We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food and wonderful atmosphere!!!”

Ristorante La Grotta
Ranked #7 of 95 Restaurants in Scicli
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: In a natural cave the restaurant La Grotta is born. With it's special position in the heart of Santa Maria La Nova in Scicli. La Grotta has a special ambient which let's you live the perfumes of the typical Kitchen Ragusana. The tastes and specialities will let you live Sicily. Also the great selection of wine from the vineyards will let you be inspired
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food and wonderful atmosphere!!!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

If been to this lovely restaurant several times and I have to say everything I ate was perfectly good. The pizza, the pasta, the fish, not to mention the desserts. I would recommend the restaurant to every visitor of the small town scicli. It is a real italian family business and the location is really special as well. It was built in a grotto what I haven't seen before. So sitting in a grotto with candle light makes the visit to a wonderful experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank losbrinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    244
    85
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Hampton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best lunch we had in all of Sicily”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We took a chance on LaGotta, which looks a little "iffy" from the outside and we were very glad we did! I had the fish soup which was wonderful and my husband had the Percheri pasta with a lamb ragout which was first rate. We also shared a Parma pizza which was delicious. Staff was sweet and helpful.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EastHamptonGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Quaint atmosphere and reliable food”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

La Grotta is, as the name suggests, in a cave which was once used for pressing olive oil. It looks as you expect an old, traditional Italian restaurant and it is - with worthy, tasty food and good service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank baliboy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leigh-on-sea
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OK, but absolutely not the best restaurant in Scicli”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Having read the previous reviews whilst we were there this looked like a must to visit. The setting is unusual but, in a restaurant that was 75% empty the cave element felt exactly what it was...... and everyone was tucked into one corner. Some of the food was very good (a starter with three elements including grilled ricotta, aubergine etc was very good) and some very much ordinary (the fried local cheese was "interesting" for a mouthful or two but two big chewy bits was a bridge too far. The fish dish was three minute tail pieces of allegedly Sea Bass (either they brought the wrong dish or they should have been embarrassed to have served it). Either way we ended up with a bill that was disproportionate to the amount and the quality of the food we were given. Because the restaurant was empty it was a very forgettable experience (compare and contrast review of Quorematto....)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank corpjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect meal in a unique restaurant”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were recommended this restaurant, and were not disappointed. The food was excellent, served on beautiful Sicilian plates, in a very special location. The owner/chef explained the history of the grotta, and gave us an introduction to Sicilian cuisine. A very pleasant evening!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ece_asker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante La Grotta also viewed

Scicli, Province of Ragusa
Scicli, Province of Ragusa
 
Scicli, Province of Ragusa
Scicli, Province of Ragusa
 

Been to Ristorante La Grotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing