We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A PLEASANT RESORT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Island Resort and Spa
Ranked #83 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A PLEASANT RESORT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

A pleasant beach front resort with a very good restaurant. Some of the older rooms are worn and with noisy A/C, but the staff are responsive to fix defects as much as they can.
The location is very good and is close to the beach on one side and the bars, shops and clubs on the land side.

Room Tip: Go for the newer rooms. The older ones have A/C which is rather noisy, and the bathrooms are somewh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dank U V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORA l, Front Office Manager at The Island Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us during your stay at The Island Resort and Spa.

We are now reconstructing the said property for a year to enhance and make a new building to cater our clients moe comfortably.

We hope that you can visit us again when the said new constructed resort will be done approximately by year 2015.

In behalf of the Management of Al's group ,

Nora Lim
Group Front office Manager
Als Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    88
    44
    37
    18
See reviews for
6
28
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Was initially very surprised at the state of this hotel when I arrived. Frontage is tucked away and the front desk looks like a park rangers office. People working at the front desk are not very helpful and they took a while to sort out my booking. We were them taken to a room that was more similar to a motel with uneven bedding and a small bathroom. The fridge was filthy. The location itself was fantastic as it is right on the main road but also has a frontage to the beach which was gorgeous, but definately no where near to the pictures on the website. Do not book a taxi through the front desk as it is extortionate. Wifi available for free at the front desk.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORA l, Front Office Manager at The Island Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
We appreciate this comment in which we are now on the stage of re-constructing a new hotel on this location.

The Island resort and Spa cease its operation since October 2013.

We hope to see you back after the 2 years construction for a new image that we tend to be of more service with the new outcome and high level star category when the said construction will be done.

Thank you for staying with us.

In behalf of the Management of Als Group

Nora Lim
Front office manager
Als Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chaweng hotels

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Having travelled most of Asia, and visited Koh Samui several times, we were really disappointed with this accommodation. So much so, we refused to stay there after seeing the rooms. We booked Deluxe Villas, but there was nothing deluxe about them!! They were boxes made from fibro cement sheeting. Whilst clean inside, they were small, dingy and dated. The bathrooms are tiny, and take you back to the 1950's with a very small hot water service above the shower head. The in room safe is inconveniently located on the floor behind a chair, and not very securely bolted to the floor either. You also have to pay a 2000 BHT deposit to use it! The rickety balcony has half broken plastic chairs to sit on, and the grounds are not as impressive as others have made out.

Whilst the staff were friendly and very understanding, you can get SO MUCH better in Koh Samui for the same price!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMILLS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORA l, Front Office Manager at The Island Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
This observation was been fully appreciated as the Management has come up for a final plan.

The Island Resort and Spa is presently on its way of full reconstruction to project a new image for changing and improvement of its facilities.

We are hoping after the 2 years time that The Island Resort and Spa construction for a new higher star category, if given a chance we are inviting you to visit us again to cope up on this and show the improvement we make.

In behalf of The Management of Al's Group,

Nora Lim
Front Office Manager
Al's Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Disappointing hotel, dismissive staff with one who was extremely rude.wifi not acessible only in small reception area that isnt always accessible. Safe box also in receptiom and you had to pay each time to access it. Noisy throughout the night walls and windows thin so uou hear everything.pool and beach area had blasting music alday. Location on main street so easy for everything and beach close to. Wouldnt stay their again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S123Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed here in October 2012 and reserved one of their basic rooms. The staff were nice and accommodating, but the room was dated and lacked decent lighting. My girlfriend wasn't too impressed and asked for an upgrade, which didn't take long to organise. Our new room was a world of difference but still lacked a decent bathroom.

We ate at their restaurant for one evening and the food was quite nice. The fresh fish was the highlight of our meal, and it was nice dining just meters away from the water. Of course all the restaurants along the beach offer the same type of dining, so its not unique to this resort.

We stayed with 3 other couples and it was easy to get together as a group. The layout of the resort is reminiscent of staying in a small village, and we were comfortable to abandon our phones altogether (they represent the tedium of life back at home).

In the end, we had a great stay and found plenty to do around the local area. Plus you can't beat staying a stone throw away from the beach.

Room Tip: Pay more for the better rooms, unless you just want very basic accomodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward_Xavier_Han
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORA l, Front Office Manager at The Island Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
We extend our utmost gratefulness that someway the better room that you had gratified your stay for spending your holiday with us.

For some measures, the Management of Al's Group are now on its plan to enhance this subject property for re- constructing a new phase to entail for the betterment of our service.

We hope that we could be of service again to you in the future on your next holiday time.

In behalf of Al's Group Management,

Nora Lim
Group Front office manager
Al's Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Αθήνα, Ελλάδα
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Bungalows are scattered in an amazing garden that gives you the feeling you're in a jungle! We actually saw frogs, squirrels and exotic birds! Totally different from other hotels in the island. Rooms are ok and clean. At the end of the garden there is a pool and the famous Chaweng beach. Great location -you're at the heart of Koh Samui. Friendly and always smiling staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irinix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORA l, Front Office Manager at The Island Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Greetings from Al's Group.

We appreciate it very for this overwhelming message . We hope that you can visit us again on your next holiday trip.

Thank you for imparting your time staying in our property as we are always ready to serve you to the best that we can do.

In behalf of Al's Group management,

Nora Lim
Group Front Office Manager
Al's Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Level Contributor
178 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

this is very good 3 star or 3.5 star hotel , only pool villa is good , other rooms are just ok , reception is too small but very cooperative , food in room is good , bar is also not bad , beach arrangement is very good , with small money this is good hotel but go for only beach villa .

Room Tip: only room which are pool adn sea view , like beach villa etc not other
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadeem B J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORA l, Front Office Manager at The Island Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Good day.

We would like to extend our great appreciation for this message and comment.

Please accept our gratitude and acknowledgement and looking forward for your next holiday trip that we could be of service to you again.

In behalf of Al's Group,

Nora Lim
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Muang Kulaypan Hotel
Muang Kulaypan Hotel
#57 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Briza Beach Resort Samui
0.1 mi away
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sans Souci Samui
Sans Souci Samui
#33 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Bistrot Paris - Bangkok
Le Bistrot Paris - Bangkok
#29 of 72 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Your Place Resort
Your Place Resort
#46 of 72 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Resort and Spa

Property: The Island Resort and Spa
Address: 162/21 Moo2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Island Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 6220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Island Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island Hotel Koh Samui
Island Hotel Koh Samui
The Island Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing