We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average hotel on a great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Al's Resort
Ranked #73 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“average hotel on a great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

The hotel was overall average. The rooms were average, the bathroom was not so good. However the check in check out was quick, and the staff at reception was very supportive at organizing trips and renting motor bike. The best part is the location you get at a very affordable price. the hotel's beach is on one of the better and quieter spots on chaweng beach. the roadside is filled with great restaurants. restaurants/supermarket/travel operators/ rentals all close by

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hamzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORA l, Front Office Manager at Al's Resort, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you for this observation wherein as of now there were some improvement that was done since your last visit with us last April 2013.

We want to welcome you again to spend your quality time with us on your next holiday trip.

With our best regards,

In behalf of Als Group Management team

Nora Lim
Front Office Manager
Als Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    157
    86
    44
    62
See reviews for
44
142
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

The hotel has seen its better days, need some color, new chairs and the finnish is missing.The room we had was big, bad bed and too hard and big pillows. Too few chairs by the pool and beach for all the hotel guests.
Do you want to be in the center of everything it is good. Breakfast buffe, ok. Staff was friendly, except for the reception. The best thing was the bikram center next door, wonderful place and instructor.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zipema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORA l, Front Office Manager at Al's Resort, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
We appreciate it very much for this feedback especially the observation of a friendly hotel staff with the exception of the reception. We make a caution already to all our reception staff to project a consistent assistance friendly attitude to all our visiting guest.

We welcome you again to visit our place in which we want to overcome and show the improvement we had in terms of customer service.

Thank you for imparting your holiday an sharing your good observation.

In behalf of Als group Management,

Nora Lim
Front Office Manager
Als Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Very clean. Sparkling pools. Very friendly staff. Incredible value for money. Rooms and facilities are basic but sparkling clean. At the price, highly recommended. Don't expect 5 star facilities at 2 star prices though. But you can expect 5 star service from the 5 star staff!! And the location is fantastic.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Melbshuffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORA l, Front Office Manager at Al's Resort, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
We felt very grateful with this uplifting observation during your visit to our property. Our commitment for the best service that we could is always our goal to all our guest.

We hope that you can come across again to our property on your next holiday trip and trust that we will serve to the fullest that we can do.

We welcome you with friend for your next visit again in the near future.

Thank you.

In behalf of the Management of Als Group,

Nora Lim
Front office Manager
Als Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
111 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

This hotel has really the perfect location on Chaweng. Just away from the noisy nightclubs, but still 2 minutes to walk to them. On the beach with a swimming just behind the beach. The price was very nice, and the room we had was big. With seaview. Nice to wake up to in the morning. But it was only two old chairs on the balcony. They could done better with a nice balcony like that.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poppa80Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORA l, Front Office Manager at Al's Resort, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
We are very much delighted and felt overwhelmed for sharing your good experience spending your holiday with us.

We welcome you and your friends for your next holiday time serving you the best that we could,

Thank you .

In behalf of the Management of Als Group

With my best regards,

Nora Lim
Front office Manager
Als Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend were backpacking but wanted to stay somewhere decent for a few days. The front of the Resort is located in a car park with a mini mart. First impressions not great but once you get inside it's very nice. Reception staff were friendly and welcoming! They let us view the room before we decided and also the young guy carried our bags which I thought was really nice as most places don't do this for you! Although it was pricey for us we paid 1500TB a night, we had a great stay, the room was very clean bed sheets spotless, comfy bed and pillows, air con, clean bathroom and towels, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and razors supplied! The only thing was the shower soaked the floor and toilet but that didn't bother us it dried out quick. Also mini bar and two fresh bottles of water supplied everyday! Our room was cleaned everyday with fresh towels and top ups on the shower gels. There was a tv that worked with a few English speaking channels. We were here in oct low season but we felt as if we had the place to ourselves the infinity pool was beautiful and clean looks out onto the beach which was literally at our door step! Al's resort have deck chairs on the beach for guests only and supply you with a towel. it's a very nice beach. We only had 1 complaint which was the staff would enter half doors a bit like barn doors beside our room to get into the staff area and they would bang a lot which was very annoying at 7:30 onwards in the morning our neighbour did complain and they temporarily tied them back but after a while it went back to the banging but that is our only negative thing. Only mentioning this as I hope management in the future would try to prevent this from disturbing other guests in room 112. I would recommend anyone to stay as we really enjoyed our stay, and would gladly come back again :)

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORA l, Front Office Manager at Al's Resort, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
We are very much overwhelmed with your comment and observation.

We hope that we can be more of service on your next holiday trip.

For the feedback that you had for the loosen mid door of H/K staff, we already had this addressed and we thank you for this information as our H/K projects much more careful actions for the said matter.

Thank you and see you on your next vacation.

In behalf of Als Group Management team and staff,

Nora Lim
Group Front Office Manager
Al's Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Quating the Front desk manager In Als Resort after I complined ,"If you want to buy a toyota and Not MB thats what you get " . So I got from them a room and Horel that looks like very old Toyota tha noting work .
Dont go there all is bad : From broken part in the toilet , room , Dirty pool that you cant go in
And the rooms are not as sown in the web site .

Room Tip: There are many hotels in this bodjet Fine those with good rate in the web
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YORAMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORA l, Front Office Manager at Al's Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
We treasure this quotation as this will gave way for us to gauge an appropriate remedy and solution for your observation. We just want to convey also that during your stay with us, our Desk Manager ( RM) had made a conversation offering a new room of same category finding out that you feel uncomfortable with the present room you were staying.

The comment that had transpired for a comparison was just a quote that next high category room you prefer will incur an added cost .

As a measure in appreciation of your comment, a deep cleaning procedure is now on going as if we will be given a chance we want to carry out and cope up for the said observation by welcoming you on your next holiday trip.

Thank you and we hope that we can serve you in the future for a betterment.

In behalf of Al's Group Management,

Nora Lim
Group Front office Manager
10-09-13
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chaweng hotels

Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We didn't book a room at this hotel but I write this review for one thing : their staff.
We just wanted to go on the beach.
The man at the entrance of the hotel refused.
We said to him that we had 2 kids and a baby but he refused again and told us to move.
For a country that is supposed to be kids friendly, it is absolutely scandalous.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORA l, Front Office Manager at Al's Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
We thank you for this comment . This measure was a part of our hotel policy that a privacy will be caution to hotel guest only as we are restricting our passage thru the beach area from non hotel guest.

We extend our apology if the delivery of our Security officer was not appropriate by the time that he want to decline your request in response to his tour of duty.

We hope that we will have a chance that we can be of service to you in the future .

Thank you.

In behalf of of the Management of Al's Group


Nora Lim
Group Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#78 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaba Samui Resort
Chaba Samui Resort
#38 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#48 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#31 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al's Resort

Property: Al's Resort
Address: 200 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Al's Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Al's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al`s Hotel Koh Samui
Als Hotel Koh Samui
Als Resort Koh Samui
Al's Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing