We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good sized villas, nice interior - poor food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baan Kao Hua Jook Villas & Apartments
Ranked #80 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good sized villas, nice interior - poor food and service”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. The houses (premium villa) are a good size for 4 persons, we were 2 with 2 small kids. There is a smaller private pool with build in jacuzzi which was good for the little ones but extremely full of chlorine.
The main pool is nice too, nothing to special though.
It's fairly clean although you see some mould in the shower and it's definitely not newly built
What actually made the stay not very pleasant was the poor service. It took forever just to get a juice we ordered, our lunch took over half an hour although we were the only ones.
Breakfast is includes but it's the worst I have experienced especially when paying 80euro a night. There is a choice of 4 sets which all are very basic and not very tasty. The toast was cold and there wasn't even proper milk or cream with the coffee. It seemed like there is only one person doing it all,from taking orders to cooking to serving.

Location is not very central but a once a day shuttle service to the beach is included.

Overall it seems like it used to be a pretty
nice resort but it's not being taken care of recently, that's our impression.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teschka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    19
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
6
27
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

It was just an awesome experience during my visit in end of November 2011.

Had stayed for 6 nights at villa and there are absolutely no complaints about service. The staff was over co-operative which was not expected. Only issue faced was communication but that was also nice experience.

The reception guy arranged bike for us and suggested us places to visit which helped a lot. There was a bar slihtly ahead of the resort which was just faculous.

The pool in the villa just added the beauty to the place.

Would recommed this hotel to any one.

Room Tip: go for any of the villas all are really amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vrushang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

A wonderful stay. A huge thank you to BKJ and we are already planning our return.

My wife and I travelled with my brother and his wife, and we stayed in a Premium Villa and a Sansabai apartment. We did this after having originally booked one "2 bedroom" Superior Villa - but then found a review somewhere that said that the 2nd bedroom in a Superior Villa is not a true 2nd bedroom, but rather a screened off section of the lounge area. I checked it out while we were there and yes, the Superior Villa 2nd bedroom is a screened off area of the lounge area making it more suitable to families rather than couples sharing. Couples may be able to share though by one couple having exlusive use of the lounge / 2nd bed area and locking that door, and another couple having the other bedroom at opposite ends of the villa connected via a hall with the seperate toilet, shower and vanities.

Premium Villa (34) -

Wow. A phenominally private walled villa, with beautiful plants and that wonderful plunge pool. Inside the villa was a very good standard, however these aren't really self-catering in any way with ony a rice cooker by way of applicances. There was no tea or coffee making facilities either. Nice big fridge. Typically hard beds (ie normal Thai style), but very comfy. Very large for entertaining when my brother and his wife came down to hang out there. The finishing standard for the villa was slightly rough around some edges here and there, but generally much better than the apartment. Nothing to complain about though, and at the price - probably our biggest travelling bargain ever. Will definitely return.

Sansabai apartment (201)

Good apartment with a wonderful view. Finishes a bit rough around the edges though. Hot water didn't work, but was fixed first thing on Monday (reported Sunday). My brother didn't spend a whole lot of time there, rather hanging out in our villa, so this was more of just a bedroom. While I would have no hesitiation staying in an apartment, the villa's are so awesome I wouldn't consider it. Again not really a self catering set up, although both the villa and apartment had a big fridge. A bargain.

Other room types - the proper 2 bed VIP villa and the 2 storey 4 bed house are phenominal. The house (it really is a big place) is the only one with proper self catering capability. 3 beds are internal and there is a 'honeymoon' type pavillion with another bed and ensuite seperate to the main house.

Facilities -

Pool and spa were great - very deep and like the plunge pools very clean with great water quality. All gardens are lovely.

We had the entire resort to ourselves for 2 of our 4 nights stay.

Restaurant - very good and we ate there numerous times. American breakfast on the smaller side of restaurant fare, but perfect for us. Never hungry. Dinner choices rather limited, but we always enjoyed it. Generally slow service, but this is a place for relaxing! A great place to just chill. Repetitive hotel style lounge music was the only thing that got a bit grating after a while.

Other facilities - not a great deal. The small gym is there, but if you want a place that will organise tours, car rentals, that sort of thing this is not the place. There are no phones in rooms and can't make international calls from reception. This is more a place with excellent accomodation, but aside from that you take care of yourselves for other needs, apart from the free airport and beach transfers which were excellent and we used them many times. Always ready to pick you up at agreed times. Wifi excellent too.

Location - a bit out of the way. But we saw that as best of both worlds. Walk to Chaweng beach took me 10 mins, and is largely flat, with just a slight incline in the street the hotel is in (about 75m from main road). We also walked to Tesco Lotus in 20 min to do shopping then got a taxi back. Taxi back from the beach at night cost us 200BHT, but I didn't haggle that - probably be able to get cheaper. We chilled at ARK bar a lot to go swimming, eating and have some drinks on the beach. Can use their beachchairs while you are there. A lot of people don't know the hotel, so like someone has said below - tell them you are staying near Q Bar which is at the top of the same street that BKJ is.

Overall amazing value for money and, like I said we are already planning our return. That is reasonably rare for us with so much of the world left to see.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinchey79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Stayed here in April 2012 and it was lovely. we stayed in the standard apartments - which we hadnt seen manay reviews about but we went ahead with them any way. The apartemtns where very spacious,clean and the staff where very nice and friendly.
Yes the Villa/Apartemtns are a little bit of a walk tio the main area of Chewang but me and my poartner walked ther and back at least twice a day. They actually offer a tuk-tuk service to the4 beach if you ask them and can get a private tuk tuk just out side the hotel for like 100 bart each.

Overall fantastic time in thailand and the apartments where very nice!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

lovely place to stay.
bit far from the beach but taxi's are cheap enough.
fantastic room with private pool
the privacy of the villas were amazing, great if you want to get away from the chaos,
relaxing place to stay

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Stayed in one of the private villas. Beautiful - looks very similar to the VIP villa photos from another members' photos - not sure what extras you get in the VIP...
the normal villas have a splash pool with jacuzzi jets, sunbeds, same looking bathroom facilities, big screen tv, kitchen with appliances (though only the fridge has a plug - not sure where all the other appliances connect?)

the food from the restaurant with the main pool is very good if you want thai food.

the pool near the restaurant is a lot cooler than our splash pool (due to the size).

there is a gym at this hotel too.


Make sure you tell drivers it's near the Q bar (up the same hilly road)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

i stayed here in January 2012

there was a large number of us here so we choose to hire the villa vip for 10 day's

this was fanatastic the house and pool was cleaned every day the sheets where changed new towles every day.

we had our own swimming pool the lounge had cable tv and massive tv so in the day we could relax and watch tv all room had aircon.
the staff couldnt do enough for you had a gym as well.

also free transfer to the beech supplied by the hotel great location great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ollieboy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.6 mi away
Nora Lakeview Hotel
Nora Lakeview Hotel
#71 of 104 in Chaweng
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui
NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui
#142 of 185 in Bophut
86 reviews
1.7 mi away
First Residence Hotel
First Residence Hotel
#45 of 104 in Chaweng
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#29 of 104 in Chaweng
71 reviews
0.6 mi away
Behind The Scene Hotel Club @ Samui
1.3 mi away
Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Kao Hua Jook Villas & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Kao Hua Jook Villas & Apartments

Property: Baan Kao Hua Jook Villas & Apartments
Address: 83/46 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84329, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Kao Hua Jook Villas & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BKJ-resort located within the picturesque countryside of Chaweng and provides comfortable accommodation and a full range of facilities. To suit guests' convenience BKJ-resort offers restaurant, free parking, open pool, transfer to the beach, laundry service and taxi service. All rooms and villas are connected to high-speed Internet via Wi-Fi. BKJ-resort has two types of accommodation - comfortable room-studios and private villas. Suitable for vacation or longer term stays. Apartments equipped to ensure an enjoyable stay. Studio has a private bathroom and a kitchenette. They have all the conveniences expected in a hotel in its class to suit guests' utmost comforts. Each guestroom features amenities such as air conditioning, desk, TV, refrigerator, bathtub, shower. BKJ-villas has private garden with personal jacuzzi. Each bedroom is equipped with air conditioning and TV, and the kitchen has all the necessary kitchenware. Moreover our guests can always have a rest to the shade of a garden and enjoy a cup of coffee, feeling all the charm of quiet private rest. The main advantage of the hotel - is its location. Located in the Chaweng Area - the most tourist area of the island, it is based in a quiet place where no heard the noise of night clubs. With its convenient position of BKJ-resort making it easy to get to every convenience spot of Koh Samui, stores, markets, Central Festival shopping Complex. It is a 10 minute walk to the lively tourist area and the top 3 beach on the island. And is within a 10-minute car trip of Samui International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baan Kao Hua Jook Villas & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Kao Hua Jook Villas And Apartments
Baan Kao Hua Jook Villas & Apartments Hotel Koh Samui
Baan Kao Hua Jook Villas & Apartments Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing