We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most helpful hosts, convenient location, great value”
Review of Penzy Guesthouse

Penzy Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penzy Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 66 Chaweng B&B and Inns
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Most helpful hosts, convenient location, great value”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Penzy's guesthouse is 5 minutes' walk from the beach, a stone's throw from the restaurants, bars and massage parlors in Chaweng. I arrived by boat from Koh Tao and transfer to Penzy's was 150 Baht. The hosts were truly helpful and kind, they have arranged my trip to Eranda SPA to celebrate my birthday, booked snorkeling and safari tours for me and also helped me with Bangkok tips, and booking a return boat to Surat Thani. I felt really welcome and comfortable at Penzy's.

The room is of a good size and was cleaned daily. I was concerned about possible noise from the street, but actually it was quiet, and I slept soundly. Luckily, the room was mosquito - free. The WiFi in the room is really fast and free! The AC worked well. There is a fridge, and a safe in the room, some DVDs downstairs in case you want a quiet night in. I had one big towel in the room, beach towel hire was 200 Baht.

The guests are asked to leave their shoes outside, so if your feet get cold on the tiles, you might want to take some socks or slippers for the room.

Would stay again and would recommend it to friends.

I had a small balcony with a plastic chair there, so could hang out my swimsuits to dry.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Galijii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    41
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
2
49
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Millstone, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Penzy, her staff and husband were a god send! After a scary situation at another hostel, Penzy stayed up late to quickly set up accomodations. Not only is she fun and absolutly perfect, the hostels location was in a great spot and her advice was spot on.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelManus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Very clean guest house, great local advice (like what public transportation prices really should cost) and extremely accommodating! David even got up extra early to put on a NFL game we wanted to watch back home that was only accessible in his office. Penzy is a sweetheart and they both want nothing but the best for you and the rest of their guests.

Loved how close it was to the beach and far enough away to explore the rest of the city... start from the hostel... walk to the beach... head to Ark Bar... come back through the streets. Boom.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We originally booked just 2 nights in Penzy's however we quickly extended our stay. The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean, and Penzy and David were excellent hosts; very kind and very friendly. We got the ferry from Krabi and upon arriving in Koh Samui we took a red communal taxi into Chewang at a cost of 100 baht per person. Despite telling the taxi driver that we wanted to be dropped off at our accommodation he dropped us no where near (if taking this taxi make sure you get off at the Mercure hotel as this is right by Penzy's). I called Penzy who described where I needed to go and we eventually managed to get there. We were greeted with a very friendly welcome and immediately felt at ease. They provide a range of DVDs which you can borrow to watch in your room, free tea and coffee, and free wifi which was very fast. They also offer lots of help and advice regarding trips such as snorkelling and Thai boxing, as well as advise regarding onward travel.

This guesthouse is just 5 minutes from the beach and 5 minutes from the nearest 7/11. There are plenty of restaurants and bars to chose from so there is no shortage of places to eat out.

Overall this is a great place to stay and I would highly recommend. I will most certainly be returning here on my next visit and you will not be disappointed if you book to stay at Penzy's guesthouse.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor where the wifi signal was very good. Room was very clean and also conta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Fantastic value and location at a reasonable price. What really sets it apart though are the staff, nowhere i've stayed has made me feel so welcome and as many other reviews state Penzy herself is very helpful in terms of booking tours/transport. Would have definitely struggled without her! Only slight issue is that the wifi doesn't always reach the rooms on the upper levels but that's not really too much of a problem as there is plenty of room to sit and browse downstairs with a perfect connection. Will definitely stay again if I'm ever in Ko Samui!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Backpacking through Southeast Asia and this has been the nicest place we have stayed in so far. The staff is super friendly. The rooms are big, clean, with a tv/ dvd player (loads of dvds at the reception to borrow), fridge and fresh towels everyday. Location wise- it takes 3-5 minutes to the beach. Main bars (e.g Ark Bar) and clubs (e.g green mango) are about 20 mins walking or 5 mins taxi ride away. Even provided extra keys while beeing very flexible all around with cleaning the rooms and extending our stay!

Highly recommended 9/10

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max-Krawinkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Penzy's Guesthouse is a great value for the price. It has easy access to the beach and the central area of Chaweng beach. It is super clean with nice comfy rooms and good showers. What really sets Penzy's apart though is Penzy herself. She and her staff are SUPER helpful with booking tours, transport, etc. on and off the island. Penzy went out of her way to help me and my boyfriend book our transport from Koh Samui to Bangkok even communicating with us after we had left Koh Samui for Koh Tao. We had a great stay here and would highly recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARC1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.0 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,818 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Resort
Chaweng Resort
#64 of 104 in Chaweng
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
728 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#36 of 104 in Chaweng
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzy Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzy Guesthouse

Property: Penzy Guesthouse
Address: 37/75 Moo. 3, Soi Alibaba | T.Bophut, Koh Samui, Suratthani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Penzy Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Penzy Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penzy Guesthouse Hotel Chaweng
Penzy Guesthouse Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing