We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in a decent location”
Review of The Laem Din Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Laem Din Hotel
Ranked #95 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Bangkok
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great value in a decent location”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights and it was the first time I stayed away from the beach when on Samui. For us this was a great decision as you for the same money get a really small old room on the beach but here we had a spacious room with balcony. The bathroom was in need of some refreshing - but again looking at the price we paid I wouldn't expect even what we got. There's a couple of small places to eat in the neighborhood and a few convenience stores. There's also a row of bars with pool tables a couple of 100 meters away. This is a great place to stay if you rent a motorcycle and want to drive around the island daytime and then enjoy the nightlife in Chaweng nighttime. If you are really in for a beach holiday I would stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: The rooms towards the back are much more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matjesill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    21
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
1
22
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I found this to be a great hotel, which was recommended by a friend. it's very clean as you walk in and I was able to negotiate a great price for a one night stay. For me personally to location is perfect, it is not bang on the strip where all the bars are located, as the problem I found with any hotels on the strip was that they are squeezed in on top of each other, almost in a claustrophobic fasion. it's a 5 minute walk to the main touristy strip "dream girls", etc and a two minute walk to the strip which had the more quiet girlie bars. the only downside was that my room had no safety deposit box, I did not ask at reception so maybe other rooms had them. I have stayed in a few hotels in Koh Samui and this was definitely my favourite one for a shot stay.

Room Tip: ask for a safety deposit box at reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benaichar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights in December for Christmas. I personally really like the location, 3 minutes walk to the Chaweng Beach Road where the shops, bars, and restaurants are, 5 minutes walk to the beach, 2 minutes walk to the 7/11 or Tesco Lotus. So it is in the great location yet it is not too noisy. There is a new basketball, soccer, volleyball court just across the hotel. I played some pick-up basketball games with the locals there, they were good! It is located by the Chaweng lake also! So you got lake, courts, beach, shops, yet you still get your peaceful space.

The room is spacious and clean, we got a nice balcony where you can see the sunrise in the morning. Nice rooftop infinity pool at the FX hotel next door that you can use, the view was great from there-the mountains and the lake. The staff were really nice and friendly. Those ladies that clean the room everyday were really nice. They have a mini gym that you can use for free downstairs, not too big, but it is good enough for doing some weights and stuff.

Overall it is really great value for money! you get almost a little bit more than you pay.

Room Tip: You'll get the sunrise comes into your room in the morning if you choose the one that faces the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helohans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed here 3 nights. Very nice and spacious room, clean, good service and nice manager. 10 minutes walk from the beach, not closest hotel but reasonably located good.

Only con. Was the price of laundry service - 100 THB per kg. You can find much cheaper places around.

Overall recommended!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oded1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Spent a couple of nights here in early October. The hotel is located a few blocks from the beach and on the street that leads to the Reggae Bar.
The FX Hotel is next door and had a pool that Laem Din guests are allowed to use.
The rooms were large, cleaned daily and have a small TV with cable channels in foreign languages.
Rooms facing away from the street offer only a view of the back lane way.
This is a budget hotel but very good value for money.

Room Tip: A room facing the street will offer a slightly better view, if you're not a light sleeper and do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed in mid September which turned out to be the start of the quiet season. Checked in with no problems. Room for the price is large with a kingsize bed, fridge and tv. The cleaners were superb and cleaned the room every day, changing sheets and towels in the process which was brilliant. Reception were always friendly and helpful when needed. This hotel is just far enough from the beach to be quiet at night and just close enough for a quick stroll for a swim. I loved the fact that I got a couple hundred metres to walk off a lovely dinner on the beach!. There are a lot of little shops and bars that are much of the same and the people are the same everywhere you go in chewang - always trying to get you in their bar/restaurant or sell you something. Its strange at first but you just get used to it and find more interesting ways of saying no thank you as the holiday goes on. They are not pushy and will usually leave you after the first 'no'. We wanted a base and somewhere to store our belongings whilst we went out and explored Koh Samui and this is exactly what we got. I have stayed in 5 star hotels and the service we received here beats it hands down. If you want a beach front apartment then I would suggest you pay for such a holiday. If you want a nice room that allows you to sleep at night and more money to spend on going to the amazing places this island has to offer like Angthong, the safari parks and the beaches then I would highly recommend the Laem Din. The price was great, the staff were great and the room was great.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank LJGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We came to Koh Samui late that night and the old man behind the desk needed help to translate from the FX hotel ( who i think are partners with Laem Din) because the woman behind was wearing a FX shirt. A very good budget hotel with CLEAN rooms, good location and very helpfull personell. We was a group of 5 people and no one had a bad experience. I want to salut the cleaing lady for making our room spotless.

I also must mention the funny old man who are sitting behind the desk on nights, he is VERY helpfull and funny when he explain thing and try to understand. I had many laughts and i will remember this hotel because of him.

I recommend this hotel if you are on a bugdet and a couple. Near to the main shopping street and marked. Just a 5 min walk to the beach. Every taxi driver did also know where Laem din was, thats a plus for me. And no noice, i sleept GOOD

Room Tip: All rooms are like. Pick the one at the back, no noice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronny_angel_lovstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.0 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
0.0 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
#16 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laem Din Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laem Din Hotel

Property: The Laem Din Hotel
Address: 3/57 Moo 2 - Soi Poonsawas | Laem Din, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Laem Din Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laem Din Hotel features 18 twin and 18 double bed Rooms, all rooms are equipped with Multi Channel Cable TV, a fridge (minibar), hot water pot, complementary bottle of drinking water, tea or coffee, hot and cold shower, remote controlled A/C and free 24 Hrs. high-speed 2 Mbps Wi-Fi Access at any point in the Hotel. Each room features a small terrace/balcony. There is a lift from the lobby to 2nd and 3rd floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Laem Din Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laem Din Hotel
The Laem Din Hotel Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing