We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining in a cosy atmosphere”

Red Snapper Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #17 of 186 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$26
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Samui's premier dining and entertainment experience. Hear me... Drink me... Eat me...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fine dining in a cosy atmosphere”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The food was of a high standard and the deserts with added alcohol an unusual experience and one to be repeated when possible

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Red Snapper Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

I would like to thank you for eating at our restaurant Red Snapper and thank you for sharing your dinning experirence with the Tripadvisor community.

The kitchen and service team is joining me to thank you for your review and we are all happy you enjoyed RED SNAPPER.

Our new menu is now launched and I hope you will come visit again our restaurant. I'm sure you will enjoy even better culinary experience than your last one.

THIS MONTH JOIN OUR NEWEST PROMOTION:
TAPAS & WINES
Everyday from 5-7pm free Tapas buffet with Serano ham, cold cuts, seafood included 1 glass of wine for only 270 Baht ++ and next glass of wine only 199 Baht ++

Also EVERY NIGHT UNLIMITED COCKTAILS FROM 10PM UNTIL CLOSURE FOR ONLY 450 BAHT ++.

If you have any additional comments or for your future restaurant reservation please contact me directly at gm@chawengregent.com.

Culinary yours,
Matthieu Reynaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    293
    95
    41
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

The location was right in the centre of the action. The service was excellent and the food had great taste with some different serving styles. I would recommend a visit even if you are not a fish lover

Helpful?
Thank Trip12363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Red Snapper Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

I would like to thank you for eating at our restaurant Red Snapper and thank you for sharing your dinning experirence with the Tripadvisor community.

The kitchen and service team is joining me to thank you for your review and we are all happy you enjoyed RED SNAPPER.

Our new menu is now launched and I hope you will come visit again our restaurant. I'm sure you will enjoy even better culinary experience than your last one.

If you have any additional comments or for your future restaurant reservation please contact me directly at gm@chawengregent.com.

Culinary yours,
Matthieu Reynaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice food ”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Cozy place, good food.
We can recommend the fresh juice.
The staff is nice and keep away, with respect for the customer. The price is a little high, but the food is good.

Helpful?
Thank Thomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Red Snapper Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

I would like to thank you for eating at our restaurant Red Snapper and thank you for sharing your dinning experirence with the Tripadvisor community.

The kitchen and service team is joining me to thank you for your review and we are all happy you enjoyed RED SNAPPER.

Our new menu is now launched and I hope you will come visit again our restaurant. I'm sure you will enjoy even better culinary experience than your last one.

If you have any additional comments or for your future restaurant reservation please contact me directly at gm@chawengregent.com.

Culinary yours,
Matthieu Reynaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a great dinner !”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I'm glade to write a very good note about this place. The waitress are excellent and the menu is well structured. The food quality is a constant during all the dinner, no one black spot ! Don't miss it !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carpaair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Red Snapper Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

I would like to thank you for eating at our restaurant Red Snapper and thank you for sharing your dinning experirence with the Tripadvisor community.

The kitchen and service team is joining me to thank you for your review and we are all happy you enjoyed RED SNAPPER.

Our new menu is now launched and I hope you will come visit again our restaurant. I'm sure you will enjoy even better culinary experience than your last one.

If you have any additional comments or for your future restaurant reservation please contact me directly at gm@chawengregent.com.

Culinary yours,
Matthieu Reynaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Not worth it”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My friends and I decided to head over there to treat ourselves while on vacation. As a party of 19 we spoke to the manager and asked him if they could accommodate us, they assured us that they could...3 HOURS later we all finally got our food. There was an hour wait between the first meal served and the last. What's worst was that half of us were happy with it and the other half weren't. Some of the food was not edible, clearly their kitchen could not handle a party that size. We were in Thailand for a total of 10 days and this place is now under "what shall not be named" because it was the only sore point of our trip. Red Snapper is expensive in comparison to GreenBird which is so much better and cheaper. Don't waste your time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank wsabbat422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Red Snapper Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

I would like to thank you and your party for eating at our restaurant Red Snapper and thank you for sharing your dinning experirence with the Tripadvisor community.

First and foremost I'm really you didn't enjoy dining in our restaurant as at Red Snapper the Chef and out team is dedicated to provide at all the time the best quality food and service towards.

The night you and party came the restaurant was full and we did accept your group by informing you it will take a moment to prepare your table. You are over exagerating by saying "3 hours we got our food". We both know this is not true.
Yes I admit the service was slow due to overload number of guest and I take full responsibilty for this. The kitchen and service need improvment on service efficiency when they are very busy.

When you and your party left the restaurant no one made any direct complaint to the restaurant manager. If so we will have done something for you.

Once again I'm really sorry and please trust the team will work harder for improvement.

If you have any additional comments or for your future restaurant reservation please contact me directly at gm@chawengregent.com.

Culinary yours,
Matthieu Reynaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Snapper Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Red Snapper Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing