We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place! ”
Review of Al's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al's Resort
Ranked #76 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place! ”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Staff pleasant, nice clean rooms my only complaint would have been the water flow in the shower was very little, and there was a very strong smell of drains in the bathroom, apart from that though overall a nice place. Really close to the beach, nice pool, and breakfast with a beautiful view.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travel_lover0101876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORA l, Front Office Manager at Al's Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We are overlwhelmed for sharing your wonderful experience spending your holiday to our property.

The water system as you have observed is now a focus of our maintenance team as we are sorting someway the consistency of water pressure and improving the drainage system.

We hope that you can vist us again on your next holiday trip.

In Behalf of the Management of Als Group,

Nora Lim
Front office Manager
Al's Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    157
    88
    44
    66
See reviews for
45
143
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 6 nights, we had a delux room with a pool outside and it was perfect. The main pool on the beach was just as lovely! The staff were brillant and very helpful. The room was cleaned every day. Its right on the beach and in the middle of everything. We loved it here and are coming back for the night after koh tao before we fly home. The food was ok but we only had snacks so couldnt tell you much. The prices are fine. The room had mini bar that was restocked all the time :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily-s-1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORA l, Front Office Manager at Al's Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We thank you for sharing your wonderful experience during your stay with us.

This is a good guide to us which we could enhance more our service to surpass the good service we are extending to all our staying guest.

We hope that you can visit us again on your next holiday trip.

Thank you.

In behalf of Management of Al's Group

Nora Lim
Front Office Manager
Al's Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel was so far below what we expected, we checked out after viewing the room and pool area. The rooms and resort are run down, the staff are unfriendly, I would be concerned about the food given cleanliness and hygiene and the amazing photos of the pool shown on website is unclean and has dead insects floating- I didn't even dip my toe in.

What was amazing was that when I told them I was checking out an hour after we checked in - they didn't even ask why, just said we don't do refunds, clearly we were not the first.

Room Tip: Don't get sucked in by the cheap rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORA l, Front Office Manager at Al's Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We thank you for this shared comment. Responding to your observation here at Al's resort, we were uncaught unaware for the said comment .

Maybe it will be helpful to us if you can send us more details of your accommodation as we have no record on hand for the quoted comment as you mention or a record of your stay with our property ,Al's Resort.

We hope that if ever this observation transpired to us, we are always on hand to asked the concerned of our staying guest for any reason if they find their expectation was not the one they are looking for.

Thank you.

In Behalf of Management of Al's Group,

Nora Lim
Front Office Manager
Al's Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chaweng hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We just stayed at ALS resort for 6 days in May and didn't no what to expect because our other hotels at other locations had been amazing.
We walked from
Reception to our courtyard deluxe room. I think we might of stepped inside the room for about 20 seconds before going back and asking for a refund or a upgraded room because they where disgusting and dull. This place is run down and old! The lady at reception wanted us to pay for the upgrade until I cracked it and she finally said they would give us a courtyard suit instead and that was a good room besides the shower didn't work and we had people fixing our room all the time. but you have to climb 3 flights of stairs. I had friends in a villa deluxe but they had to complain and get moved because of construction outside there room.
All over the experience by staff was friendly and welcoming but the rooms let it down. Location is good! Easy walk to clubs and beach and everything. Breakfast is terrible, we ended up just buying coco pops or just going somewhere else for breakfast. If I had known this before hand I wouldn't of gone to this place because you can get a lot better for the price.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORA l, Front Office Manager at Al's Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We thank you for this observation and we again extend our apology for the repairs we are undergoing if somewhat make you feel inconvenient leading to upgrading you to other room.

Although we post notice for our ongoing repair as there is a need for the regular maintenance of our rooms as some are observed to be run down, we do hope that understanding and patience can be lend by our staying guest. on the said time.

We will also take note your observation about our food during breakfast for its further improvement.

We hope that you can come across again on our property for the improvement that we are making with the amenities and rooms itself.

In behalf of the Management of Al's Group,

Nora Lim
Group Front office Manager
Al's Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The resort is neat the airport and djacent to the beach. The price per room, however, is a not cheap compared to BKK's 3 star hotels or B&B but is average compared to similar one's in the island. The rooms we stayed in were clean and cozy. I love that the staff were friendly too.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Zestee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORA l, Front Office Manager at Al's Resort, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you very much for this compliment.

Your comment will be a big help and guide to exert more our effort in fulfilling our responsibility in terms of a good customer service .

We welcome you again on your next holiday trip in the near future.

In behalf of Al's Group Management Team,

Nora Lim
Group Front office Manager
Al's Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulau Pinang, Pahang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Firstly, i would like to talk about the receptionist. The one upon our check in is quite polite, but during the day of our check out, we went back late 1hrs back to the hotel after check out time and one of receptionist (lady) shouted at us.The other staff were very friendly and helpful.

We've booked 2 courtyard studio rooms and we request a change to the courtyard deluxe rooms and we're approved by the receptionist. We thanked her a lot or else we might end up climbing up and down the stairs all day.

The rooms were quite spacious clean but it looks a bit ran down and need some refurbish.

I've been staying here several times although having some small problem but definitely i will be staying back in this hotel. Overall it is still good but hope to see some improvement by the next stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasonchen_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORA l, Front Office Manager at Al's Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you very much for this feedback. We do extend our apology for the attitude of the reception that handles your check-out.

We are glad as well that the said experience did not hamper any second thought of visiting our property again. We assure that our service in all the outlet of the hotel has done improvement and have grown in terms of customer service aspect.

See you again.

In behalf of Management of Als Group,

Nora Lim
Group Front Office Manager
Al's Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Ya,we came here by a van from Jetty, driver is friendly,he is arranged by the Al's Resort. We feel lucky it is very near to main attractions such as restaurants, bars, night markets. In addition, the price is consider low compared with others nearby resorts. The room we stayed that can walk within one minutes reach Chaweng Beach. The room overall very satisfied, it has heater ( which is important for me ). Just in front of Al's Resort has a supermarket that is very convenient to us to buy local beer, yeah =) . For people who need wifi so much, you just can connect WIFI in the lobby or else just purchase the internet cards with receptionist. Can you imagine the price you paid is kinda cheap and you can get standard morning buffet breakfast with beach and sun view =) For me is really nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eavanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORA l, Front Office Manager at Al's Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your great experience during your holiday.

We hope that you can drop by again as some improvement were done in our property to be more of service to all our returning and arriving guest.

Our property as you have mention has indeed an advantage to nearby establishments convenient as walking distance because of the proximity on the central part of Chaweng Beach commercial area.

Hope to see you again on your next holiday trip.

In behalf of Als Group Management team,

Nora Lim
Group Front Office Manager
Al's Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#72 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaba Samui Resort
Chaba Samui Resort
#29 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#31 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.2 mi away
P&P Samui Resort
P&P Samui Resort
#85 of 104 in Chaweng
3.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al's Resort

Property: Al's Resort
Address: 200 Moo 2 | BOPHUT, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Al's Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al`s Hotel Koh Samui
Als Hotel Koh Samui
Als Resort Koh Samui
Al's Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing