We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Vasa Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets(Salelologa)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jet Over Hotel(Salelologa)
US$125
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Dave Parker Eco Lodge(Apia)(Great Value!)
US$26
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$25
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Samoa Tradition Resort(Apia)(Great Value!)
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
226
118
48
21
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
226
118
48
21
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanono islandtropical breakfastfishhighly recommend legames roomferry terminalair conclose to the airportbat islandwaters edgesunset cruisefia fia nightaggie greyssun loungerslocal samoancoconut treesstayed nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
259 - 264 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My partner and I just returned from a 5 night stay at La Vasa. This is a beautiful and well maintained small resort. Because of the small size there is a very personal intimate atmosphere which makes it ideal for couples. Not so good for solo travellers or families. Everything was well organised. We stayed in an ocean front Fale #7 which was beautiful. I think there are 8 Fales and a couple of Villa's all close to the water and with fantastic views. There are a couple of cheaper garden rooms, but it is well worth paying a bit more for the separate Fales. As you will see from other posts Susan is mentioned a lot, I think her role is quite unique to this place and you certainly would not find someone like her in the bigger resorts. She is a gem. She greets everyone like family, has good advise on what to do and can organise just about anything. On Friday night at about 6pm we thought it would be a good idea to hire a car the next day. She organised all this no dramas, the car which was excellent, was delivered next morning, 3 minutes paper work and we were off for the day. Apia is about 1 hour away or $70 tala in a taxi - so we could have wasted half a day trying to organise this ourselves. All the staff are incredible friendly. The food was excellent, for my partner the highlight of Le Vasa. The only downside to Le Vasa is that it doesn't have a beach although there is a little area which has sand and you can swim from when the tide is in.

Room Tip: The ocean front Fales are best.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Volando-Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nativemeannativegal, Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments about our resort, we do our best keep the resort well maintained and enjoy making it beautiful place for everyone to enjoy. We do have an intimate ambiance and it is ideal for couples, we sometimes get solo travelers and families and they too enjoy our environment and oceanfront fales, I do think it is a personal preference not everyone wants a large noisy resort, if so they can pop down the road and come back to relax. We do have less expensive room for budget travelers and yes it is well worth it if your budget can afford the oceanfront fales. thank you for mentioning Susan she's a gem! Thank you for saying the highlight of Le Vasa is the excellent food, the Kitchen staff and Andre will be so pleased that you commented about them. We hope to see you again one day lots of alofa from Le Vasa Resort, Fa'afetai Lava!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at le vasa. The staff made us feel so welcome and made us feel at home. In particular miriama at the bar provided many laughs as did susan the The taxi driver. The fale overlooked the water and was nicely decorated. I would consider this a boutique resort due to its size and being a little bit less modern then the larger resorts...but this is what gives it its charm. The beach is not really swim able ..id go to the south coast beaches for that. If you can't afford to stay the night I highly recommend the day pass which gives you use of the facilities which is 20 tala a day. I would recommend this place rather than Aggies which I found to be highly impersonal. I lool forward to staying a le vasa again :)

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank n0rthl1ght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nativemeannativegal, Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

We are so pleased you thought our staff was friendly and our location is close to the airport. Miriama and Susan will be happy to hear you mentioned them! We are glad that you enjoyed our Oceanfront fales. Yes we do try and make the resort more boutique style rather than commercialized. Actually we have extended an arm behind the Malietoa Monument and it has created two hidden lovely coves to swim out from, so not the magnificent beaches like the South coast, although so lovely to see the fisher men and boats go past during the day from our charming place. Thank you for recommending our Day passes to use our facilities anything while you visit or waiting for your flight! We look forward to your stay again one day as well be sure to view our face book page for any updates and specials.
thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My first night i arrived was the night of cyclone evan. It did alot of damage. Now the management were very informative to start with , they put on a lunch the next day for the patrons and kept us informed . Due to the power being knocked out we had the generator on for 3hrs a day to charge up electronic devices. Because of the damage caused by the cyclone i was moved to another fale . When my time was up atthe resort i asked about how the other part of the island was where i was supposed to move to as part of my itinary , i was informed that it was worse off and i should stay on. When i referred to the rate i was told it was to be full rate , even though i had been moved into a lesser value accomadation to the one booked and the facilities were struggling. Fortunatly my family came through from the other side and let me know that our hotel was none the worse.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
Thank steaminkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nativemeannativegal, Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Patrick was booked here at Le Vasa resort with his friends and family for a wedding that was cancelled due to cyclone Evan. His room was completely flooded out and he refused to go, we told him we had to relocate him into a safer room, which was better and more expensive, we provided all his meals and most drinks for free for 3 days which is not included in our rates. People tend to forget what we actually did, we delivered breakfast and lunch to all our rooms on the first day and the other 2 days all of our guests joined together in our reception for breakfast, lunch and dinner until our restaurant was up and running again. Our generator was shut off for 3 hours a night from 2 am to 5 am to save diesel as their was a limited supply. Most of the island was devastated by the cyclone. No communication, no power or water for several weeks in the country we had water trucked in and used our cell phones for communication. We did not know the state of any other property only what people had told us, we did not advise people to stay or go. We had another wedding planned on Saturday December 15, 2012 which we did manage to celebrate with a huge effort from the staff after the devastation. Our Staff worked around the clock for 3 days straight to get the resort back up and running again. Most rooms were already pre booked for this event and since so many hotels were effected more people needed accommodation and most rooms were full.
When Patrick booked he received a discounted rate and was in our lead in room, we do not recall him requesting to stay longer or discussing price point. Very few guests helped or even offered to to pay for anything, I believe we were extremely generous and informative and kept people safe and well looked after such a stressful and difficult time when we lost so much in this country. I am unclear why we did not receive some credit for our efforts and a sense of appreciation for all that we did for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

A group of us stayed here on our last day to be closer to the airport. For $20Tala you have access to all facilities which includes the swimming pool, a shower, day visitors lounge which has a pool table, TV and two couches, and the restaurant and bar. The front reception area was quite dark and ceiling fans weren't on. Our bags were in storage and were pretty safe. The pool was nice and is quite deep, but it could have done with a bit of a clean as there were lots of bugs floating in it, and the water looked like there was an oily residue on the surface of it. Food was nice, but very expensive. I was told that my 15 month old son would be free when talking to the lady on the phone, but then when I went to pay I saw that I was charged $10tala for him. I didn't mind though. Manager was really nice. The fans in the day lounge were on low, so it was really hot in there. I asked one of the workers to turn it on full speed and he did so that was good. If you are a day visitor you must be out of there by 10pm, but can check in at about 10am I think. It will pay to ring them to check.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nativemeannativegal, Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

We are happy your group enjoyed your stay here, I believe you were 10 teachers visiting the country and for your last day wanted a place to wait until you departed late that evening.
We were happy to accommodate you and did inform your group of our prices prior to your arrival.
Day visitors are allowed to use our facilities for a charge of $20 ST and an upgraded package of $40 ST per person. Children under 10 ST are charged half price. People usually relax in our lounge area, bar and restaurant rather than reception, mainly people just check in and out and store bags in the reception area. We are happy that the staff catered to your requests and you liked our manager. I believe it was rainy and windy on and off the day you were here some bugs or leaves will get into the outdoor pool. A large number of you were in the pool along with our own guests so, sometimes it's difficult to clean while people are swimming in it. During the high season May to October visitors are allowed to use our facilities from 7 am to 10 pm and low season November to May from 8 am to 9 pm. The Day pass is a great opportunity for guests as they do not have to pay large costs of another night to say in a comfortable environment. On our dinner menu we have items as low as $20 ST so really for the quality that we provide our prices are very good. I believe most of you stayed at the beach fales and price point can not be compared. For guests on a budget there are 2 shops down the road and a barbeque stand where you can buy food as well. thank you for your comments and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Its a pretty, neat and peaceful resort on the quiet side of the island. The drive there aint too bad either compared to the long drive to the east coast side beaches. Enjoyed our weekend there. Food was fresh and cocktails were yum :) Would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoritaA87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nativemeannativegal, Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for saying our resort is pretty, neat and peaceful. True we are on the quiet side of the island. We have a great location close to the international airport and and near the wharf that has ferries to Savaii island and yes much closer than the long drive to the east coast side beaches. We are please you enjoyed our weekend here. Thank you for saying our food was fresh and cocktails were yum :) We certainly look forward to your visit again with us at Le Vasa Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews