water. The shower was nothing but a hose coming out of the wall and the water smelt horrible!
We were meant to have a queen bed. Instead, we had 2 single beds pushed together. It was like sleeping on a Brick wall with concrete for pillows.
The staff are rude and unwilling to be helpful!
You can get much better accommodation for the same or less price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambab89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

we stayed here because the price was very appealing, we wasnt expesting much as it was so cheap but was happily suprised. The rooms are really cute with the rocking chairs on the front garden areas. the insides or the rooms are fine, perfect clean with all amentities. we payed for a basic room but was upgraded to a pool side bungalow which was lovely. The breakfast areas is lovely overlook the beach and the pool area is also nice. its good that its on the beach but its a 2 min stroll from the ark bar and all the night life. staff we nice.
have stayed here twice now as its just such great value for money.

Room Tip: the bugalows are much nicer than the building at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMMAabouttheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORA l, Front Office Manager at The Island Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
To all our previous visiting guest of The Island Resort & Spa,

It was an honor indeed that partly you have spent your holiday with our property (The Island Resort and Spa). The Management had come with a big project of this resort ,renovating it with a new look and image in order to serve our visiting guest with additional services and facilities. In 2 years time, we hope that you can come across again to take a look and stay with the new built property of The Island resort and Spa.

See you all on the new look of The Island Resort and Spa.

The Management Team - Al's Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Please do not even think of booking this, it was like staying in a prison, only worse!. Nothing like pictures they are from the fifties i think. Rooms filthy, showers are attached with one nail that dos'nt even spray down just all over bathroom, had to hold nozzle while washing, toilet is in shower and leaked everywere when flushed, staff didnt even clean it afterwards just used a bath towel on floor with foot to scoop up tiolet water and off she went. Water was brown??Pillows brown and stained, horrible mouldy smell. curtains dont close so was scared for whole of stay. Tv's dont work, Fridges are filthy. Generators and Plumbing under my room kept the bed shaking all night, thought i was in exorcist! Staff are the most arrogant people and are not helpfull at all what so ever, felt like it was my fault when i tryed to complain, they just look at you like you are stupid and nothing got solved so just shutup in end. Got a look at filthy kitchens so didnt even chance eating there. I did'nt take any notice of these reviews and if you dont, you are going to be so dissapointed!!!! My Family could not believe what i had been staying in and one cousin actually cryed seeing what i had been staying in. I know you get what you pay for, but i payed double the price of others whose hotels were clean and modern and did'nt make you feel like you was in the shining. Horrible Horrible, put me off thialand forever!!!!!.

Room Tip: Al's Place seemed great value, also Chewang Regent Hotel and Spa if you havet to stay in that ar...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Marissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Muang Kulaypan Hotel
Muang Kulaypan Hotel
#57 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Briza Beach Resort Samui
0.1 mi away
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sans Souci Samui
Sans Souci Samui
#31 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Bistrot Paris - Bangkok
Le Bistrot Paris - Bangkok
#28 of 71 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Your Place Resort
Your Place Resort
#46 of 71 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Resort and Spa

Property: The Island Resort and Spa
Address: 162/21 Moo2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Island Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 6220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Island Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island Hotel Koh Samui
Island Hotel Koh Samui
The Island Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing