We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real Samoan experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Vasa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Vasa Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Fatuosofia
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
323 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“A real Samoan experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Le Vasa is on the far west side of Upolu—past Faleolo airport and past Aggie Gray’s. It is a solid hour drive to Apia but only about 15 minutes from Faleolo Airport. Le Vasa consists of all ‘fales’ or Samoan type cabins. Ours was just at the water edge with terrific views and a very nice porch. The central buildings house the office and restaurant-bar. The restaurant offers gourmet meals, all freshly prepared, and a wide range of items. The bar has everything. The staff are super-friendly and very knowledgeable about Samoa. There are several ladies who run the place, and they are very efficient, friendly, and accommodating of anything. There is a big pool and resort type facilities (kayaks and many other things). They have a fia fia night once a week – very worthwhile to witness the Samoan fire dancing. The ladies who run the bar and restaurant are also exceptional – especially Ciara who knows the island well. The entire place is in a Samoan garden that is magnificently maintained. If you are looking for a real feel of Samoa, and luxury, and good food and friendly people, Le Vasa is a logical choice. You should consider a rental car because the island is large and taxi rides would probably be more expensive and much less convenient than rental cars. If there is any disadvantage of Le Vasa, it is the distance from Apia. But – Apia has become a hectic city and staying at an authentic Samoan place far from the city is a good idea.

Room Tip: You should book a fale at the water's edge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QQ1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nativemeannativegal, Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for saying Le Vasa Resort had everything you wanted. We take pride in offering gourmet meals and wonderful drinks. Our staff love to make the place look gorgeous, we are happy you appreciate their effort and commented. We really want all guests to experience what you have and we are so please that you think Le Vasa Resort is a logical choice. Fia fia night is awesome my favorite is the fire dancer. We look forward to your return one day, Lots of alofa from Samoa and Le Vasa:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    98
    39
    16
    22
See reviews for
115
166
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rolleston, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We had a great stay at Le Vasa resort. Teh place was friendly, lean and the unit we had was perfect. The swimming pool was good adn access to kayaks. The beach was not eally swimable as stated in other reviews but for relzxing place to stay very good

Room Tip: Our unit was perfect for a couple and two friends stayign together
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nativemeannativegal, Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to make comments about Le Vasa Resort, we are pleased you thought your room was clean, the place was friendly and the Villa you stayed in was perfect. We hope to see you again one day in Samoa and at Le Vasa Resort:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE! It's like a 1980's caravan park they have made into a so called 'resort'.
The son of the owner snots in the pool.
The air-con doesn't work properly (even when we asked it to be fixed).
You can't/don't swim in the water here - other say beautiful water... what the? It was muddy and cloudy.
There were termites in our room which we complained about and they fix it by just 'sweeping it up' everyday.
Breakfast is basic and is never ready on time. We waited half an hour one day coz they 'slept in'.
The mother of the owner is a booze and accosts you at the bar.
Everything is difficult for them. Try get them to organise a car? Too much stuffing about. We ended up going into Apia by bus and got one ourselves, easily enough.

Needless to say, we left early as it was just not a nice place. We were so disappointed and let down. You're better off paying more (and get better value for money!) at the nicer resorts on the south coast or go to Savaii and stay at La Legoto!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nativemeannativegal, Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
We do remember you and your partner, you were suppose to stay at Samoan Surf Resort and couldn't because it was destroyed by Cyclone Evan and you had no where to stay, you rang us the night before you were leaving Savaii and we gave you an awesome deal. You came to us right after a horrible time for the country while everyone was trying to make to best out of a terrible situation. Staff were cleaning the resort property around the clock as well as their own villages after the devastation. Many OTHER GUESTS who stayed here helped us at the resort as well as around the country. They understood the circumstances we were all under. Most of the country had no running water or electricity until January 2013. Fortunately we have a generator and water tanks that we paid to fill daily to accommodate our guests. Most business were not operating and most of the telecommunications in the country was down, we made the best effort to accommodate your every request. People were having a very difficult time in this country and unfortunately it was not in our capacity to fulfill what you wanted some things are just beyond your control. Termites do exist in this country and we could not rightly spray the fale while you were staying in it, we did offer to switch rooms, although you declined, so we swept any debris. We replaced 4 air conditioning units after the cyclone. We gave you a lovely room on the oceanfront and you paid half the price people would normally pay. Savaii is lovely and lucky they did not get hit like Upolu island did. I am just surprised that you would take the time 8 months later to write a negative review when you wanted to leave two nights earlier I asked you why you wanted to leave and you did not say anything negative then you mentioned you would email me, because I wanted to know so we could better ourselves if there had been an issues, you never emailed me anything. Graciously we returned your money for the rooms nights that you didn't stay and wished you well. There are times when we have to put aside our expectations, be human and understand what is happening around us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Le Vasa is in an incredible location with stunning oceans views. The sunsets are glorious! The local Samoan staff were mostly very helpful and welcoming, but the management were less so.
The pool is great.
The food in the restaurant is delicious, but very expensive - the most expensive we found in Samoa, being almost double the price of most other places. There are no meal options really suitable for kids.
The manager's nine year old child was often left unsupervised and latched on to my young children. This resulted in me feeling I had to supervise the child as there was no one around taking responsibility for him.
The resort is not at all child friendly. I note in response to other reviews that the management claim to advise that the resort is not suitable for children under 10yrs. They failed to tell me this when I booked, despite my telling them I planned to stay with my young children.
Overall, while Le Vasa is in a beautiful location, convenient to the airport and with lovely fales with ensuites, it was very expensive and felt like the non-Samoan managers were just out to get whatever cash they could with the least effort.
I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lasvegas76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nativemeannativegal, Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for stating we have an incredible location with stunning ocean views! We are happy that you thought our pool was great and that we have glorious sunsets.

You mentioned to us that you previously stayed at Le Manumea and Lita SIna's and both of their resorts are standard accommodation and a different star rating where as we are a Deluxe accommodation, so hence the price point difference.

Thank you for saying our food was delicious, we just hired a fantastic French chef and people just rave about his food! Remember quality food costs a bit more than what standard cafe will serve. For people who are on a budget we do have less expensive options, as well as a few nightly specials.

It is clearly stated on our website and all of our marketing materials that we do not allow children under 10 years old as we are surrounded by water, all the fales are on the sea, and we do not have a kids club, the choice is yours if you wish to stay here with your children during the school holidays only, as you booked direct after reviewing the website. We have never claimed to be suited for young children.

If we remember correctly your children were between 5 to 8 years old and we introduced Dalton the young boy here to play with your two girls, we saw that they had a lot of fun together playing hide and seek, watching cartoons, and playing Jenga over the 3 days you were here. Your children were not under constant supervision by yourself as they were running around restaurant, reception and grounds everywhere with Dalton. Kids are kids and play together so not sure why you felt you had to watch the boy as he looked after your children and bought out many of his toys to share with your them to ensure they had a fun time.

Not sure what you are on about the non-Samoan staff as they only checked you into your room and checked you out those are the times you would have paid for your accommodation and paid for your charges, ie meals etc, when you left.

We were very considerate and professional to you, your children and friend and we are pleased that you think we have a beautiful location, convenient to the airport and of course our lovely fales with everything you need for a great holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We were very impressed with our fale at Le Vasa and it was a really beautiful view to wake up to after arriving in the middle of the night! The staff were really friendly and helpful...only negative for us was that the beach wasn't sandy or suitable for swimming..but we realised this when we read reviews before we booked and we stayed 5 nights in Savaii at a really nice beach also. Really handy to both the ferry and airport. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: All the fales looked waterfront to me so you can't really go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renren82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nativemeannativegal, Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for stating that you were very impressed with Le Vasa and that it is a beautiful place, the staff take pride in their work and it's wonderful to see that people appreciate it, thank you so kindly for your comments. We are happy that our location is handy to the airport and wharf and that you would recommend us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

The resort is in an amazing location surrounded by beautiful turquoise water, a romantic spot with beautiful sunsets. The resort is small with about 15 Fales, so there is a family feel around the resort, the service is very good and the staff very friendly and willing to go the extra mile. We loved that the restaurant was never too crowded and there was usually only one or two other couples at the pool when you were swimming or sunbathing. The small sandy beach was also very private. The restaurant and the French chef deserve a special mention, we are vegetarian and asked him to make us something different each night for the 7 nights we were there, he was more than happy to, and very talented and creative making very good Asian, Indian, Italian and Mexican food – the cost was approximately NZ$20 per dinner main and considerably less for lunch and breakfast – which we found very cheap – but excellent quality (we have stayed at resorts where you pay 2 or 3 times that where they wont cater for vegetarian diets to the same degree). Beer and drinks were also good value, beer costing about NZ$5 per bottle, and cheaper at “Island Time” an extended happy hour. We found this a 5-star service and experience for a much cheaper price.
We also found the accommodation very good value compared to other resorts and hotels that we have stayed at, room prices were cheaper than other places we have stayed at, but rooms were good quality, CLEAN, light, private, air conditioned with a lot of space. The fales have a private balcony, with beautiful views of the turquoise water and sunsets. It is a 5 star resort in most aspects except the lobby isn’t grand, the furnishings are nice but not brand new designer styling, the shampoo is in a dispenser with no conditioner or moisturiser (no biggie bring your own), and the curtains are light and do not black the room out (if this bothers you, bring a sleep eye mask, or hang up your pool towels on the curtain rail, this will blacken the room) – but this place is about ½ the price of 5 star mainland resort accommodation. We found it amazing, and had such a great time.

I have no idea how anyone can give this resort a bad review. We loved the stay, we would love to go back there and highly recommend the resort to others.

Thank you Susan, the Chef and the rest of the team for such an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nativemeannativegal, Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you so stating the resort is in an amazing location surrounded by beautiful turquoise water, a romantic spot with beautiful sunsets.
we are a boutique resort, so we are happy that we offer a family feeling around the resort,
Thank you for saying the service is very good and the staff very friendly and willing to go the extra mile.

Thank you for telling others that you loved that the restaurant and pool was never too crowded.

The chef and servers were touched by your kind words "the restaurant and the French chef deserve a special mention, we are vegetarian and asked him to make us something different each night for the 7 nights we were there, he was more than happy to, and very talented and creative making very good Asian, Indian, Italian and Mexican food – the cost was approximately NZ$20 per dinner main and considerably less for lunch and breakfast – which we found very cheap – and excellent quality"
Beer and drinks were also good value, beer costing about NZ$5 per bottle, and cheaper at “Island Time” an extended happy hour. We found this a 5-star service and experience for a much cheaper price.
We also found the accommodation very good value compared to other resorts and hotels that we have stayed at, room prices were cheaper than other places we have stayed at, and rooms were good quality, CLEAN, light, private, air conditioned with a lot of space. The fales have a private balcony, with beautiful views of the turquoise water and sunsets.
Thank you so much for your excellent review and we look forward to the time that you visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed a little over a week at Le Vasa resort in Samoa and absolutely fell in love with the place and the people who make it come alive!
The grounds are best described as well tended botanical gardens. The colors and different plant types are stunning. The resort is just a short kayak to the reef and the open Pacific beyond it. The colors of the water and its pristine nature were awe-inspiring!
We stayed in two different water-front rooms due to our arrival and departure dates. The individual apartments, or as they are called 'fales' in Samoan, are huge and were well appointed with mini fridge, tea and coffee service, beautiful paintings and wall coverings. The linens and beds were top notch, better in fact than many we've come across in top dollar resorts in the US, Mexico and the Caribbean. The bathrooms were well designed and tiled and the fixtures new. Plenty of water pressure and hot water. Air conditioning is installed but we only needed the ceiling fans and open windows so we could hear the ocean. Everything was spotlessly clean.

The staff were amazing people! Most are Samoans and they are the sweetest people I've ever met. They treated everyone there like a family member. An very elderly couple arrived toward the end of our stay who had trouble getting around; they were immediately adopted by the staff and helped with everything and escorted everywhere.

The food was unbelievably good - I mean, this is an island out in the middle of the Pacific about as far away from anywhere else as is possible - but the variety, quality and preparation went way above any expectation I had. Lots of variety and just fantastic. The bar ain't too bad either!

I had them arrange a couple of dives, a trip to a smaller island and a couple of visits to Apia for us and they sorted everything no problem offering advice and options of things to see etc. We were picked up at the airport and taken back for our departure. In fact I put my watch in the safe and forgot all about time and just let the staff tell me when I needed to be somewhere, Its that kind of place.

They had a beautiful native Samoan program one night with music, singing and the fire dance that was really cool and well worth the price.

I found the prices, especially given the distances things have to be shipped in from, to be very reasonable. Doubly so due to the exchange rate between the AUD vs the Samoan dollar.

Don't miss Samoa and absolutely stay at Le Vasa you'll have the time of your life with beautiful people you wish were your relatives in an unbelievable setting!!!

Room Tip: Just tell them what you're after and they'll make it happen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davral64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nativemeannativegal, Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you so much for the amazing review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your time at Le Vasa Resort and Samoa. We love to have you back anytime! The Staff miss you and look forward to your return to Le Vasa in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Fatuosofia
21.1 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
41.9 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#5 of 30 in Apia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
11.7 mi away
Return to Paradise Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Sa'Moana Resort
Sa'Moana Resort
#9 of 30 in Apia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
21.5 mi away
Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
34.3 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vasa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vasa Resort

Property: Le Vasa Resort
Address: West Main Beach Rd, Cape Fatuosofia, Upolu, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Upolu > Cape Fatuosofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Fatuosofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Vasa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vasa Resort is a spectacular ocean front hideaway, set on 8 acres it's perfect for a romantic getaway and true relaxation. The resort is nestled in a peaceful and secluded setting and provides an authentic South Pacific experience with all of the modern amenities you desire. Le Vasa Resort features 13 private oceanfront fales and villas, 2 standard rooms, boat house, day room, an ocean view restaurant and bar, and an extensive selection of activities including fishing, diving and surfing all in a traditional village setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Le Vasa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Vasa Hotel Apia
Le Vasa Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing