We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (994)
Filter reviews
994 results
Traveller rating
469
316
103
56
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
469
316
103
56
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior roompool barvery nice hotelnight lifeour honeymoonthai stylehappy hourrestaurants and barsgreat poolwelcome drinkthe main streetark barbeachthailandkohsinkssunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
459 - 464 of 994 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Arrived at resort early and were greeted with cold towel and drink. Were able to use pool facilities and member of staff came and found us at 2pm to check us into our lovely superior room. Carmen at reception was very pleasant and helpful. Also Swanee at tour desk arranged our hire scooter with insurance - a factor not often offered on street. Great staff!
The pool is very welcoming and water temperature nice and refreshing - not too warm! Situated beach side, the provided sun loungers are right on the water's edge with sun umbrellas for shade. Great poolside service for drinks and snacks.
We asked for and received a late check out at 2pm. Of course that would be subject to room availability.
The resort is situated right amongst good shopping and lots of restaurants and bars.
Overall, a very pleasant stay and would return .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rmdarasamui, Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Angela D,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit and for your great detailed review on tripadvisor.com.

Thank you also for your positive and encouraging words in regards to the staff members whom you described as being ‘friendly’ and ‘very eager to please’. They will be happy to receive this kind of feedback from me.

Once again, your review was much appreciated.

I hope to welcome both you back to Darasamui Beach resort again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Ms.Kesorn Khaoreung
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This is our second time to Koh Samui, Dara Samui is a beautiful resort the pool is amazing although there is not much space for deck chairs and the prime postion was reserved by towels etc by the same people each day (who turned up mid/late morning) for our entire 9 day stay. Not sure about their 'no reservation' policy that other hotels seem to have. Also there is no Spa (resort and spa?)

We stayed in the Delux Suite which was beaurtiful and very spacious, the staff made us feel very special by laying petals on the bed etc acknowleding our 1st wedding anniversary. They were all very helpful and attentive also.

We went on 2 fantastic day trips arranged by the hotel. No problems at all and very well organised and we had a wonderful time seeing the island and also on a trip to Koh Tao and Koh Nag Yuan which shouldn't be missed.

The staff are very friendly and the food is pretty good too. Right on the beach which when is high tide is amazing. I would definately come back.

Room Tip: Deluxe Suite, more expensive but worth it.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDA81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rmdarasamui, Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear CDA81,
It has been a great pleasure being your hosts at The Dara Samui Beach Resort & Spa again for your second visit and we would also like to thank you for taking the time to share your kind feed back on tripadvisor.

Regarding to the the space of Deck Chair on the beach we have improve the space which is our guest can enjoy their more privacy, and the reserve sun bed also set up the procedure implace that the guest will not be able to reserve it our pool staff are briefed accordingly.

Our hotel has been closed for the spa facilities and still use the existing the resort name as we need to wait for the future Project if this facilities will be reopen again or not, if we will close it permanently we will continue to change the hotel name, Sorry for this matter.

We were very pleased to read that we succeeded in meeting and surpassing your expectations and that we were able to demonstrate our commitment to hospitality.
The whole team of the Darasamui was delighted have been of your service and we look forward to welcoming you back in not so distant future.

Sincerely yours,

Ms.Kesorn Khaoreung
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Spent 6 days with my familly, staff was friendly, room was clean and enough space.
Access to beach is very easy from pool area, so we could chose either one every day.

Definitelly we'll stay in dara samui next time!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomokoH64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rmdarasamui, Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Tomoko H,

Just a short note to say thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at the Darasamui Beach Resort, and also for reviewing us on tripadvisor.com.

I was very pleased to read of your encouraging words in regards to our facilities, the room and good location of hotel.

Once again, thank you for your review and we all hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Ms.Kesorn Khaoreung
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The Dara Samui is a great hotel with a combination of authentic local and at the same time luxury feel. I remember chosing a hotel on Samui and the pictures didn't describe well enough what you really see when you arrive. Our room had a shower and a seperate big bathtub, spacious room, balcony. The design is great with glass walls and doors but with most private areas kind of hidden. The location of the hotel is at the beginning of the busiest road of Chaweng with numerous restaurants, pubs, massagists etc. which means you are at a walk distance from most the facilites you'll need, except maybe super markets like TESCO or diving speedboats piers, which are about 10-15 minute drive away. The breakfast is buffet style on a high level.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Dara Samui is a great hotel with a combination of authentic local and at the same time luxury feel. I remember chosing a hotel on Samui and the pictures didn't describe well enough what you really see when you arrive. Our room had a shower and a seperate big bathtub, spacious room, balcony. The desing is great with glass walls and doors but with most private areas kind of hidden. The location of the hotel is at the beginning of the busiest road of Chaweng with numerous restaurants, pubs, massagists etc. which means you are at a walk distance from most the facilites you'll need, except maybe super markets like TESCO or diving speedboats piers, which are about 10-15 minute drive away. With that being said in our room we didn't hear any noise from the road, only music from the beach, which you can hear throughout the night but it didn't bother us much or interfered with our sleep. The breakfast is buffet style and high quality it becomes a restaurant with live music at evenings. The service is high level and the staff is amazing. Highly recommended.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rmdarasamui, Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Alexy S,

It has been a great pleasure being your hosts at The Darasamui Beach Resort and we would also like to thank you for taking the time to share your kind feed back on tripadvisor.

Your comfort and enjoyment are always our highest priorities and we appreciate your comments very much.

We were very pleased to read that we succeeded in meeting and surpassing your expectations and that we were able to demonstrate our commitment to hospitality.
The whole team of the Darasamui was delighted have been of your service and we look forward to welcoming you back in not so distant future.

Sincerely yours,

Ms.Kesorn Khaoreung
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

service is the best the place is beutiful otentic very comftobel.the location is in the center. not crowded very big bad. the children enjoy it alot. me too.
if we come again we sleep here for sure. it is the the first time in tailand and we love it. i am sure we come again. this is the best vacation we have. the only thing that disturb is the price of the tiket to tailand from israel

Room Tip: try the vila
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shahar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews