We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baan Rom Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baan Rom Mai
Ranked #16 of 64 Chaweng B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We arranged an airport transfer direct with Baanrommai for 400 baht, we were delayed so emailed to let them know from Bangkok airport and the taxi was there waiting for us as arranged. Quick check in. We are not young backpackers but found this little place great and really quiet..maybe we were lucky with our neighbours as the walls are really thin and you can hear everything! We stayed in the aircon room..very noisy but very effective. The rooms could do with a bit of a overhaul , but very clean, fridge, daily water, TV. The pool is small but lovely and so peaceful to sit round. Little quirky tropical garden . They serve food but we didn't eat there so can't comment, but many did. It's situated next to the Samui International Hospital so right at the north of Chaweng and a good 30 minute walk to get to the centre and onto the beach.Plenty of tuktuks though up and down the main road.
Very helpful girls in reception.
Two cute pet dogs.
All in all for our arrival in Samui and the 5 nights we really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldsontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    33
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
33
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights when visiting Samui. For the very good price, you get a very nice room with air con, hot shower, large room and bed, and other amenities e.g. fridge, safe for valuables etc.

The hotel itself is well located - set back slightly from the beach but a 2 minute walk away from the beachfront. Once you are on the beach you can walk along it - it's about 10-15 minutes to the busiest resorts. We had dinner both nights on Chaweng beach at the resorts, without the need for any taxis to get there or back.

The staff are also very friendly and helpful. We had one or two minor issues (e.g. the safe freezing up, electricity outage) but the staff at reception dealt with the issues very swiftly.

Overall would recommend if you are price-conscious and not too bothered about staying in a fancy beach-side resort, but want a decent room that is well located.

Room Tip: Get air conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gaurav V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed in a Bungalow near the pool. It was quiet (apart from the air con) and nice. The room itself was basic, but clean and tidy, with room for everything you could want and a well stocked bar fridge. Sitting outside on the patio was quite nice in the evenings, listening to a myriad of frogs and cicadas. The pool is not as big as you would think from the photos, but still fantastic. Worth a swim.
The restaurant in the reception area (where breakfast was served) provided great local dishes if you chose not to go into Chaweng for the bright lights. Food was very good.
The garden was lovely, and could sit there in the evening as well, for a few beers bought at reception, or from the convenience store located 1 minute away (for all the last minute items).
The highlight for me, however, were the entire staff there. They take a low end, budget motel and turn it into a great, friendly and positive experience. They have the local knowledge, polite, friendly and make an effort for each guest, remembering preferences. Just for them alone, I would stay there again. Realistically, it is a basic small resort a couple of steps up from a flop house, and does not feel at all like that because of the attitude and personality you find from each of the staff there. Looking forward to the next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidReilly78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I quite liked my room - it was light, spacious and clean! The whole establishment looked great and well-maintained. The pool and bar area was very nice; I liked that I could also order food there. Nothing to complain about in my short stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a fan room which was a nice size with a simple bathroom, all cleaned well daily. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Very nice pool although the food and drinks from the bar were a bit expensive! Excellent location, a 2 minute walk across the road to the north end of Chaweng beach which is in my opinion the best end as there are no snails in the sea! There was also a family mart a few metres away which was very useful. There was a safe in the room which is always a plus. Although there are two fans in the room I would definitely go for air con if your budget allows it as it's hard to sleep with the noise!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carolineold94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

For the price we paid it was perfect. Very close to beach (and the nicest part of it too), less than a three minute walk. We stayed in a fan room. The people who work here clean the room every single day, providing new towels, new sheets and replenishing toilet roll, shampoo and body wash for free. Fantastic stay would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MurrayLemmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

stayed here for 1 month in december 2012.
the good points....
the pool area is nice with a bar area and good food served to the poolside.
the staff are friendly.
the location is good.

however......

we stayed in an aircon room which had seen better days, the ceiling had cracks all over it,and the toilet filled to the brim everytime you flushed it so one of you had to use the toilet in reception every morning. the tv reception was terrible, i know you don't go on holiday for tv but when you stay somewhere for a month the odd night in front of the telly would have been nice.
the breakfast was awfull, dont waste the 200 baht, you can eat good food outside for half the money.
having paid around 1,800 baht a night for this resort can only say i felt utterly cheated, do yourself a favour and go to your place resort over the road for a far better deal, or try the rooms behind baan rom mai for 8,000 baht a month if you are looking at staying for a bit longer.

Room Tip: try a bungalow, maybe you wont hear EVERYBODY arriving back at night !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glitch66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.2 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#45 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.5 mi away
Muang Samui Spa Resort
Muang Samui Spa Resort
#4 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Rom Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Rom Mai

Property: Baan Rom Mai
Address: 119/5 Moo 2 | Bophutt, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Rom Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Baan Rom Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Rom Mai Hotel Chaweng
Baan Rom Mai Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing