We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our First Visit Won't Be Our Last”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salines Garden Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salines
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our First Visit Won't Be Our Last”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

My husband and I just returned from our trip to St. Barth, and I was inspired to write my (very first!) review of Saline's Garden right away. Before we arrived, Jean-Philippe and Laurence were very helpful answering our questions via email and even booked our rental car for us. Within minutes of our arrival, we were in our car and on our way to Saline's Garden. We were immediately struck by the beauty of St. Barth and had the most wonderful time getting to know Jean-Philippe, Laurence, and some of the other Cottage guests during our long weekend stay. We love to travel but don't usually repeat places (too much of the world to see!), yet we now plan to make a trip to St. Barth at least once a year. It's hard (read: impossible) to pick a favorite moment of the trip, but we really loved sharing a Presidente poolside with Jean-Philippe and hearing about his surfing adventures before dinner at an amazing place he recommended and booked for us. I got the impression that Jean-Philippe puts a lot of thought and consideration into his recommendations, and places a great deal of emphasis on restaurants that are a great value (not just the "in" place of the moment), which we definitely appreciated. We really did feel like his guests and are so grateful that this little slice of heaven exists. We will absolutely return and can't wait to bring family and friends with us next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AGMarq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    36
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
15
165
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

My husband and I love this simple but well-designed gem near to our favorite beach in St. Bart's. John-Phillippe and Laurence are wonderful hosts and the communal breakfasts with people from (this year) Italy, Brazil and France are filled with lively conversations. J-P has the scoop on which restaurants are good each year and what's going on with the island politics. The six cottages are arranged around a small pool which is beautifully lit at night. We just left and are already pining to go back next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 111susanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

After falling in love with St. Barths 3 years ago, my husband and I have made Salines Garden our hidden escape while on island. Salines Gardens is comprised of cozy, beach-inspired yet well appointed villas set in a peaceful and tranquil lush garden setting all surrounding a well-kept plunge pool perfect for a post beach dip after a long, hot beach day. Equally desirable its location, Salines Garden is ideally located within minutes from the best beaches on the island and a quick hop into Gustavia and of course St. Jean for the islands best shopping and dining. We have become close with the villas owner and "concierge" Jean-Phillipe, who caters to a host of international guests which makes evening communal cocktails quite interesting and another draw to Salines Garden. Jean Phillipe, whom we consider the mayor of St. Barths, will enhance your stay with his local insight on all aspects of your trip and most importantly, the restaurants which seem to vary seasonally. Enjoy St Barths and it's hidden gem , Salines Garden.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Basia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

it had been a few years since we last visited st. barts [high cost of lodging] but when we found the info on salines garden we immediately made a reservation. everything was perfect , from the ambience [many couples from france to practice our limited french with] to the helpful tips from jean philippe on where to eat . the cottages ,some of which have kitchenettes [ours did] , offer the opportunity to shop for lunch at the "rotisserie" for a wonderful lunch " to go "..of course the beaches are magnificent [we did not have a favorite] but it is great to people watch at st. jean and watch the planes land and take off {especially when they come in on the water side..all in all a wonderful place to use as a base for a totally relaxing vacation !!!!! joe and donna r.i.

Room Tip: we would recommend our room " wakiki"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

Salines Garden is a wonderful place. If you want to have a quiet, beautiful place to base yourself on this fantastic island then stay here. Jean-Philippe is a gracious host who will help you with everything you need. However, if you want privacy and solitude, this is also possible. The choice is yours. There were times when we didn't see or hear anyone apart from ourselves for several days. Perfect! It is not a bustling 5 star resort with room service, it is a chill, tranquil, beautiful place. All the fun and chaos is only a few minutes away in a cab.
St. Barth's has a saying, "Tell only your best friends." With Salines Garden we say, "Don't tell anyone else, but make sure you go!" Matt & Charity

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charity H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

Salines Garden is a hidden treasure where one will find peace & tranquility. The location is hard to beat, being just enough inside the land that it is very quiet and you will never hear a car go by. Yet close to one of St Barth's most beautiful beaches. The rooms are decorated with great taste, the bed was very large and comfortable and the service impeccable. Our host was very available and knowledgeable, he took care of our rental car as well as our restaurant reservations and made sure everything was going smoothly at all times. Also, the place counts only 5 cottages which makes it very peaceful and quiet and makes you feel at home. This is really an excellent value and we will definitely return to Salines Garden on our next trip to St Barth !

Room Tip: We had the Pavones room which was perfect !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MinTWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Salines Garden is a true gem - excellent value coupled with the perfect location, minutes away from the best beach at St. Bart's. Our host, Jean-Philippe made this trip truly memorable for us - from arranging our car rental with a great, reasonable domestic provider, meeting us at the airport, to sharing local spots, and entertaining us with his animated stories. We've already recommended Salines Garden to our friends and family...but we just couldn’t keep this amazing find to ourselves!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salines
1.4 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
5.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eden Rock - St Barths
Eden Rock - St Barths
#1 of 8 in St. Jean
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Village St Barth
3.1 mi away
Le P'tit Morne Hotel
Le P'tit Morne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Colombier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Sereno Hotel
Le Sereno Hotel
#3 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salines Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salines Garden Cottages

Property: Salines Garden Cottages
Address: Salines 97133, St. Barthelemy
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > Salines
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to St-Barths' finest beach, nested in a blooming tropical garden, five cottages surround a tranquil pool. A thoughtfully refined atmosphere for a relaxed and restorative vacation .A unique place, simply to discover.A delightful exception in St-Barths . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Salines Garden Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salines Garden Cottages Hotel
Salines Garden Hotel
Salines Garden Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing