We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate B&B experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Loggia dell'Acanto
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Loggia dell’Acanto is located on a slope overlooking Scicli and features a panoramic view of the city. Guests have very comfortable private rooms with bathrooms that are kept spotlessly clean. There is also a patio area for guest’s use. At breakfast we enjoyed the shared dining area which had great views of the town. The room is traditionally decorated has some interesting artifacts including a camera collection.

The setting and facility are only part of the story. What really sets Loggia dell’Acanto apart is the hospitality of our hosts Andrea and Maria. They went out of their way to make sure we were looked after. Somehow they knew how to make us feel welcome without being overbearing. One example is when we traveled to Siracusa to see a Greek tragedy. Andrea gave us detailed instructions and a map to the Greek theatre. As well he found an English synopsis of the play so that we would understand the plot.

I highly recommend Loggia dell’Acanto. It was a pleasure to stay there and felt like we were at home. It was the highlight of our Sicilian vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2009

Exquisite hosts, delicious breakfast, exceptional hospitality and excellent location, make this B&B the ideal base for those who want to discover Sicilian baroque and the Iblean area. It would be difficult to find a better place.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank liparo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

Lovely setting, beautiful accommodations, great views, comfortable rooms, with many terraces for private relaxation. Our hosts were perfect, chatty, informative, urbane and sensitive to the times when one wanted to be alone. Reminded me of the the Grand Hotel in Cabourg (where Proust wrote and where I felt like a queen of deluxe) in charm and tone.

We had the place to ourselves but I imagine it would be as lovely when full up. We really enjoyed it and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2008

Dear tripadvisor.com:

We are an American elderly couple who spent 3 weeks in Sicily in Sept. 2008. During our trip to the Ragussa region, we found an outstanding Bed & Breakfast called "La Loggia dell' Acanto" owned by Andrea Tomasello, an Italian gentleman speaking excellent English and Spanish in addition to his native Italian.

La loggia has a couple of wonderful terraces overseeing the small town of Scicli (about 1 mile away), have 4 rooms and a separate complete 2-bedrooms apartment . Prices are reasonable (80 to 120 Euros depending on the season).
During our 2 days stay, Mr. Tomasello was more than helpful in driving us to the town, giving us tips on local shops and stores as well as providing useful information on local excursions and curiosities.

Overall, an excellent experience and we will be willing to recommend it if needed (you have our authorization to quote us and to shorten it if necesary). Everywhere in Sicily, we found people friendly and keen to help when problems arose. Thank you

Best regards Eric and Karen Vander Elst

Eric Vander Elst,MD
[-]

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank enmvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2008

This bad&breakfast is to be found on the hills overlooking Scicli, a gorgeous little Sicilian town of rich history and culture. Beside incredible views from the terrace, you will find very friendly owners and superb service. The rooms are perfectly equipped and clean, all the facilities are available and the whole interior is very authentic. Definitely recommended!

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank vkotor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2004

Set on a lovely hillside above the magical city of Scicli in the Sicilian region of Ragusa we found a true oasis. Our stay at La Loggia dell'Acanto was an extremely relaxing and highly pleasurable experience.

Andrea and Giovanna Tomasello were the most elegant and informed hosts of our travels in Sicily. Their warmth and attention made us feel like we were welcomed guests in their lovely home.

The beautiful setting, spectacular vistas and the most comfortable accommodations left us well rested and eager to explore the nearby fascinating towns of Scicli and Modica. We know that we will surely return to this wonderful place and highly recommend it as one of the highlights of our trip to Sicily.

2  Thank malpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alessandro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scicli hotels
4.7 mi away
Villa U Marchisi B&B
Villa U Marchisi B&B
#1 of 7 in Cava d'Aliga
313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scicli Albergo Diffuso
Scicli Albergo Diffuso
#1 of 40 in Scicli
365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Novecento
Hotel Novecento
#1 of 2 in Scicli
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel Le Dune
Hotel Le Dune
#1 of 1 in Sampieri
34 reviews
4.9 mi away
Le Signorine
Le Signorine
#5 of 7 in Cava d'Aliga
5 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mare In Sicilia Cava D'Aliga
Mare In Sicilia Cava D'Aliga
#1 of 2 in Cava d'Aliga
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Loggia dell'Acanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Loggia dell'Acanto

Address: Contrada Balata SNC, 97018, Scicli, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Scicli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Scicli
Price Range: £225 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set halfway up the hill, just 1 km far from the town of Scicli, along the hairpin bends of the road leading to Modica, the "Loggia dell’Acanto" offers a superb open view of the town and of the hills overlooking Scicli, the background of it all being the blue Mediterrranean Sea at short distance. The guests can enjoy the sandy beaches of our coast, all of them within 12-15 mins by car, tour the baroque towns of Modica (Km 7), Ragusa Ibla (Km 20), Noto (Km 35), all included in the World Heritage List by Unesco, make full-day excursions to such renowned places of archaeological interest as Siracusa, Agrigento, Piazza Armerina, and Taormina, or...just relax at the carob’s shade in the veranda of the house. Worth visiting for their naturalistic features are the Park of Etna, Vendicari (bird-watching) and The Mouth of Irminio. The Isle of Malta can be reached in 90 minutes from Pozzallo by catamaran. Each of the bedrooms reserved to our Guests has its own private bathroom, air-conditioning and ceiling-fan ventilation, central heating, satellite TV, mini fridge. Each bedroom has its own veranda or balcony. Continental breakfast is served in the air-conditioned lounge/sitting-room of the house. Parking on premises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
B&B Loggia Dell'Acanto Scicli, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing