We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dara Samui Beach Resort
Ranked #22 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Pori, Finland
1 review
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We spent here 10 days of our trip to Thailand and we were happy with our stay. The staff was most helpful and friendly, the breakfast was good and our room was spacious and clean. The beach itself seemed a bit worn-out to us as a whole, although our hotel was one of the best alongside it. The main street next to the hotel was very busy and noisy, but inspite of all the hustle and bustle, it did not disturb us at all in the room.

Room Tip: There are different kinds of rooms available at the hotel and the price range is wide accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rmdarasamui, Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Kari K first of all I would like to thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor
it's wonderful to hear that you enjoy for every thing during your recent stay, especially our service and staff
Our team will so happy to hear while we pass your praise to them. Your comments are much appreciated.


Sincerely yours,

Ms.Kesorn Khaoreung
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    278
    84
    46
    41
See reviews for
140
333
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This hotel has its own section of beach accessible directly from the hotel pool area. It is also well located between shops, restaurants, pubs and clubs. Rooms are nicely furnished and service is good. Good option if you wish to enjoy Koh Samui. Be careful of the pool bar service... quite expensive.

Room Tip: Certain rooms walk straight out onto the pool. If this is what you enjoy then go for one of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rmdarasamui, Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Greg M Thank you very much for take your time to review for us
We are pleased to hear that you liked our hotel location especially our room and our servic
our team will be so happy to see their hard work praised in your review and look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Sincerely yours
Ms.Kesorn Khaoreung
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This hotel is a wonderful change from some of the other hotels experienced on my three week trip through Thailand. The service is wonderful and attentive. The rooms clean and well suited. My issues with the beach and the pool area. There are no chairs around the pool and during high tide which we experienced. This left us with no other option than to sit at the beach and be crashed upon by the waves. My only other issue with this hotel which the staff dealt with well on the second day was a large group who seemed to take over the grounds. They were rude and loud and inconsiderate of other guests. The second day was better than the first and let's hopes for an even better day one the third. This hotel is a welcome change from the others but you are still close enough on chewing beach to the action, shopping and restaurants. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shadoe02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rmdarasamui, Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Shadoe02,

Many thanks for your review us on Trip advisor , we would like to thank you for your positive comment, and apologize on the convinient cause you during some day at the beach area

Our team member hope we can get an opportunity to welcome you back soon to stay with us again at Darasamui Beach Resort

Sincerely yours,

Ms.Kesorn Khaoreung
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

The staff were really friendly and offered welcome drinks and cool towels.

The rooms were really lovely. Awesome size, great bathroom, balcony.

The pool is gorgeous and looks out over the beach. You can also have dinner/breakfast literally on the beach too.

It was very luxurious and located in a great spot. Right in the heart of the markets!

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvalonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rmdarasamui, Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear AvalonW,

Thank you very much for your kind review us on your positive comments on Tripadvisor,
our staff and Management team are very happy to hear that you enjoy your holiday with us and will come back again next time.


Sincerely yours
Ms.Kesorn Khaoreung
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 6 nights whilst visiting Koh Samui. The hotel grounds are very well kept, very stylish and modern. The swimming pool was so lovely and just the right temperature too to cool you off but not too cold you couldn't get in. The pool over looked the beach which was so peaceful. The beach was very quiet and relaxing, all the hotels each put theirs in loungers out in front of the hotel and these were free. There was a local selling corn on the cob that he BBQ on a little stallby the hotels beach, so lush. We had one every day. The rooms at the hotel was massive, clean and very posh. The staff couldn't of helped us any more then they did. Very friendly and happy to recommend places to eat and do. The location is right at the beginning of the main strip, perfect in my eyes as you could stroll down to the local restaurants really easily but still remain just that little but away from it all. Overall excellent and would return.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rmdarasamui, Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Katie S,

Greeting from Darasamui Beach Resort, we would like to thank your kind review us on Tripadvisor and we are very happy to hear that you were enjoyed your holiday with us this time

We do hope to see you soon in the near future

Best regards,

Ms.Kesorn Khaoreung
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

The resort is located on a good location, right on the Chaweng St. The rooms are big - but and well furnished. The pool is beautiful.
But the breakfast is poor with no vegetables at all. There were insects in our tea, on the fruits and on the table. when we first entered the room we had mosquitoes in it, they said they will spray - but it didn't help. The second time they said its because we left the balcony open and they sprayed again.
We also found a giant worm in the room,when we told the reception their response was only "yes that happens".
So if you don't mind insects in your food, on your body or in your room's floor, you're welcome to rent a room there.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shlomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rmdarasamui, Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Shlomi S,

Thank you very much for your kind review us on Trip advisor, your comments on insect issue is very useful for us to pay more attention on pet control which we use usally maintain it on monthly basis, and we willl schedule extra service on this issue both public area and guest room.

Your comment is our pleasure to improve our product and service standard include the buffet area which is now we are running very low occupancy then we offer salad by ordering not set it up at the breakfast buffet counter, please accept our apologize for this inconvenient.

Once again thank you for choosing our Resort for your holiday this time and we hope we can serve you again in the near future

Sincerely yours,

Ms.Kesorn Khaoreung
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Dara Samui Resort And Spa , it is great trip !!! Very nice place and good service ,all staff are very helpful , friendly all the time, we r stays 19-22 that 3 nights , very comfortable at here ,its close to the beach , restaurant and bar. All the best. Wonderful thai style place,food,service and thai smile. Have must to come here @ Dara Samui Resort . Love here !!! C u again @dara samui# samui#Thailand

Stayed October 2556, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Panicha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rmdarasamui, General Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Panicha P

Many thanks for your review and the great comment about the service and resort location with

Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time at Dara Samui Beach Resort,

We very much look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Thank you for choosing Darasamui

Sincerely yours,

Ms.Kesorn Khaoreung
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.8 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,808 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,443 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa De Mar
Casa De Mar
#16 of 104 in Chaweng
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dara Samui Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dara Samui Beach Resort

Property: Dara Samui Beach Resort
Address: 162/2 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Dara Samui Beach Resort & Spa Villa)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dara Samui Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dara Samui Beach Resort, a Thai 4-star beachfront resort with the most authentic Thai architecture, strategically located along the most exciting beach on Samui - Chaweng Beach. It is a short walk to a variety of important "facilities" for every visitor - Thai spas/massage, money changers, banks, 24-hour convenience stores, beach bars, restaurants, street shopping, high end shopping and night life. We have 24-hour reception, 5 room categories, complimentary wifi access in all guestrooms - lobby - restaurant, breakfast restaurant (7am-10.30am),1 beachside restaurant (11am-10.30pm), room service (7am-10.30pm),1 freeform swimming pool (7am-7pm) with outdoor jacuzzi (10am-12pm and 2pm-5pm), poolbar (11am - 11pm), tour counter and airport transfer services. All rooms and suites have electronic key card access, rich wooden fixtures and fittings, individually controlled air-condition, private bathroom, in-room safe deposit box, satellite TV, DVD player, sofa or day bed, balcony and complimentary wifi. Due to the structure of the resort, we do NOT recommend guest with physical challenges as there are many stairs and steps - no guests elevators/lifts. Beginning 01 November 2017, the resort will be an All Adult resort with minimum age being 12 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dara Samui Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dara Samui Beach Resort & Spa Villa Hotel Chaweng
Dara Samui Beach Resort And Spa Villa
Dara Samui Beach Hotel
Dara Samui Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing