We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!!!!”
Review of Al's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Al's Resort
Ranked #81 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Beijing
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love this place!!!!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

This is our fifth stay at Al's resort. The location is perfect. The new rooms are very nice and clean, can tell about the older ones. Breakfast is OK. Although not versatile, its sufficiany. Pools are nice, clean, and maintained. Staff was very friendly. True, the place is not new nor lux but it is very comfertable, especially for families. We will come again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruge88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORA l, Front Office Manager at Al's Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We are overwhelmed with this review observation of our property.

We want to extend our warmest appreciation for spending your holiday with us.

We hope that you can come across again on your next holiday trip.
We also value your observation for some maintenance in room facilities that we have now a regular rounds to ensure for its smooth usage.

In behalf of the Management of Als Group

Nora Lim
Front Office Manager
Al's Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    157
    89
    44
    67
See reviews for
45
145
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights but I wish it had been more.

Our room was a deluxe pool so there was quite literally a pool 3m from our front door.

The room was beautiful. Clean and modern. The sink sprung a leak on our last night but it was fixed within 10 minutes. There seemed to be a door connecting our room to the next which explains why voices could be heard quite clearly from next door. We bought earplugs immediately as there was a family staying next door but we never needed them. Maybe they stayed out later than us!

The other main pool is stunning too. Right on the beach.

Our breakfast wasn't included so can't comment on the restaurant at all but it also is right on the beach.

Location is fantastic. Right in the thick of it. Ark Bar and all the beach parties just a few doors down, the main shopping drag just behind the resort.

Would love to stay again some time.

P.S. If you get approached on the street by anyone representing Absolute or any other holiday time share business JUST SAY NO and walk away. Google 'Absolute holiday scam' before you waste 3 hours (or worse) of your holiday with them.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandapstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORA l, Front Office Manager at Al's Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful holiday with us.

We hope and we want to welcome you again on your next vacation trip.

Thank you.

In Behalf of the Management of Al's Group

Nora Lim
Front Office Manager
Al's Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Mea mad. Friend stayed here for 3 nights, we stayed in a deluxe room, the location was perfect, a 2 minute walk away from the main street on koh samui, full of restaurants, bars, shops and markets. The staff were helpful and friendly, our room was clean and spacious. Right on the beach, there is a bar which music is relatively loud, however, being graduates, it wasn't a problem. The main club in koh samui, Ark bar, can't be heard from this hotel.
Overall a great experience in this hotel, although we thought that breakfast was slightly overpriced, so we had it on the main street away from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hollie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORA l, Front Office Manager at Al's Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We want to extend our great appreciation for sharing your wonderful experience during your stay with us.

We value your comment for the clean up of our rooms and we are looking into further and making a review about the cost price of our F & B food which we will see that it will be relatively with a fair price for the food cost affordable to all our visitng and staying guest.

We hope that you can visit us again on our your next holiday trip.

In behalf of the Management of Al's Group,

Nora Lim
Front Office Manager
Al's Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Staff pleasant, nice clean rooms my only complaint would have been the water flow in the shower was very little, and there was a very strong smell of drains in the bathroom, apart from that though overall a nice place. Really close to the beach, nice pool, and breakfast with a beautiful view.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travel_lover0101876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORA l, Front Office Manager at Al's Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We are overlwhelmed for sharing your wonderful experience spending your holiday to our property.

The water system as you have observed is now a focus of our maintenance team as we are sorting someway the consistency of water pressure and improving the drainage system.

We hope that you can vist us again on your next holiday trip.

In Behalf of the Management of Als Group,

Nora Lim
Front office Manager
Al's Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 6 nights, we had a delux room with a pool outside and it was perfect. The main pool on the beach was just as lovely! The staff were brillant and very helpful. The room was cleaned every day. Its right on the beach and in the middle of everything. We loved it here and are coming back for the night after koh tao before we fly home. The food was ok but we only had snacks so couldnt tell you much. The prices are fine. The room had mini bar that was restocked all the time :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily-s-1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORA l, Front Office Manager at Al's Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We thank you for sharing your wonderful experience during your stay with us.

This is a good guide to us which we could enhance more our service to surpass the good service we are extending to all our staying guest.

We hope that you can visit us again on your next holiday trip.

Thank you.

In behalf of Management of Al's Group

Nora Lim
Front Office Manager
Al's Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel was so far below what we expected, we checked out after viewing the room and pool area. The rooms and resort are run down, the staff are unfriendly, I would be concerned about the food given cleanliness and hygiene and the amazing photos of the pool shown on website is unclean and has dead insects floating- I didn't even dip my toe in.

What was amazing was that when I told them I was checking out an hour after we checked in - they didn't even ask why, just said we don't do refunds, clearly we were not the first.

Room Tip: Don't get sucked in by the cheap rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORA l, Front Office Manager at Al's Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We thank you for this shared comment. Responding to your observation here at Al's resort, we were uncaught unaware for the said comment .

Maybe it will be helpful to us if you can send us more details of your accommodation as we have no record on hand for the quoted comment as you mention or a record of your stay with our property ,Al's Resort.

We hope that if ever this observation transpired to us, we are always on hand to asked the concerned of our staying guest for any reason if they find their expectation was not the one they are looking for.

Thank you.

In Behalf of Management of Al's Group,

Nora Lim
Front Office Manager
Al's Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chaweng hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We just stayed at ALS resort for 6 days in May and didn't no what to expect because our other hotels at other locations had been amazing.
We walked from
Reception to our courtyard deluxe room. I think we might of stepped inside the room for about 20 seconds before going back and asking for a refund or a upgraded room because they where disgusting and dull. This place is run down and old! The lady at reception wanted us to pay for the upgrade until I cracked it and she finally said they would give us a courtyard suit instead and that was a good room besides the shower didn't work and we had people fixing our room all the time. but you have to climb 3 flights of stairs. I had friends in a villa deluxe but they had to complain and get moved because of construction outside there room.
All over the experience by staff was friendly and welcoming but the rooms let it down. Location is good! Easy walk to clubs and beach and everything. Breakfast is terrible, we ended up just buying coco pops or just going somewhere else for breakfast. If I had known this before hand I wouldn't of gone to this place because you can get a lot better for the price.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORA l, Front Office Manager at Al's Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We thank you for this observation and we again extend our apology for the repairs we are undergoing if somewhat make you feel inconvenient leading to upgrading you to other room.

Although we post notice for our ongoing repair as there is a need for the regular maintenance of our rooms as some are observed to be run down, we do hope that understanding and patience can be lend by our staying guest. on the said time.

We will also take note your observation about our food during breakfast for its further improvement.

We hope that you can come across again on our property for the improvement that we are making with the amenities and rooms itself.

In behalf of the Management of Al's Group,

Nora Lim
Group Front office Manager
Al's Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.3 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#74 of 187 in Bophut
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Chaba Samui Resort
Chaba Samui Resort
#33 of 104 in Chaweng
567 reviews
0.2 mi away
P&P Samui Resort
P&P Samui Resort
#77 of 104 in Chaweng
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al's Resort

Property: Al's Resort
Address: 200 Moo 2 | BOPHUT, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Al's Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Al's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al`s Hotel Koh Samui
Als Hotel Koh Samui
Als Resort Koh Samui
Al's Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing