We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No good”
Review of Sans Souci Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sans Souci Samui
Ranked #34 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I will start with the pro's - decent location on quiet end of Chaweng. And that's where the pro's end. Although it is on the beach there is no pool, noisy air conditioner, out dated rooms, hard uncomfortable beds, staff are friendly enough but average service. There are many other great hotels that yes may be more expensive but in hindsight I would have paid double the amount. Don't stay here if you expect comfort and something nicer than a close to hostel experience you get here.

Room Tip: Do not go there - full of regret!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelina160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

It’s a small resort located at the south end of Chaweng beach.

Location: Chaweng beach is very commercially developed, so there’re enough restaurants, bars and convenient stores nearby. But the bad side is it’s a little noisy at night (even midnight), as the rock music from the middle Chaweng beach is so deafening that it’s still annoyingly loud here though 1 or 2 kilometers away. I can’t imagine how to stay in central Chaweng at night.

Room: Normal size, wooden style, clean, but nothing special.

Service: We didn’t receive warm welcome on our arrival (which we received everywhere else in Thailand, with drink and towels). Maybe because arrived too late. And there’s only one staff member is on duty at night, and he doesn’t speak any English. (But he still tried his best to help upon requests.)

Overall, it’s an OK hotel. Comfortable stay, but nothing exceeds our expectation. There are better ones at this price in Samui.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JIPING X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My bf and I just spend 4 days in Koh Samui at the Sans Souci Samui. Chaweng seems to be the more touristy and happening beach on the island, so we stayed there for convenience of things. We were a little worried about noise, because although we wanted it to be easy to get to restaurants, the beach and shops easily, we were not planning on partying or doing the drinking thing. It was great that the Sans Souci Samui was located at the end of the Chaweng strip so that we could walk to places easily, but did not experience noisy partying. Because we were not near the main part of the strip where the clubs and bars were, I felt things were generally lower priced. I noticed that massages were 50b less!

Our room was really nice. We did not stay in a room in the main building but had a separate place that included our own porch area. Sans Souci Samui also has its own private beach area, which is great! I hate having to walk to a beach. So it was great to be able to have breakfast and then just a few steps away be on the beach already, and be able to run back to the room easily if I forgot anything. My only complaint was that we were supposed to have a King sized bed but the bed we had was just two twins put together. This was a bit awkward because it meant one of us was sleeping on the seam at any given time. It was not so terrible, however because the two mattresses were held together tightly enough, but still it was weird.

The hotel staff was great. Most of them spoke English really well. We didn't encounter any issues with language at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ArtGirlNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in August before finishing our SE Asia trip. The hotel and its staff are lovely. The first room we were given was not quite what I expected from the booking made in March, but after speaking to one of the team the issue was resolved the same day and our second room was everything we hoped for. We were very grateful to the hotel for swopping our room and the rest of our stay was faultless. The room was wood panelled and some other reviewers have said the rooms are dark, but we felt that was fine as it gave a more traditional feel to the room. Our room was very clean and was cleaned/tidied daily by staff. The hotel directly fronts the quieter end of the beach and sunbeds are provided for the guests to use. Beach towels are changed daily too which was a nice touch. The beach is very safe, sandy and clean. The hotel grounds are well kept with little areas in which you can sit to while away the time. The breakfast was filling, and the cafe was open all day for drinks and food if wanted. The hotel arranged their own transport to take us back to the airport
We would definitely stay here again if we went to Koh Samui. Thank you to all staff who worked so hard to make our stay chilled, hassle free and memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Very nice location, in the south part of chaweng beach, far from the noise and pollution of central chaweng. Nice rooms ( maybe the shower could have been hotter!!!). The only pity is the complete impossibility to communicate with waiters/reception in any language ( the only english speaking is the japanese manager). Overall nice but the place near by is better ( samui paradise)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiara1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I lovely little resort right on the beach in a very quiet location. We enjoyed the large spacious room, with a nice large sort of outside bathroom. The staff were sensational and there to help with anything needed whether it be service or advice. This place would be great for families, my only concerns were the very shallow water out the front (no different to any other place along Chaweng Beach), the distance of the TV away from the bed for the size of the TV, the continual problems with the WIFI (not that they were not trying to fix it) and the location was just a bit far away from other restaurants. Would we stay there again maybe not but it could be the place for you depending on what you are looking for.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChinaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Booking this place via email was a breeze. Patrick replied in a few hours, although i would email at least a couple of days before. I booked 2 days prior and it wasn't an issue.

A car picked us up from the airport with no issues upon arrival to Samui.

Upon arrival we were greeted with a smile and were welcome to use the facilities until our room was ready as we were early, then we had our bags carried to our room for us.

The room had everything we needed. the air con was a little old but worked well.

The restaurant was great and reasonably priced. Breakfast was the usual affair although the thai option was excellent. The service was great and the girls always had a smile for us and were quite genuine. I'm not sure but this place seems to be a family run business and had a great level of service. Whenever we wanted something there was someone there to look after us.

Location wise it is pretty much at the far south end of Chaweng beach but I found this to be a bonus for a couple of reasons. The beach is clean and great for swimming here and it's quieter. The main centre was only a short cheap taxi ride of 20 min walk.

Overall I would rate this hotel as one of the best I've stayed in Chaweng and I'm a regular visitor. The hotel is reasonably priced and retains a personal feel. Thanks San Souci for a great stay!

Room Tip: There are some great rooms facing the beach which look awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seann_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
Samui Paradise Chaweng Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#33 of 104 in Chaweng
627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Resort
Chaweng Resort
#65 of 104 in Chaweng
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
#38 of 104 in Chaweng
724 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
0.9 mi away
Chaba Samui Resort
Chaba Samui Resort
#30 of 104 in Chaweng
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sans Souci Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sans Souci Samui

Address: 4/4 Moo 3 T. Bophut | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#20 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £41 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sans Souci Samui 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sans Souci Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sans Souci Samui Hotel Chaweng
Sans Souci Samui Koh
Sans Souci Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing