We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“smelly and horrible”
Review of Baan Rom Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baan Rom Mai
Ranked #16 of 65 Chaweng B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“smelly and horrible”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We booked for few nights and not being fussy we weren't expecting a lot. We arrived to friendly enough staff but the resort looks more like compound than a holiday place. We never saw the bungalows though. The thing that made us take our stuff and check into another hotel was the terrible smell of stale cigarettes. I am a smoker and I couldn't bear it. The smell got infinitely worse once the air con was turned on. We complained and they came back to clean the room, apparently they hadn't had the time to clean even though it was after 4pm and checkout is at 12pm. It smelt a bit better after the clean but was too disgusting to waste precious holiday days on, so we moved on to Palm Island down the road. There are two large metal gates to get through to the pool area which was nice enough but the ceiling over the bar area had boards missing which showed exposed wires and mess. Perhaps if your budget is really tight and nothing else is available, would it make sense to stay here but it isn't very nice at all and they would not refund a penny, beware! You would be better off staying elsewhere, we also don't consider ourselves moaners either.

Room Tip: Try stay on the otherside of the road, you will most likely be on the beach
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gcapza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    33
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
8
35
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We got a good deal and got the budget room for almost half the price they normally ask. We still thought we paid way too much for an old room that seems to be falling apart. They keep things clean and the pool area is really nice. The gardens outside are also very well kept. The more expensive bungalows are probably well kept and worth the price but I would absolutely not recommend the budget rooms as you should be getting much better for that price. The staff are nice, the place seems quite safe and it's not too far from the town and very close to the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiltsu-182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The location of this hotel is what lets it down. It is across the road from the beach but the only way of accessing it is to walk through other hotels which makes the staff annoyed. Also, it is a fair way out from all the nightlife of chewang. The rooms are well kept and are cleaned daily. The best asset to this hotel is the pool which is kept clean. It's in a very quiet location so if you are looking for a party place then this hotel would not suit you.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melaniehillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We had booked a night to stay at the Baan Rom Mai and after we had checked into our room we actually left and found an alternative place to stay.

Although I accept you get what you pay for (and this was dirt cheap) I felt the way the website and other booking websites portraying the hotel were inaccurate and slightly misleading. Our room was filthy (there was a dead bug on my pillow) and the floor/window shutters/fan looked like they hadn't been touched in years. The door and lock did not seem secure.

I think that we were unlucky to have a room that had really been neglected. We looked at a Bungalow before we left and to be fair, these seemed much nicer and much more clean. Definitely worth paying the extra to stay in a bungalow. To the credit of the hotel, the pool also looked lovely.

Staff were friendly, it is close to the airport and about a 5/10 minute walk from the beach (which involved a walk through another hotel).

Room Tip: Choose a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajp124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We paid £20 for two nights in an aircon room, very clean and standard basic room, staff very accomodating and welcoming and the hotel setting is beautiful, nice garden to front, amazing pool good food and well priced. about 10 min walk from chaweng beach and nice and quiet. Definatly worth the price we paid and very happy with our stay! Would recomend to backpackers looking for abit of cheap "luxury" if there is such a thing.

Room Tip: Ask the staff about day trips they have so much knowledge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coupleapints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

You get what you pay for. I paid $15 usd for this hotel because i am on a budget, and it is not bad at all. Not on the water, but about a 10 min walk to the beach, great location, convenient is just stopping to Samui waiting to go to other islands. Nice staff, clean enough, beautiful vegetation on the grounds; if you dont mind no a/c and not the most comfortable bed, not bad if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnviroGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed here in June 2012.The Reception Staff is very freindly!Premises are neat and tidy at all times.
We eat halaal food and am rather disappointed at the breakfast.As we don't eat meat,the hotel should have catered for us fish or veg during breakfast time.Also,The breakfast is served all at once and by the time you have your tea or cofee it is icy cold.Not happy at all with their tea or coffee.Tasteless and like dish water.Gives me the impression they want to get done quick.

They are very "THRIFTY"!!!

They must leave tea bags and coffee satchets at the table...and bring in hot water when the guests asks for it.The guests would then enjoy the tea /coffee.

They were very kind and gave me a ground floor room right next to reception.

They must have people at reception who are fluent in English.They told me that they have security at night when reception is closed.Unfortunately at 2 am,I saw no one.Thanks God ,I did not get sick.Shudder to think what would have happened to me.

Staff is noisy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliekhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
1.8 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
3.1 mi away
Samui Bayview Resort & Spa
Samui Bayview Resort & Spa
#56 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
3.9 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#47 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Impiana Resort Chaweng Noi
8.5 mi away
Bang Po Village
Bang Po Village
#40 of 52 in Mae Nam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#4 of 46 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Rom Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Rom Mai

Property: Baan Rom Mai
Address: 119/5 Moo 2 | Bophutt, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Rom Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baan Rom Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Rom Mai Hotel Chaweng
Baan Rom Mai Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing