We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dara Samui Beach Resort
Ranked #25 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Almada, Lisboa, Portugal
1 review
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

The staff is amazing, very good food, very ggod breakfast and a excellent localization, nice pool and good cleanings all over the resort. The beach is a bit small but nice, shure i will come back to Dara Samui beach and resort.

Room Tip: Rooms from top are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    269
    81
    45
    38
See reviews for
126
312
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

rooms are perfect. staffs are excellent. but breakfast is just ok. location is good. very clean. close to the beach. computer is free. free wifi at the lobby and the restaurant.
First, I would note that the room was comfortable and that the Lanna styled buildout was interesting; although it is ironic to find it in the south...

highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

How one views this property will relate to their specific goals on their holiday/business trip, time in region, and expectations ; in other words inherently subjective.

First, I would note that the room was comfortable and that the Lanna styled buildout was interesting; although it is ironic to find it in the south. The design of the property is similar to many others on this beach, rectangular with the short side on the beach such that a small minority of the rooms could possibly visualize the water. Our room had no view of any sort worth mentioning. This is not the place you go for a beach view from your room.

Toward the beachside of the property; one has a pool and direct beach access. At night, one can relax on the beach, have a drink, and stare at the stars. The sky is much more clear than Bangkok. The pool itself is long and meandering.

It is difficult for me to provide a balanced position on Samui as the properties price themselves as though they are not in Thailand and as far as destinations go is primarily for the foreign tourists who are not aware of normal price points; whereas many other holiday destinations have their pricing kept in check by both Thais and expats.

Persons calibrated for Bangkok, Chonburi, Chiang Mai or other pricing will find some shock from the taxis trying for 400 THB + for a 5-10 minute airport ride as well as related shopping prices relative to normal street prices in Thailand.

The breakfast was included with the room and quite tasty relative to many other free breakfasts I can remember...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

what a pity, we had moved from Heaven ( Shasa resort) to the Hell (Dara Samui Beach Resort), within smiling face, within service, with lots of mosquito, extremely high rate of currency exchange and charged transportation to nearby airport(even more expensive than taxi!) The pool is like a fish pool, the dish inside rooms with stain & dirt, the towel hanger is broken......everything is terrible except the location! I hope it was my first time and will be my last time to stay in this hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wc02hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

good food, clean room and they very big ,amazing servis, comfterbul bed, the hotel in good location. we will back again.Everything is on your doorstep: shops, restaurants, markets and it is only a few minoute away from the airport. In particular the service here was second to none. Despite the very busy morning breakfast room the ataff waiting on were efficient and pleasant. There was the usual buffet which was good but could perhaps have benefitted from a more varied choice of wholemeal cereals and breads. In addition to the breakfast buffet, orders could be taken for a variety fantastic egg type breakfasts, porridge or pancakes. Whilst we didn't eat any other meals here given our proximity to so much else if the chef's work at breakfast was anything to go by.
I would rcommend this hotel for anyone who likes to be in the hub of things.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hodaya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkCity
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

The hotel was nice but the beach area sucked. Not to many beach chairs for such a big hotel. When we arrived end of August the beach water as very low you cannot swim in the beach. We eventually moved to another hotel at other end of beach after three nights. The rooms are big, clean and spacious. But their is no wireless wifi in rooms only plug in wifi which you can only use with laptops not ipads. No Spa on the property but you have plenty just walking distance. The breakfast was good. The waitress the first day didn't even say good morning she just asked what was our room number and that's it. If you are a light sleeper beware at night a lot of fire works go off untill 2 am which kept me and my boyfriend up. Would I return here? No much better hotels on Chaweng beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flygaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Before departure we had child prices continued to write non-stop asking DARA. DARA patient and friendly communication with us until we got a satisfactory answer. We had a very good impression of DARA.

We checked in early and the dara tried to meet our needs. Counter staff, swim pool staff and cleaning staff smiled and sayed hello when met us anytime. The pool is quite beautiful and soft white sandy beaches. The breakfast selection is also considerable diversity. Double room bed is a king size, the bathroom is a wet and dry separation and double wash basins, clean bottled water every day.

The location is very convenient. Outside the gate is the most lively street chaweng beach. Street no shortage of restaurants and shops. Hotel from the airport is also very close.

We strongly recommend to Samui accommodation in the DARA.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monicalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
0.9 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#51 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dara Samui Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dara Samui Beach Resort

Property: Dara Samui Beach Resort
Address: 162/2 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Dara Samui Beach Resort & Spa Villa)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dara Samui Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dara Samui has beachfront location centrally located on Chaweng beach and walking distance to shopping and night life areas. Hotel offers free high speed WIFI in all rooms. Rooms size start from 42-128 sqm or 455 sq ft - 1380 sq ft with full Air Conditioned rooms. The hotel is a 4-star Thai Lanna-style boutique resort with 4 rooms categories. Relaxing, sports activities or shopping, whatever is your pleasure all are within easy reach at Darasamui. You never run out of things to do, unless you wish to. 2 Restaurants, 1 Bar,Swimming Pool, Beach, Sun Deck, Concierge and many more facilities are awaiting you... Try once at our Best Romantic Beach restaurant "Dara Serene" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dara Samui Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dara Samui Beach Resort & Spa Villa Hotel Chaweng
Dara Samui Beach Resort And Spa Villa
Dara Samui Beach Hotel
Dara Samui Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing