We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit- The Lalique glass is amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Matthew's Church - Glass Church

St Matthew's Church - Glass Church
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit- The Lalique glass is amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Had passed the church a number of times while on holiday, but I always seemed to look at the next building (the church hall) as that is where I thought the arrow pointed to - that said "Glass Church" . Wondered why it was called that as it looked like a church hall (which it is) So was very pleased to see the actual glass church. Two full size (Adult,as I am not sure what size a real angel is) beautiful Lalique angels on the entrance doors- two Lalique floral arrangements lit from behind in the foyer, and when you go into the actual church the altar is amazing, a Huge Cross made entirely of Lalique with two side columns. Lalique everywhere, It is a jaw dropping experience and I will go back next time I am in Jersey for another visit to St Matthews. You will never see so much Lalique in your life- antiques roadshow should visit , it must be worth millions

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    123
    47
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stunning and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

To walk into this church and see the beautiful work of lalique is an amazing experience. I had wanted to visit it for some time but had not been prepared for its elegance, lightness and serenity. The lalique is amazing and although the design of the glass angels and cross are incredibly intricate you still get an impression of simplicity. It is worth taking some time to sit in the Lady Chapel and admire the beauty of the angels created by lalique. If you are a lalique fan, you should not miss this, if you're not, you should be by the time you have visited this church.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cleo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
402 reviews
245 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Free attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Is worth stopping off to look at as it only takes maximum of 30 minutes. Do buy a leaflet or guide book to appreciate the history and designs.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipperfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Prepare to be amazed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I was so overwhelmed by this church that I had to remember to keep shutting my jaw!! Even if you are not familiar with Lalique, you surely cannot fail to be amazed at what you will see inside. St. Matthews is packed full of unique Lalique! The widow of the founder of Boots asked him to re-design the interior of the church in 1934 in memory of her late husband and I would imagine that the interior is now priceless! I would love to be a worshipper in this church. If you are visiting Jersey, do not miss it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann2shoes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Worth 15 minutes of your time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Went to see on the basis of the other reviewers and spent just over 15 mins there. The church has a very plan white exterior but the glassworks is interesting to see. The church is light and airy inside and is serene as another viewer commented. In my ignorance of Lalique, I was expecting to see a spectacular set of stained glass but it is all semi opaque clear glass. So it is unusual to see but not amazing unless you are into Lalique.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Matthew's Church - Glass Church also viewed

 

Been to St Matthew's Church - Glass Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing