We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penzy Guesthouse

Penzy Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Penzy Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 65 Chaweng B&B and Inns
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

The place is really close to the best beach in Samui. The rooms are clean and of decent size. It is located in the most happening beach and almost everything is at a walking distance. It is a good location to dump your bags and go on exploring the archipelago.
The place is good but the hospitality of Ms Penzy and her husband make it even better. Worth staying at.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ptap90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    39
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
2
46
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

By far the best Guesthouse I've ever stayed at. From the moment I checked in I felt I was staying with family. Penzy and Anna Banana are the most genuinly friendly people I have met in Thailand. Rooms are cleaned each day, Coffee & Tea are complimentary in the lobby, DVD & Magazine selection in the lobby. Helpful advice and they can both arrange tours and future travels (Ko Pangan, Diving at Ko Tao, Phuket, Bangkok, etc). A few minutes walk to the beach and a bit longer to the club section.

Room Tip: She only has 8 rooms at Penzy so I think they are pretty much similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I've stayed at Penzy's Guesthouse for 5 nights. Our room was very clean and had all we needed, air con, fridge, safe box, TV (and DVD player). The room was also cleaned everyday and we had fresh towels daily. The guesthouse is located 3min walk from the beach and about 20-30mins from the main bars/restaurants. Both Penzy and Anna were very helpful and booked various trips and pick ups for us. I would recommend it to a friend and go back there in the future. If you stay there over the weekend I recommend a street market in Lamai on Sunday night, loads of food stalls and good shopping in general.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustaPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesterfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Penzy guesthouse is at the same location as sunny guesthouse and is run by the same amazing person penzy.

From the moment you book and receive a welcome email you get a feeling for the place.

The rooms and hostel are really clean and with comfy beds. It's at night time when you can appreciate its good location - close to numerous restaurants and bars but far enough away to get an excellent sleep.

What really makes the place though is penzy and her house keeper ana who will do anything for you. By the end of our stay of 3 days they felt more like friends than the hostel owners. Always there to over advice, have a chat and make you feel at home. The free tea and coffee is also a bonus :-)

We would definitely return to this hostel and in fact we did for another 3 nights after visiting koh Tao.

Thank you for great stay in koh Samui.

Becki

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank oscarbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely little guesthouse run by the friendliest staff we have come across on our travels! Clean rooms and bathrooms, with everything you need including a fridge and even a DVD player with DVDs which is a nice little touch. Also a 3 min walk to the beach and same for the main strip of restaurants bars and shops!Would definitely recommend.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MichTin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

What a wonderful place to stay! The owners were so helpful and friendly. They gave us lots of good tips and set us up with a great tour to Ang Thong park with a great discount. They also arranged our taxi to the airport.

The room was comfortable and clean. And the Guesthouse is very close to the beach!

We originally booked with Sunny Guesthouse but it seems to have combined with Penzy Guesthouse. There was no problem or confusion though.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Penzy's guesthouse is 5 minutes' walk from the beach, a stone's throw from the restaurants, bars and massage parlors in Chaweng. I arrived by boat from Koh Tao and transfer to Penzy's was 150 Baht. The hosts were truly helpful and kind, they have arranged my trip to Eranda SPA to celebrate my birthday, booked snorkeling and safari tours for me and also helped me with Bangkok tips, and booking a return boat to Surat Thani. I felt really welcome and comfortable at Penzy's.

The room is of a good size and was cleaned daily. I was concerned about possible noise from the street, but actually it was quiet, and I slept soundly. Luckily, the room was mosquito - free. The WiFi in the room is really fast and free! The AC worked well. There is a fridge, and a safe in the room, some DVDs downstairs in case you want a quiet night in. I had one big towel in the room, beach towel hire was 200 Baht.

The guests are asked to leave their shoes outside, so if your feet get cold on the tiles, you might want to take some socks or slippers for the room.

Would stay again and would recommend it to friends.

I had a small balcony with a plastic chair there, so could hang out my swimsuits to dry.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Galijii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.7 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
0.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
0.6 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Empire Guesthouse
The Empire Guesthouse
#2 of 65 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzy Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzy Guesthouse

Property: Penzy Guesthouse
Address: 37/75 Moo. 3, Soi Alibaba | T.Bophut, Koh Samui, Suratthani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Penzy Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Penzy Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penzy Guesthouse Hotel Chaweng
Penzy Guesthouse Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing