We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not book this hotel if you want to enjoy your holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dara Samui Beach Resort
Ranked #22 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
79 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Do not book this hotel if you want to enjoy your holiday!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Horrible staff, horrible service. When we arrived at the hotel, the first thing they asked at the reception is to pay full amount of reservation. When that was done and the bill signed, they said "We are very sorry, but the hotel is full, so you will have a room in another hotel" WHAT??? After making a huge scandal they suddenly found a free room, saying "ok ok we will move another couple to the other hotel". During all this discussion, all reception was speaking behind our back and looking at us like if we stole something. Coming to koh samui, you probably expect to finally have some rest and enjoy the sun at the beach. Well, forget about it in this hotel. At 16pm the staff starts to close all the beach umbrellas, taking all the chairs away from the beach to instal their beach restaurant. They don't give a damn to the fact that the guests are still laying on the chairs on the beach, they just come and put a plastic table and chairs 10cm from your chair, 10cm on another side of your chair they will put a huge wooden construction to expose the fish. I could not believe that happening, they just push you out of the beach. And if you don't understand those "hints", they will finally come to you and ask to move away!!! If you are gone to the pool for 1 min, when you are back, the beach umbrella will be gone! All the guests of the hotel were shocked and principally were staying on their chair till the end. The score of this hotel on tripadvisor is fake, why? When you arrive to the room, you will find a paper saying: "If you write a (positive) review about this hotel on tripadvisor, show it on the reception and you will get a free cocktail and a half price of the taxi to the airport"!!! Speaking about the taxi, do not order a taxi at the reception, they charge you crazy price!!! 800B to go to the pier. We just went on the street the evening before our departure, stopped a taxi and asked him to come to our hotel at 7am to bring us to the pier for 300B! The hotel calls "Dara Samui Beach resort and spa", however there is no spa in this hotel. There are 2 massage bungalows on the beach next to the hotel, they have nothing to do with the hotel and they do amazing massage for low price. Actually all beach line is full of such massage bungalow, the prices are quire the same. The massages on the street are slightly cheaper. The bay where the hotel is located looks nice until you want to go to "refresh" in the sea. I first did not understand why the lady from the massage salon said to go have a refreshing shower, if I am at the sea.. But when I stepped in the sea I've got a shock, the water was boiling hot. Not just "warm and nice for small kids to play in", it is crazy hot, you cannot even go inside (because this bay is closed with the rocks around 100m in front, so the water does not cool down and does not refresh). You need to walk more to the north or south to be able to go in the sea. In the north of this beach you can have a nice walk far in the sea, the water there is very low and clear. The north part of the beach is more calm but also less restaurants for in the evening. The restaurant of the hotel is the most expensive of the all beach, even thought they make some romantic concept out of it, it is not the reason of charging the triple price compared to the restaurants next to it. The south part of the beach has more ambiance, full of bars and restaurants. You can also go on the street and walk to the south: there are plenty of shops, restaurant, bars, massage salons. The dj at the pool starts to turn 5 the same german stupid old style songs at 4pm, round and around, every day the same. Probably also to annoy you so that you leave the beach and go into your room. The hotel by the way was pretty empty, you could notice it in the breakfast and on the beach. The breakfast was quite bad (compared to 7 other hotels where we stayed in bangkok, koh tao, etc), although you have some eggs, sausages and fruits, it tasted very cheap and the choice was quite limited. The room was ok and quite big, free toiletries, free wifi in the room, safe, mini bar, complimentary water is available. Even though the room was nice, all the rest of the ambiance was very negative. The hotel which is located a bit to the south of Dara looked pretty same style(Chaweng regent), but there nobody was throwing guests out of the beach at 16pm. I would recommend you choose another hotel if you want to enjoy your holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rmdarasamui, General Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Kristina B,

First of all we would like to thank you very much for your taking time to write the comments on Tripadvisor and please kindly accept our sincere apologize for all inconvenient cause you during you stay at our Resort.

As of the limited of room inventory on your arrive we are running full house and we planned to transfer some of our guest to stay at another good standard Resort to be an option and the best alternative hotel for you with located in the heart of Chaweng Beach and we expect you will accept this arrangement, unfortunately you were not satified with the arrangement then suddenly our Reception staff decide to check you in to the Resort and move another couple guest instead who may accept this offer.

Regarding to staff manners we will seriousely investigation why that kind of behavior made you feel uncomfortable during their use Thai speaking with Colleague , The resort always keep up the service standard and service mind behavior training to all our staff on every montly basis, to make sure they can serve our guest with service mind.

To moving the sunbed at 16.00pm out from the beach area to become the dinning area but unfortunately it disturbing you , On daily basis have informed to all guests in advance that the hotel provided sun bed and umbrella for the guests who still enjoy their sun they can move up to area swimming pool and to the onther side corner of the beach .


And ofcourse taxi service which is joining transfer you will get cheaper price to go anywhere, and hotel price is set for the options to the guest is not the majority service for the guest , as of you can find easily taxi out of the resort and get the cheaper price , with sometime you might experience with rude driver, unclean car, , ect,.

Concern to the Spa , we are now closing our Daraphirom Spa for temporary as it opened after 7 years and our customer are always going to use the Spa along the beach and road the same as your mentioned is much more cheaper .

In regards to the sea temperature we are sorry that it's over our control but we always make sure our beach is cleaned and our guest will always safe to swim in front of the hotel beach that we have our rescue staff to look after you during your swim.


Thank you very much for the comment about breakfast variety and the qaulity of the items, we will bring it out our Team to looking in to it and will improve it accordingly .


Once again, all staff members of Darasamui apologize for all inconvenient occur during your stay, and we will improve to reach the guest satisfaction and expectation to stay with us, with your comment is very helpful .

Yours sincerely,



Ms.Kesorn Khaorueng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    276
    84
    46
    39
See reviews for
132
323
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have had a lovely stay in Dara Samui, we were greeted by a porter to carry our bags up all the steps (poor chap!) Then we were given cold towels and a cold drink while we checked in.
Our room wasn't ready as we landed quite early in the day but the staff went and prepared one for us.

They were helpful throughout the holiday, assisting with calling restaurants and trip companies for us. When my partner developed an unknown allergy they willingly agreed to clean the air con filter for us in an attempt to help, as it seemed worse when in our room. When this did not help they organised a room change for us that same day and to the room next door so it was not too much of an upheaval - we were greeted in our new room with flowers and a card apologising for the inconvenience. They also continued to enquire after my partners health which did improve following the move.

We chose a superior double for our stay. Both rooms we stayed in had a fruit basket on arrival and each time the room was serviced they restocked the complimentary water bottles.
The beds were big and comfy and there was a minibar and TV in each room, as well as robes, umbrellas, a hairdryer, a safe and a beach bag to borrow. We got on fine with the room WiFi too.
The aircon was efficient and the shower was always hot. There were 2 sinks and a bath too, though it took an age to fill. The balcony was secluded looking out on to foliage with some interesting birds and red squirrels sometimes - though to be honest it was too hot to sit out there!

The pool area is nice with shady areas and trees and a bar (nice ice smoothies) though most of the sunbeds are on the beach. You can borrow towels to use. The sea by the hotel is very shallow as it is partly closed off from the main ocean but nice to paddle in. Dinner on the beach is very pretty.
Would also recommend the corn on the cob!

The hotel has lots of steps so keep nthat in mind if you have a wheelchair or pushchair.

It has quite a small frontage but looks can be deceiving, the hotel site goes right through to the seafront and is in a great location at the top of the chaweng beach road - there is lots within walking distance but it doesnt get too noisy at night. It is near the flight path but there are not many flights a day and they are small planes.

Go left out the hotel to get to the main strip and look out for songthaews (like a pick up truck group taxis) rather then traditional taxis as they are much cheaper and more fun. Wave them over, agree a price and jump in!
If you turn right out of the hotel there is a bank very near where you can change money at good rates. There are 7/11s and family marts both ways nearby for water etc.

There is also a desk in the lobby where you can arrange trips and the girl is very helpful and gave us a map of the island.

There are 2 restaurants in the hotel and it offers room service, handy if you cant be bothered to go out.

We looked at many hotels when booking and chose this one due to reviews and location - having looked at other hotels whilst walking around the area, we definitely chose the right one. All in all we had a lovely stay and would happily recommend Dara Samui to anyone looking for accommodation in Koh Samui.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Georgewina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The staff at Dara are exceptionally helpful and always so pleasant whenever you see them. Very courteous and can't do enough to help. Personal highlight was the waitresses unexpectedly singing happy birthday to my girlfriend and bringing her a cake in the morning with no hint to me about it! They also helped me plan a birthday night out by phoning restaurants in bophut and sorting out reservations. Really Couldn't do enough to help! Spotless rooms which are serviced daily. Rooms themselves are very nice and we've been made to feel at home this 2 weeks. Close to all amenities and ideally placed for the main chaweng beach strip. 2 minutes from both green bird and red snapper (both must try) and 5 minutes from ark bar for the nightlife.

Would have been 5 stars but for two things worth mentioning:
- there was an admin mix up when we arrived and they didn't have our room booked in despite our booking confirmation! Not ideal after all that travel. They managed to sort us a room as there happened to be one spare but as they told us, if that was 2 days earlier we would have had no place to go!
- poolside food from the bar is not the best. Not like your short of options though with many people selling amazing food that walk up and down the beach. The staff at Dara are relaxed about letting you eat that stuff despite it not being there which is great
All in a fantastic hotel in a stunning place. We will hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsteell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Arrived around 10 in the morning and there was a room available for us! We were greeted with a nice cool wet towel and and iced drink.
All staff extremely helpful and friendly.
Rooms are lovely
Location is perfect for bars restaurants and nightlife if you want it, but also nice and tranquil during the day, if your relaxing by the beach.
Beds are very comfortable, so able to get a good nights sleep
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minicooper76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Most importantly, the staff was very friendly, and after two days, the front desk ladies all remembered my name and room number. Second, the room was decent sized and the bed was totally comfortable, invariably sleeping well every night. Location is perfect as I never needed a taxi: restaurants, bars, shopping, and night clubs abound within a half mile... easy walking distance. I recommend unwinding by the pool after dark after a long day in the sun as there is a noticeable temperature drop at night along with a sustained, substantial breeze. There is no fitness center or spa, but you can easily jog along the beach in the morning and find countless spas on every block just outside the hotel lobby.

Room Tip: It's a hike from the lobby back to the pool. If you plan on heading out to the street most days...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel has a private beach, but the beach this time of year is very shallow. The hotel stuff keep it very clean, with a very good sun bad.
The rooms are Very big and has a big bath. the bad is very comfortable. The hotel looks as new, and so are all furnitures at the room.
Overall the rooms are very good!!!

We stayed at the hotel a family with 3 children's ages 9,6,2. It was the best hotel we were during our vacation, and we tried 6.
Recommend it very much

Room Tip: The corn on the beach is right next on the beach, so are drinks and massage, just go to the left and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
227 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My husband and I arrived at Dara Samui after traveling 2 weeks in Thailand and the best hotel on our stay. We we welcomed with warm friendly people are reception and given nice cold wet towels and refreshing iced cold drinks.

Our room was ready within minutes and we were whisked away to our beautiful room. Sure, as others say, there are signs of wear and tear, but this is Southeast Asia. Unless you are paying top notch, that's the norm around here. The room was lovely and the decorations was nice. The bed was comfortable and I slept the best at Dara compared to the other places we stayed on rock hard beds.

The decorations throughout the hotel is beautiful. I love the koi ponds with real fishes and the little statues of Thai girls and boys throughout the hallways.

The bathroom is spacious with a tub, separate shower area, sink area and toilet area. The sink in tub was a great way relax with my husband after a long day walking. We appreciated the bamboo tray to hold our wine and beer as we soaked in the tub.

The pool and beach loungers are lovely. It's great to not have to pay 100 THB for lounger on a beach (patong etc.) Between 3-4 PM, the pool bar offers Happy Hour cocktail specials, buy one get one free. Prices are around 200 THB so its a good deal. There is also another happy hour between 6-8 PM.

Both restaurants on site were lively while we were there. The restaurant at the front of the hotel featured acoustic live music by a duo whereas the beach restaurant in the back offered a romantic and serene vibe. The "teepee" tent set up looked amazing. Both restaurants offered the freshly grilled seafood. While we were there, there was a promotion for 15% off coupon for dinner.

The hotel is located in a great area and within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. We frequented the new "Central Festival" shopping plaza and dined there many times at some of the new restaurants since they were offering 15-20% discount promotions.

I would recommend this place for couples and families. The people are friendly, the rooms are comfortable and spacious and the location is great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim-Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,400 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa De Mar
Casa De Mar
#13 of 104 in Chaweng
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#49 of 104 in Chaweng
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dara Samui Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dara Samui Beach Resort

Property: Dara Samui Beach Resort
Address: 162/2 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Dara Samui Beach Resort & Spa Villa)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dara Samui Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dara Samui has beachfront location centrally located on Chaweng beach and walking distance to shopping and night life areas. Hotel offers free high speed WIFI in all rooms. Rooms size start from 42-128 sqm or 455 sq ft - 1380 sq ft with full Air Conditioned rooms. The hotel is a 4-star Thai Lanna-style boutique resort with 4 rooms categories. Relaxing, sports activities or shopping, whatever is your pleasure all are within easy reach at Darasamui. You never run out of things to do, unless you wish to. 2 Restaurants, 1 Bar,Swimming Pool, Beach, Sun Deck, Concierge and many more facilities are awaiting you... Try once at our Best Romantic Beach restaurant "Dara Serene" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dara Samui Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dara Samui Beach Resort & Spa Villa Hotel Chaweng
Dara Samui Beach Resort And Spa Villa
Dara Samui Beach Hotel
Dara Samui Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing