We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cactus Club Yali Hotels & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cactus Club Yali Hotels & Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Gumuldur
Conches-en-Ouche, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

I spent a week at Club Marmara Yali at the beginning of May. This is a good time to go, because the tourist season has just started here, so all the people are not yet tired, the weather is beautifully warm, not hot, and there are not too many tourists.

I stayed in the "bungalow" part of the hotel, on the first floor, which I would recommend, rather than staying in the hotel itself. Plus on the first floor, rather than the ground floor, you had a fantastic view.

The buffet was fantastic, fresh and varied food every day plus all inclusive drinks. Lots of stuff to do at the hotel, and well-priced excursions.

A five-star experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JacquieSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    461
    183
    69
    31
See reviews for
604
287
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

We’ve (2 adults with 2 kids aged 5 and 20 months) recently spent a relaxing 9 day all inclusive stay at the Club Yali Hotels & Resort. Being the last week in September meant the main schools/summer holiday crush had passed and the guest profile was typically families with young children and seniors so the competition for beach/pool/restaurant seats was over. The hotel is highly orientated to French speakers otherwise we mostly heard Italian, Turkish, Dutch and German. Most of the hotel staff spoke at least some English so communication wasn’t an issue.

The name of the hotel is rather confusing when trying to look for reviews as we did. However, we can confirm that the Club Yali Hotels & Resort is the main hotel name and is actually a complex containing several hotel buildings on a large resort site and so if you are reading about the Cactus Yali, Club Marmara Yali, Yali Charme etc the names refer to the same hotel complex!

The service here was a major highlight for us. Staff everywhere where attentive, friendly and really made the kids welcome.

In terms of accommodation, we had a top floor family room with panoramic sea views (across the Agean to the Greek island of Samos) in the main hotel building (Yali Resort). The room itself was comfortable and adequate. Whilst rated locally as 5 star, this hotel would be considered as good 4 star internationally. The hotel only supplies a bar of soap and shampoo in the bathroom so bringing your own favourite bathroom supplies won’t hurt.

There is an interesting and tasty variety of authentic local food with strong vegetarian accent particularly from the ‘cold kitchen’. The buffet dinner started at 1900h which is not exactly a child friendly time. The dress code for dinner in the main restaurant seems to be very relaxed as men were allowed in wearing shorts without an issue.

Within the hotel, the entertainment program was run by a French animation team so everything was pretty much in French. The ‘Mini Disco’ was a real hit for our kids even though it started rather late at 2045h and went for 15 min. We didn’t stay on for the shows which started shortly after the Mini Disco each night. Our 5 year old wasn’t interested in going to the ‘Mini Club’ for kids so we have no comment about it. A short stroll away from the hotel is the Aquapark owned by the same group (Cactus) that owns the hotel. Hotel guests are allowed in from Mon-Fri. and food and drinks are also free once inside. The place is huge and some of the water slides are pretty intimidating even for adults and we all had a great time there. My wife had a massage at the Health Spa in the hotel which she said was rather average.

The hotel complex fronts a mostly sandy beach which is clean, pleasant and with relatively shallow waters. There is a designated swimming area around the pontoon. Inside the complex, there are several swimming pools catering for young and old as well as the pools at the Aquapark. Depending on who you book your holiday with beach towels may not be supplied and you are not permitted to bring the towels from hotel rooms. You can buy a beach towel from the hotel for EUR 7 or just bring your own.

There is an ‘internet corner’ but if you prefer to bring/use your own computer, the wi-fi reception area is limited to public areas in the lobby and parts of the 1st floor. Internet access is oddly charged at EUR 5 for 1 hour or EUR 10 for a week.

The local area around the hotel is very basic with mostly a few grim looking souvenir shops. However, it is worth going out a bit further. Hiring a car is cheaper and more flexible than taking organised tours. Through the hotel, we rented a car to go to the ancient city of Ephesus (must see) and also to Izmir for day trips. Izmir however was a great let down as it is large city dominated by ‘modern’ looking buildings and with little ancient history remaining.

The only real issue we had during our stay was that the evening entertainment program in the amphitheatre can be very loud. On some nights loud music/noise didn’t end till 2330h. We had a great ocean view family room in the main hotel building on the opposite side of the amphitheatre but could still hear entertainment blasting away. Perhaps rear facing rooms are more ‘sound proof’?

Overall, we had a great relaxing and enjoyable family friendly holiday at the Yali and have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank OzFFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed at Club Yali in Gumuldur Turkey and it was a wonderful Holiday. Lovely new comfortable suite was given to us (but if available do ask one with a view of the sea). Polite staff and great food.

Room Tip: Best to choose a room with a sea in the new wing by the main pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank roohi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
235 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

This Cactus Hotels Resort complex is big made up of a couple of hotels and several what appeared to be separate blocks of rooms with own pools.It caters for all ages, but the majority of guests are french speaking so the animation program is aimed accordingly. Hotel staff very pleasant. The food and drink was good and plentiful in this all inclusive resort. We travelled as a couple with SAGA so had some trips out. As it was end of season only the large all inclusive hotels on this stretch of coast seemed open and the large adjacent aqua park was also closed. Ephesus trip good and its only about 1 hour away. It was busy when we visited as there were 3 cruise ships in Kusadasi which is common at this time of year apparently, weather was a bit mixed on our week, several warm sunny days but some cloudy and rain.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a sea view room and thought it good value.better views from 4th floor, and in Hotel Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveller0065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

We spent an enjoyable week here in a pleasant 2-room suite overlooking the sea. The grounds are well-kept and the surrounding hills are picturesque. We had excellent service from the staff and found the hotel very comfortable. There was rather noisy entertainment at night in French, which we also enjoyed, but it could be annoying in rooms closer to it. The weather was lovely at first, then deteriorated into pouring rain and thundershowers. We went out on trips every day as we prefer active vacations to leisurely ones. The food was abundant and beautifully set out, if rather monotonous, with an emphasis on bread, salad, fruit and cheese with few protein choices. There is a paved path going south along the beach, along which you can walk to the market. Our visit was at the end of the season, so no other hotels were open, but the region is set up for tourist activity and might be very crowded in high season.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rswith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford Essex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

I stayed in this hotel as a Saga Guest from 28th September to 6th October, 2011. On reading the reviews I wondered if we had made a mistake booking this hotel. It is approached via an unmade road and you are not sure what you are getting yourself into. When we entered the foyer of the hotel we were pleasantly surprised. It is decorated very tastefully with pictures on the walls and modern furniture. There is a lobby bar on the 1st floor which serves drinks most of the day and soft drinks and tea and coffee all the time. It is a very pleasant place to spend the evening.

The grounds of the hotel are vast but they are beautifully kept with lots of trees, grass and plants. The beach is beyond the grounds and this too is very clean with lovely sand.

The majority of the guests were not English. French was the language spoken most and the entertainment was in French. This was outside the hotel and was noisy so we did not bother with it but it was well supported by younger people.

There are three pools I think and the Club is so big and we were only there a week we only visited two. The large pool outside the Club Yali was pleasant with plenty of shade and sunbeds. At time the music was too loud and not to my taste but there were plenty of people there who probably enjoyed it and it did not go on all day. There were many sunbeds dotted all over the grounds and under trees so you could get away from the music if you wanted to.
There is an indoor pool very warm and crowded and times but if you pick your time it was very pleasant.

The food was plentiful and wine and beer was served with lunch and dinner, there was always something for everybody and my only complaint is that you could be tempted to eat too much.

The bedrooms were clean and spacious as is the whole of the hotel.

We were not provided with beach towels every every day which is unusual, you could buy one in a dark green colour for 7 euros but the shops sell nicer, I think, "Versache" towels in a variety of colours. However I wish I had known about this before because I have a cupboard full of beach towels at home.

There are a few souvenir shops near the hotel and there was a small market Thursday evening. If you walk to the village there are stalls open at night.

This hotel is very large and may not suit everyone but there is plenty of room to get away from anything you do not like.

We had a lovely relaxing holiday in the sun with a couple of trips out, Ephesus is not far away and some of the coastal scenery is as lovely as Italy.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Essexlady1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

I spent 1 week at the Club Yali and it felt like it was 1 month!!!
The place is totally boring and the food was the same thing over and over again. The quality was very poor and no Turkish food was ever served during my stay, except for kebab!!
If you are over 65 and are going with a group of friends just to relax or if you have small kids, it may be a place for you, otherwise, forget it! The Club Yali is far away from everything.
The animation team is the only thing that was positive. The animators knew how to entrain the guests, and were extremely kind. Thank God!!
Be very careful with the excursions Marmara will try to sell you!! If you are in a wheel chair, do not trust a word if Marmara tells you that you can get around to the different places, such as Ephese! It is a totally lie and I know what I am talking about!!
Also they have a Hammam opened for all the guests. Be very careful of the man seating at the front desk. He will try to sell you all their services and I've seen him pushing people to sign up for body care. He is extremely annoying and extremely unprofessional.
Overall, I was totally unsatisfied with the Club Yali which claims to be a 5 stars but I will classify it as a 3 1/2 stars.
I will not recommend this place to any of my friends or family members!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NY10032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gumuldur
5.8 mi away
Paloma Pasha Resort
Paloma Pasha Resort
#1 of 11 in Ozdere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
0.8 mi away
Club Cactus Paradise
Club Cactus Paradise
#4 of 9 in Gumuldur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gumuldur Mavi Deniz Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Club Marvy
Club Marvy
#2 of 11 in Ozdere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
9.2 mi away
Aria Claros Beach & Spa Resort
9.0 mi away
Sunis Efes Royal Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cactus Club Yali Hotels & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus Club Yali Hotels & Resort

Property: Cactus Club Yali Hotels & Resort
Address: Ataturk Mah. Sahil Cad., Gumuldur 35480, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Gumuldur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Gumuldur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cactus Club Yali Hotels & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 452
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cactus Club Yali Hotels & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Marmara Yali Hotel Gumuldur
Resort All Inclusive Yali
Cactus Club Yali Hotels & Resort Turkey/Gumuldur, Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing