We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Village Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 St. Lawrence B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Spent 3 nights here - the aim was for a relaxing break away after working 7 days a week for 2 months! This is such a lovely B&B and all credit to the owner, Victoria, for being so welcoming and friendly.

The B&B has a lovely atmosphere was a home away from home.

Breakfast was very (too) nice every morning with a choice of dishes.

The pub 30m up the road - also run by Victoria - serves excellent food and, of course, the same friendly service.

With a good central location and the outstanding service offered, why stay anywhere else whilst in Jersey?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil_sllvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    12
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
53
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have just spent 3 nights in this fabulous place. Victoria the owner made us feel very welcome and really looked after us. The room was spotless and breakfast was delicious with plenty on the menu to suit all tastes. Great location for easy access to the cycle routes and bus stop outside. There is a pub only yards away that serves excellent food. The locals are so friendly that you may struggle to leave when last orders is called. We got lots of helpful advise on what to do and we're to go during our stay
A lovely place that I would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nidderdoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Booked to stay here while doing a course locally. I was afforded a warm welcome and shown to my room. Victoria also runs the local pub/rest and a fab spot it is. I was like a real local after just one visit they remembered by preferred drink and had it ready without my asking ! I enjoyed several meals all to a good standard and reasonably priced with friendly welcoming staff. The breakfast was freshly cooked and a nice feature was the little place name using your first name indicating a table reserved for you! Due to the nature of my course it involved very early starts , to Victorias credit she prepared special packed breakfasts for me each morning which where very welcome indeed. I would recommend the Villa d'Oro as a good well run friendly B&B And will be back.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Flyerboy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villadorojersey, Owner at The Village Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thankl you for taking the time to post your review.
We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to keep you fed and watered during your pressure filled week.
Best wishes
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keerbergen, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

After consulting the website and reading the comments on TA we had high expectations. Having read the intro of Victoria and looking at the pictures on the website, we were expecting a kind of boutique style B&B. The 5, or was it 4 stars, sign at the entrance added even more high hopes.
On arrival Victoria assured as that we could now leave all worries behind and that she would take care of us, showed us the small lounge and breakfast room and all the flyers + her own programme of the events of the day. For a guarantee of 5£ we received a parking disk, so we could park our car next to the church across the road. Great ! Even higher, those expectations.
Then came disappointment. When we entered the house, we were met by a smell of “old” and “dust”. Room 8, first floor, overlooking the garden, was small (see pics). In the bathroom, when spreading my arms, I could touch the walls and water pressure (shower) was low. The room looked dated. Cables for the small flat screen TV are mounted on the wall (see pic). It all looks sort of amateurish, which one might of course also translate into “charming” and “authentic”.
Then breakfast. It starts only at 9.30. That is late. It finishes at 10.30. Don’t expect a continental style breakfast with a wide choice of pastries. There is a wide choice of cooked meals (see pic), so we discovered Guernsey gâche. The fresh fruit bowl however was already empty at 10.15 and not refilled.
We did not use the pool. It is not heated, water was clear, but from what we could see not cleaned daily (dead leaves on the bottom and weeds around it). In the garden you can find chairs and a bench, but it really needs landscaping and... plants. Wi-fi works well in the lounge and breakfast room. We did not go to the pub next door.
The B&B is ideally located in the centre of the island, there is green all around, but it was - the days we were there, it might be different on other days - also right under the airport flight path. It meant a lot of noise in the morning and in the afternoon. The second day, back early from an afternoon walk, we sat in the garden to read a book. After one hour and at least 5 planes, we gave up and went inside.
I understand that, due to a very late reservation, we probably didn’t get the best room and our expectations were maybe too high. But a late reservation is no excuse for the (for continentals) disappointing breakfast , the “old” and “not-aired enough” odour, the poor state of the garden, dust traps in the room, insects in the breakfast room and the size and the amateurish finishing of the bedroom and bathroom. The best I can do is compare Villa D’Oro to a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelman-Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villadorojersey, Owner at The Village Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I should like to apologise for any shortcomings with our housekeeping. This is indeed inexcusable. The room you describe is set for refurbishment in due course.
You have submitted a lengthy review which is indeed your right.
Breakfast is actually served between 8:30am and 9:30am and regarding the fruit salad, perhaps my young waitress just did not notice. We always prepare extra and usually if we miss something during the heady rush of breakfast service, our guests just ask if there is any more. Our breakfast offerings have evolved to reflect the demands of the majority of our clientele. If you were unhappy with the selection and wanted something specific, we would have been happy to try to provide it.
My garden is, by my choice, more wild flower than Palace of Versailles.
It is a shame that at no time during your stay there was no indication that you were not pleased with your visit with us.
Perhaps a hotel would be more suitable in future.
Regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Wow, had the most amazing couple of days at Villa d'Oro! Weather was glorious, B&B was just perfect (baby grand piano in the lounge!) and the staff are just brilliant!! Cycle friendly too! Oo with a very friendly pub 50 paces away! Walking distance to many places & a bus stop outside! 10 minute ride into town. :-) Couldn't be happier! Thanks SOOO much!! See you next year! Xx

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janeknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

a big thank you to all the staff Victoria, Jill & Sarah & Louise
who made my stay so perfect, great knowledge of jersey and always on hand to plan your day
mass of information in the breakfast room for days out etc.
the breakfast's were superb & the dinners and locals in the St Laurent were all so kind
this is a special place with special staff who cannot do enough for you it is home from home.
once again thank you so much for everything and hope to see you all in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The breakfast was the highlight, there was a good choice of cooked meals (eggs with smoked salmon, with chorizo....), and our hosts were very welcoming and very caring. It does feel more like a (very small) hotel than a B&B, but we adjusted very nicely. The room were very clean, well equipped. The decor is slightly dated, but it did not affect our stay there at all. There is a swimming pool to use, and overall, the location is central to the island, which means that you can get to anywhere quicker. Renting bikes is a good option as you can get anywhere fairly quickly. All in all, it comes very highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MarionReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
1,003 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 4 in St Aubin
641 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St Aubin
776 reviews
2.9 mi away
Windmills Hotel
Windmills Hotel
#4 of 16 in St Brelade
598 reviews
3.5 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in StSaviour
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Village Bed & Breakfast
Address: La Grande Route de St. Laurent, St. Lawrence JE3 1NJ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Lawrence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St. Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable en-suite rooms. Freshly cooked lovely breakfast with as much local Jersey produce as can be used. Perfect central location to explore beautiful Jersey by foot, cycle, bus or car. We now also run the pub next door with well kept ale, hand picked wines, home cooked food and real Jersey locals. We’re a good, honest, comfortable B&B and we really do care that people enjoy their stay and get to know this fabulous wee island. There's great coffee too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Village Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Bed & Breakfast Jersey/St. Lawrence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing