We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for a quick visit but seems quite run down” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hamptonne Country Life Museum

Hamptonne Country Life Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: HAMPTONNE COUNTRY LIFE MUSEUM IS CLOSED UNTIL MAY 2017 Dating back to the 15th Century the house and farm are brought to life with characters from the Island's past. Explore the orchard and learn about bygone crafts and quirky traditions from the resident Goodwyf. Find out more about our history of cider making and Jersey apples. During the summer visitors can meet the Hamptonne piglets and calves in the traditional farm-stead with outdoor yard and mud bath and Jersey cows graze in the fields at Hamptonne . Special events will take place throughout the year for all the family to enjoy, including the annual Fais'sie d'Cidre, and a sensational blend of sounds and cider. Find out about our Heritage Pass - four visitor attractions for the price of three on our website or at any of our visitor attractions.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Oxfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
614 reviews
386 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
“OK for a quick visit but seems quite run down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We visited for the first time this year and maybe it was because it is nearing the end of the season, but everything seemed a bit run down and 'shut up' already. There are various buildings and gardens to look at and the houses are interesting to look around. There is an activity room for children and the shop is mainly toys so they will be kept busy. Make sure you see the Jersey cows and pigs and feed them too! The Goodwyf in the house was disappointing as she didn't actually tell us anything about the house, just questioned us on our holiday! Toilets and cafe were basic and disappointing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyGirl1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    36
    13
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Not value for money. We expected more and did not see the 'Goodwyf' or hear the stories she was supposed to be telling.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxenhope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Very good and worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

My wife and I went there (as visitors) with our two grand children, 7 yrs and 4 yrs (Jersey residents) on a 'trip' out. The children, from the moment they arrived there (unwillingly I have to say) were completely taken over by events at the location, so much so we had problems in trying to make them leave after just under 4 hours! There is so much to see/interactively do.
Well done Hamptonne for making this such an enjoyable experience (we were there with special summer events taking place); it is well worth a visit and when in Jersey again will definitely plan a visit there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Himself2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Earthy History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Peaceful and beautiful look at a well preserved corner of historical Jersey. Arthur, the guide in all his resplendent costume, gave us an enthusiastic and informative talk about the house and its old occupants. We liked Arthur. Every attraction should have an Arthur. My enduring bit of information was about the linseed oil and clay floor. The forerunner of Lino! Unfortunately we were to encounter it again in the Cafe in the guise of RockyRoad slice.
Tasty but mind your dentures!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Boags666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

This was not top of our to do list for things to do in Jersey but maybe it should have been. There was a surprising amount to see and do. The staff were exceptional, particularly the goodwyfe. There was plenty to keep my two young kids entertained and there was even a lovely picnic spot in the meadow at the back of the buildings. My husband thoroughly recommends the guided tour and the kids and I were welcome to dip in and out of her talk.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hamptonne Country Life Museum also viewed

 
Grouville, Jersey
St Clement, Jersey
 

Been to Hamptonne Country Life Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing