We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Backpacker Social Experience
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Only stayed one night, but it was nice! Great location, close to local food, market, the beach and of course... 7-11! Staff is friendly and helpful, would stay longer if I wasn't heading to full moon! But I learned you can actually stay here and they arrange a boat to and from full moon on Koh Phangan if you wanted!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdsw88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SixQueue, Owner at Backpacker Social Experience, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks for staying with us, it was a nice coincidence that you turned up, but a shame there was only that one night. Please do come back and stay again! Look for the post on our Facebook page with meeting points for the Full Moon Party and hopefully we'll see you tonight! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    10
    5
    3
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
5
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This isn't a five-star property. It attracts a younger crowd who is looking to party on a backpacker's budget. However, the service is second to none and this property represents some of the best value for money on Koh Samui.

I stayed in a 4-bunk room. Most rooms are air conditioned, and this includes the room where I stayed. The room was clean and comfortable and the bunk was new, along with the mattress.

Free coffee and tea are offered. The hostel organizes activities daily (night market, walking street, Greek food, clubs, etc.) and has a large common area where most of the people who stay gather throughout the day and in the evenings. The beach is only about a 10 minute walk away, and this is the same beach enjoyed by resort hotel guests paying $150 per night.

The owner is friendly and garrulous, and the staff went out of their way to make me feel welcome. This place is a gem and I would go out of my way to stay here again.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms have air conditioning, so if this is important to you be sure to reserve. If you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dialtone69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SixQueue, Owner at Backpacker Social Experience, responded to this review, 18 October 2014
Thanks for your glowing review, glad you enjoyed your stay! I wanted to respond to your Room Tip though.

First, since your stay at Backpacker Hostel, we have grown and remodeled. We are about twice the size of when you were here, and now ALL our rooms have aircon, so no need to worry about being in a fan-only room!

Second, you are right - we often sell out, and since we have to honor online bookings, guests that don't extend in advance do sometimes unfortunately have to be moved out for incoming guests. We hate when that happens, so we do beg our guests in busy times especially to please let us know right away, so we can block off their bed online and allow them to stay as long as they'd like!

And finally, not to nitpick, but we think maybe you were strolling a bit TOO leisurely: Backpacker Hostel is only about a FIVE minute walk to the beach, if you don't stop for tempting street food along the way! :)

Thanks again for your stay and your review! We really appreciate it! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

If you Are looking for What a real hostel are supose to be like, you found the right place to stay. It is the most cosy place we have ever stayed at! So social, everbody are together, eating together. The owner and the workers are so awesome, if you wan't a party, they will show you How to make a party, they are Helpfull and so funny! We deffentlig recoment it to everbody.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

awesome hostel and iv stayed in a few, great owners and hosts there hospitality was amazing. anything we needed or questions we had were answered. great company and awesome atmosphere 24/7, so close to town and the beach, and so cheap I could live here forever

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

After spending more time than we'd scheduled for recovering from the half moon party we were left with only one night in Koh Samui, before catching the 6am ferry further south.

There was a slight mix up with the hostels, taxi drivers tend to be a bit dodgy and we were dropped at the other backpackers hostel that is pretty far out from the beach etc. After the initial confusion we were where we wanted to be (the hostel is in a great location to the beach, markets, nightlife, stadium etc) and all checked in.

With only having a short amount of time to explore Koh Samui (regrettably) we were given a ton of helpful information at reception by the owners and set off to soak in the island. If I could change anything about my time in Thailand it would be going back and spending more time here. Anyway, as we were travelling as two- we'd assumed that we wouldn't really get the chance to meet people so we figured a 6am ferry would be fine. We'd get an early night.

We were so wrong. The hostel is pretty great at bringing everybody together and nobody has to eat alone if they don't want too. After meeting for dinner at 7ish, the night escalated very quickly (I'm blaming Loren, the owner, for all his insider knowledge on cheap drinks!) and we crawled back about 4am. Still, the two hours we actually had in the room were comfortable, clean and because the owners are travellers themselves - they know exactly what other backpackers will want.

For how little time we spent there, I have the most (lovely) things to say about the hostel and the people we met. I think that speaks volumes in itself!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lryder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#4 of 46 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cheeky Monkey's
Cheeky Monkey's
#5 of 73 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Samui Green Hotel
Samui Green Hotel
#2 of 73 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.3 mi away
Backpacker Samui Hostel
Backpacker Samui Hostel
#12 of 73 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baan Samui Resort
Baan Samui Resort
#6 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpacker Social Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker Social Experience

Property: Backpacker Social Experience
Address: 81/70 Moo 3 | Tambon Bophut, Koh Samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Backpacker Hostel)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 73 Speciality Lodging in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpacker Social Experience 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous for being the MOST SOCIAL hostel in Samui, with nightly outings for dinner, drinks and partying, Backpacker Social Experience's guests receive discounts all over town on food, drink, attractions, motorbikes, tattoos, Muy Thai, tailors, transportation, Full Moon Party, and more! Backpacker Social Experience is a 5-minute walk from Chaweng Beach & the main Beach Road. Closest hostel to Muy Thai stadium, Chaweng Walking Street, and more, within 15 min walking to 2 different party areas, 10 minute drive to the airport. Offering air-conditioned mixed dorm rooms (shared bathroom), and budget private rooms, most with balconies. Free Wi-Fi throughout, friendly lobby for socializing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Backpacker Social Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpacker Social Experience Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing