We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful service and expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dara Samui Beach Resort
Ranked #23 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Very disappointed. Had to carry luggage by my self up the stairs to open air reception without air conditioning. Their superior rooms are standard rooms. They sold us a family room but only had 3 beds. When complined was told to takt it or leave it. They wanted extra money for change of room. They charged extra for my 10 years old breakfast even though it was supposed to be included. We couldn't do anything as we were stuck there. At breakfast the service was awful. Spoke to number of other people staying there who had similar experience. One family from Isreal had a 2 year son and they had to pay extra for his breakfast. Hotel didn't even let them checkout later or even let them use facility to stay till their flight time.

On the positive, the location of His in a very popular area. Many resturants and barsotel near by. No need to hire car as everything within walking distance. We hired Moped to get around. Hotel is expensive for food and drinks. Customre service was non existant. Beach is nice but sea wather was too shallow as it is closed off to main sea.

Hotel decor was nice and bathrooms in the room is speacous. I really would not recommedn this hotel for cost and service but location is nice.

Room Tip: They do not have family rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hari043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

506 - 512 of 851 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2011

we really enjoyed our stay, the room was very big, with everything we needed and more.
the hotel is on the beach and has a great pool and resturant.
the hotel is in the middle of everything close to all bars and clubs and the shops, but still quiet at night.
the staff was great the breakfast was very good.
i really really recommend, we will be back for sure !

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank litalcrespin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

This is not a 4 star Hotel!!! Not even 3 star!!! Don't go. I asked them to pay the first night and give me back the other 2 nights and they denied! This Hotel is very dirty, you can see it at the photos that i have uploaded. The breakfast is horrible! not even fresh orange juice. There are very good hotels at Chaweng, this is not even acceptable.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anacondas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Wonderful location, nice boutique resort, the beach is also very nice, white sand and clear blue sea. You can walk right from the hotel to the beach. Staff is not really nice and dont take room 511 ;) sometimes there is a electric/power failure on the island. The power unit is under this room what gives a lot of diesel smell and noise. I complained but the staff was not very helpful. I asked for another room because the smell was terrible and i could not stay in the room. It was like sitting behind the exhaust of a truck. If there is no electric for a few hours i dont mind, that can happen. Then the staff came with a spray of parfum for the room pffff so disapointing. I had expected more help and understanding from the so called manager. I paid a lot of money for the room.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SammyJordaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

LOCATION/SERVICE - OK

Location is really good - right on the beach and walking distance from Chaweng shops/restoraunts, but far enough to escape from the noise.
Clean rooms, 4* service, nothing wrong with service. I can't say everybody was smiling and was all around you, but you garanteed to get your drinks on time, and room service.

Again about BREAKFAST/FURNITURE - not OK

But they obviously need to make changes in aspects that most off people are complaining about in there reviews: breakfasts and old furniture. Look at pics I publish.

SPA - just dont waste your time and money there.

Does manager know what's happening in there spa???
I'm not sure how spa is being controlled and by whom, but smth not very good is happening there :-(

The first thing - there's a guy, dressed like a girl working there. Or after sex change operation. I don't care about Thai's 3d sex as long as they dont touch me. But unfortunately that was the only person available for me both 2 days for procedures. Ruined my manicure 3 times, bad massage.
Not a pleasant experience.

The main thing - service is terrible.
-there's no relaxing atmospere: they chat to each other constantly, even when one of them is with a client, doing pedicure for example....(my experience - one girl is doing pedicure, another sits next to her and talk and laugh)
-they turn people dawn everyday!!! They tell people "we r fully booked" all the time and than sit for 2 hours doing nothing (!!!) drinking tea. I saw that with my own eyes. They dont want to work and some how get away with it.
-they speak no English or just r pretend not to. I ordered "tai chi massage" and got a traditional thai massage instead of it.

My advice - go to fantastic SPA next door on a right (honestly - the best SPA I've been in Thailand - Rai ra).

CONSTRUCTION WORK - not OK

Under our windows, everyday, loud... and a paint smell. It didnt really bother us as we wake up early and go to the beach anyway. But if u like to sleep late think about it....


We enjoyed staying in a hotel, but I wouldnt recommened anyone to stay there before Dara fixes spa, furniture, breakfasts and till the end of construction works.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anyaflexible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

The Dara Samui is a great mix of comfort and value for money.

My friend and I wanted somewhere on the beach, at the luxury end without being outrageous and close enough to the bars and restaurants that we didn't need to organise transport. The Dara Samui ticked all these boxes.

Breakfast is served over looking the pool and the beach - an excellent way to start the day. The hotel is also more than happy to organise any day trips to other Islands or to Ang Thong on your behalf. We wanted to rent a car to tour the island - it was ready in 15 minutes.

If you want to spend time on the beach in Samui, you have to stay at a hotel that is beach front (as only guests can use the sun lounges, unlike in Phuket where anyone can rent one). The Dara Samui has an excellent pool/beach bar that caters to all your needs while spending a tough day doing nothing.

Overall, we both really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return for a second visit.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_Mon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

My first trip to Samui was beyond expectations and my stay at Dara Samui played a huge part in this. The hotel is stunning, the rooms and amenities are sparkling clean and comfortable, the breakfast, bar menu and dinner delicious, the level of service exceptional, the location is a very short (2min) walk to the best nightlife on Chaweng but far enough from the pumping music to sleep well - we could not have asked for anything more. One thing (and this is not to do with hotel) but the ocean directly in front is quite shallow - this was no problem & very relaxing to float about in it was simply just a feature of the location I was not expecting. Overall 20/10. See you in February Dara!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 103 in Chaweng
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
0.7 mi away
Casa De Mar
Casa De Mar
#10 of 103 in Chaweng
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#12 of 103 in Chaweng
2,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dara Samui Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dara Samui Beach Resort

Address: 162/2 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Dara Samui Beach Resort & Spa Villa)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £73 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dara Samui Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dara Samui Beach Resort, a Thai 4-star beachfront resort with the most authentic Thai architecture, strategically located along the most exciting beach on Samui - Chaweng Beach. It is a short walk to a variety of important "facilities" for every visitor - Thai spas/massage, money changers, banks, 24-hour convenience stores, beach bars, restaurants, street shopping, high end shopping and night life. We have 24-hour reception, 5 room categories, complimentary wifi access in all guestrooms - lobby - restaurant, breakfast restaurant (7am-10.30am),1 beachside restaurant (11am-10.30pm), room service (7am-10.30pm),1 freeform swimming pool (7am-7pm) with outdoor jacuzzi (10am-12pm and 2pm-5pm), poolbar (11am - 11pm), tour counter and airport transfer services. All rooms and suites have electronic key card access, rich wooden fixtures and fittings, individually controlled air-condition, private bathroom, in-room safe deposit box, satellite TV, DVD player, sofa or day bed, balcony and complimentary wifi. Due to the structure of the resort, we do NOT recommend guest with physical challenges as there are many stairs and steps - no guests elevators/lifts. Beginning 01 November 2017, the resort will be an All Adult resort with minimum age being 12 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dara Samui Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dara Samui Beach Resort & Spa Villa Hotel Chaweng
Dara Samui Beach Resort And Spa Villa
Dara Samui Beach Hotel
Dara Samui Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing