We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view in room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baan Kao Hua Jook Villas & Apartments
Ranked #79 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 27 July 2011

In the room there was a great view. The room himself was noth so clean. The last day they have forget ore free breakfast... There was nobody on the breakfast area...
No extra soap or showeramenities... No elevator in the building and noisy in the room from Q-bar. You have free daily beachtransfer

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robbie058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Baan Kao Hua Jook Villas & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2010

Am on my last day of a one month stay in one of the Sansabai apartments, which I had booked via their website samuibkjresort dot com. These are studio apartments at the ends of the apartment block (the standard apartments are the ones in the middle of the block) and have nice interiors, with marble floors and big windows which let in lots of light (but all can be covered with shades or blinds). The interior design has an Italian/European feel to it, and makes staying inside a pleasant experience. Lighting is also nicely done with several dimmers, creating a homely atmosphere at night.

The bathroom has a bath tub with big shower head over it, there is a small kitchenette with fridge, plates, cups, glasses, basic cutlery and a water boiler (note: some of the photos show extra kitchen items that I added). The apartment has a balcony with two chairs and a table. There's a sitting corner, a small desk with office chair, and a big, noise-free bed with a nice firm mattress. There is a tradional model TV with several dozen channels, including several European satellite ones and a few English language ones including the BBC World News.

The air conditioning, which can be adjusted as required with a remote control, is powerful and effective.

A few weeks ago all the Wifi access points in the hotel were replaced, and now there's at least six new ones in the main apartment building (two on each floor; there's three floors including the ground floor; the hotel has 18 apartments in it I believe, six per floor; plus the villa's). There may also be more in the villa's and one in the pool-side bar/restaurant, which also has a computer for public access. Internet access is quite OK for Samui, with only a few shorter outages on most days on average. These outages are at the ISP end, not at the hotel, which has good in-room Wifi coverage overall. The Internet is of decent speed, with web pages and email coming down the pipe just about as quick as in Sydney, however downloads of larger files can be somewhat slower at times.

The reason for my stay is partly business (am in between contracts and need to work using the Internet) and this place is more than suitable for the purpose. When the Internet drops out occasionally I can do other stuff or jump into the pool - always a nice thing to do when the daytime temperature hovers around 32-33 degrees as it has been in the past weeks.

As others have commented, it is around 10 minutes walk to the beach and Chaweng "downtown". Until you reach that area, you have to walk along a main road which is busy and has no real sidewalks, so you can't walk side-by-side. Therefore only recommended for fit adults, not suitable for older people or young kids. It has a lot of traffic consisting of motorbikes, cars, some trucks, the odd water buffalo or stray dog, and various motorized smaller vehicles which pass close to your side when you navigate this road. However a taxi to anywhere in the surrounding Chaweng area is 200 baht, or you can take a motor taxi for 50 baht or a shared taxi for about the same (some people negotiate some of this down more apparently).

The hotel has a bar and restaurant onsite (next to the pool) which does decent meals at reasonable prices, however I have made it a habit to often have dinner at Chaybung Restaurant, which is a small place with only about five tables just down the street from the hotel, about two minutes walk (walk down the street passing by the hotel to the main road, cross this and turn left; it is the first restaurant you see; I will upload photo with this review). They do great Thai curries, freshly made when you order, and manage to make them virtually free of spice if you ask which is rare (in my experience if you ask without spice in other restaurants you often still get "medium"). My favourite is the green curry but they also do several kinds of red curry, yellow curry and massaman curry for example (and they have a menu of Western foods as well if you don't like curries; don't get the pad thai there however; that's much better at the hotel). The curries are mostly around 100 baht apiece so my meal of two beers and a curry with rice comes to less than 300 baht which is a decent deal. The restaurant is at the lake side which adds to the atmosphere.

Meantime back at the hotel the service is very friendly, staff always smile and go out of their way to assist. All staff without any exception have been amazing during my stay. Service has been excellent, for example I go for a walk around the area each morning, and they wait with servicing the room until I go on this walk, and don't knock on the door or barge in which may happen at other hotels. Towels are changed every day, the bedding is changed every three days or so, and there's two new bottles of drinking water in the fridge each day. Laundry is done at the hotel for 60 baht per kilo, which includes ironing and adding a nice smell (persumably they spray it with something, or they use a really strongly scented laundry detergent or softener). I have a local girlfriend and there is no issue with her staying over (no charge for this as at some other places; they keep ID at reception).

There is a small book exchange in the bar near the swimming pool. It has a couple dozen books in it, in a mix of languages. Best to bring your own books however, given the very limited selection.

Motorbikes (mopeds) can be rented at the hotel. There is also a twice-daily free shuttle to the beach and back. They get you from the airport (if details provided when booking) and bring you back.

Breakfast is not included when booking the apartment on monthly rates, but is available from the poolside restaurant at reasonable cost.

The noise from a nightclub that other people have commented on has not materialised for me. These reports were from a few years ago so perhaps that nightclub has closed. There is a bar up the hill, a few hundred meters from the hotel (called Q Bar) which has music that can be discerned in the distance on weekend nights, but the volume is so low that it is hard to imagine anyone being kept awake by it, it is basically almost inaudible.

All up, this has been a great stay for me and I can thoroughly recommend it: not only for holidays but also for business, such as in my case where I need a quiet place that has a desk, decent Internet access in the room and good air conditioning, whilst not being too far away from the lively streets of Chaweng Beach. Apparently some people stay here for months on end doing work on their laptops, and not surprising as this place is excellent for it, also given their attractive monthly rates. The entire team of staff have been among the best I have experienced in hotels anywhere: extremely friendly and helpful, very efficient and customer-oriented, yet unobtrusive - across the board: a BIG THANK YOU to all of you!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sergio2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

we stayed in the vip villa for one month , NO complaints we had a great stay , the staff are fabulous , nothing is to much trouble for them , the villa was clean and had everything we needed , location is perfect , we hired mopeds for the month , the main street is a 10 min walk , we will most defiantly be returning to baan kao hua jook soon , we would highly recommend this hotel
regards clare dubai

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clare_ormrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Thanks to Miss Morn from BKJ who arranged our reservation with efficiency.

Although this resort is slightly away from town centre, but they have transfers where they are happy to drop you off. Because of road condition and traffic, I will not recommend testing your luck by walking to/back town centre.

We had the VIP Villa which has 4 air cons, which was definitely a necessity. 2 large bedrooms, one bathroom, lounge, kitchen and dining room, and in villa pool. The villa is just off the main reception area but with it's own gate. So it was safe enough that you can hear people talking over at the reception area whilst you're swimming in the pool and yet private enough that no one can see you.

We loved the pool, and they are so efficient in cleaning our rooms! Service overall was good but not all staff can speak english very well. So at times it was quite difficult to communicate.

One morning they even brought us breakfast at the villa, it was brilliant service.

Overall I will definitely recommend it if you want your own space but don't want to pay too much for it. It's so spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eLasticbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2009

A friend and I stayed at the Baan Kao Jook Villas resort late September begin October 2009.
We booked our stay online on the http://www.samuibkjresort.com/ website. Correspondence was fast and clear. Booking went smooth.
We arrived on Ko Samui airport, and someone of the resort was awaiting us, as agreed (Airport pickup was included). When we arrived, the girls of the reception provided some refreshing juice and fruit, while we filled in the necessary forms with our information.
They informed us that they could not deliver the Bungalow that we rented (Resort was full), but they gave us a free upgrade, so very nice!
The Bungalow was very nice! Great rooms, nice shower, private jacuzzi (nice and biiiiig), decent Airco, TV with Satellite, Wireless internet (free of charge), etc etc. Breakfast was also included in the price, and you can choose between American, Oriental and Continental. Also nice was that the girls at the reception (who also do the cooking), remembered what you like from the previous day. For example: the first day, I did not really liked the sausages, so I left them. The next morning, the girls had changed the sausages into bacon. Same for the fruit. First day we got Melon, Pineapple and Kiwi. We left some of the Pineapple, only to find that the next day they have provided more Melon and less Pineapple. Great personal service!!! We booked a trip and 2 scooters at the resort: all went fine, just like agreed. The trip we booked (speedboat to other Islands) left very early (7 or something), but the girls from the reception came to 'wake us up' and asked if we wanted breakfast.
The last 2 days we got very sick (food poisoning, note to self, do not eat sushi at 'Fuji' Tesco Lotus). The girls took really good care of us, asking if they could help, get a doctor, get some medicine, whatever. They came to check on us several times to make sure we where doing fine, and to check if we needed anything.
Location was OK also. It takes only 10 minutes to walk from the bungalow to Chaweng Beach. So not too far from the nightlife, but not too close to hear the noise ;-).
It shows that this resort is under new management. Again, I would like to thank the girls from the reception. Very friendly, always correct, personal service! Need anything? Ask them! I can recommend this resort for sure! I will be back in 2010 ;-)

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GenghisZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2008

Rented the VIP villa

Has the following problems....

Wireless internet does not work, wired connection also sporadic (Suspect cheap connection with limited bandwidth). Not good if you need to do business whilst there, sometimes went days without access.

Gym space has been rented out as an office, so you are paying for a facility that is advertised on the website that no longer exists. Actually, one of the reasons I chose was because of the treadmill.

Villa has seen better days, suffering from water damage. Sofa also stained / dirty, satellite has intermittent problems. Smelt of cigarettes on arrival. Cleaning not to a very high standard.

If you are looking for somewhere private, the villa is overlooked by the main pool and maids peering over the wall.

Clothes not returned in Laundry, my favourite shirt as well!!

Worst of all is the House Party at nearby Escape nightclub every second Friday, so loud it reverberates your body in bed until 6.30am. Could hear and feel it with was earplugs in. Not good for a peaceful break.

Apart from that, staff were very nice but got a little fed up with the Thai smile and "sorry" every time something was wrong.

Finally, I saw that the place is up for sale in a real estate magazine, possibly this is the reason the owners are not bothering to maintain to a high standard.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank biztraveller1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2007

This place is great. The villa is in a L-shape, there is a lot of space. The jacuzzi is surrounded by a garden and absolutelly perfect!! The villa is surrounded by a wall, so it feels really private.
Security is good. There is a night guard who walks you down to your door
I would really recommend this place

Stayed: January 2007
2  Thank orangeshamrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.1 mi away
NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui
NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui
#143 of 184 in Bophut
86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nora Lakeview Hotel
Nora Lakeview Hotel
#68 of 103 in Chaweng
107 reviews
1.7 mi away
First Residence Hotel
First Residence Hotel
#48 of 103 in Chaweng
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
P&P Samui Resort
P&P Samui Resort
#71 of 103 in Chaweng
136 reviews
1.3 mi away
Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
1.2 mi away
Chaweng Bay View Resort
Chaweng Bay View Resort
#53 of 103 in Chaweng
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Kao Hua Jook Villas & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Kao Hua Jook Villas & Apartments

Address: 83/46 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84329, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Price Range: £20 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Kao Hua Jook Villas & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BKJ-resort located within the picturesque countryside of Chaweng and provides comfortable accommodation and a full range of facilities. To suit guests' convenience BKJ-resort offers restaurant, free parking, open pool, transfer to the beach, laundry service and taxi service. All rooms and villas are connected to high-speed Internet via Wi-Fi. BKJ-resort has two types of accommodation - comfortable room-studios and private villas. Suitable for vacation or longer term stays. Apartments equipped to ensure an enjoyable stay. Studio has a private bathroom and a kitchenette. They have all the conveniences expected in a hotel in its class to suit guests' utmost comforts. Each guestroom features amenities such as air conditioning, desk, TV, refrigerator, bathtub, shower. BKJ-villas has private garden with personal jacuzzi. Each bedroom is equipped with air conditioning and TV, and the kitchen has all the necessary kitchenware. Moreover our guests can always have a rest to the shade of a garden and enjoy a cup of coffee, feeling all the charm of quiet private rest. The main advantage of the hotel - is its location. Located in the Chaweng Area - the most tourist area of the island, it is based in a quiet place where no heard the noise of night clubs. With its convenient position of BKJ-resort making it easy to get to every convenience spot of Koh Samui, stores, markets, Central Festival shopping Complex. It is a 10 minute walk to the lively tourist area and the top 3 beach on the island. And is within a 10-minute car trip of Samui International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Baan Kao Hua Jook Villas & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Kao Hua Jook Villas And Apartments
Baan Kao Hua Jook Villas & Apartments Hotel Koh Samui
Baan Kao Hua Jook Villas & Apartments Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing