We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why go anyplace else?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Salines Garden Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salines
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I write this review rather reluctantly and only in fairness to this wonderful hotel and its marvelous hosts, Jean-Philippe and Laurance. Once you experience Salines Garden, it is a secret that should not even be shared with your blood relatives.

In planning our first ever trip to the Caribbean my wife and I got a lot of advice from friends and relatives. When St. Barths came up the advice was "most dangerous airport in the world" and "its so expensive." Well the prospect of having so many people turned away from an island made us say "this is the place we want to be." We always consult tripadvisor when planning trips and this little gem -- Salines Garden Cottages was ranked very high. But we're never lucky enough to get these gems as they're usually always booked. Throwing caution to the wind, I emailed Jean-Philippe to ask about availability. Unfortunately our first choice week was fully booked but he was able to offer us a housekeeping cottage the next week. Our plans were flexible and we really wanted to try this hotel based on prior reviews. We booked the hotel and took Jean-Philippe's offer to meet us at the airport.

We arrived at St. Barth's airport (the flight and landing was wonderful even for tentative flyers like my wife) and at first didn't see Jean-Philippe. A representative of a larger hotel on the island saw we were looking and asked who was supposed to meet us. We said Jean-Philippe from Salines Garden and he immediately walked us to the car rental area where we saw our host. Jean-Philippe WAS NOT late in meeting us, but saw that our plane had landed and went to the rental agency to let then know we arrived and to begin the paperwork for us. When I arrived at the counter they addressed me by name, asked for my license and credit card, and in about 10 minutes we were following our host to the Cottages. This was the type of service we came to expect over the course of our 8 nights there.

The Cottage complex is marvelously tropical. While not large in terms of space, it's arranged so that there is an unbelievable amount of privacy. Our cottage, Padang Padang, was remarkably private and the outdoor "kitchen" area was a great place to sit and read after a long day of lounging on the beach. The pool is small but who needs a large pool with the most beautiful white sand beach about a kilometer (1/2 a mile) down the road? We used the pool just once to cool off. The pool, however, serves as a meeting place for those guests who'd like to socialize. Jean-Philippe also holds court in this area every evening around 6-8 pm to help guests with dinner plans, etc. While I do not think it's possible to have a bad meal on St. Barth's, Jean-Philippe's recommendations were very helpful.

We particularly enjoyed St. Barth's. The island itself is a contrast of beachy casual and tres chic. Where else could you enjoy a meal in a Jean-George restaurant without feeling out of place in shorts and flip flops? There's all the natural beauty on the one hand and the free port atmosphere of Gustavia with chic bars and Champs Elysees-style shopping.

While we were there, the guests were a melange of English and French speakers. While my French is only a bit better than most Americans with 4 years of high school French, I found communication quite easy. We found the breakfast area to be a very pleasant place to swap stories, etc.

There were some negative comments here about the breakfast but we are very well travelled and found the croissants and pain (bread) to be about the same as we've had in hotels in France, Netherlands, and Italy.

We will be returning to the Caribbean and the only place we will consider is St. Barth's. Naturally, on St. Barth's, we will only consider staying at Salines Garden Cottages. When challenged by our friends' comments that there are other nice places in the Caribbean too, I can only say that I take my vacations to relax. And the time I spent at Salines Garden and this wonderful island was about the most relaxing vacation I have ever experienced.

Room Tip: A housekeeping cottage was very convenient as we could store our wine and snacks. Also, there's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank riskdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2013

This year we come back to salines garden cottages in St Barths: everything is wonderful and peaceful as always. A little corner of paradise...It's the ideal place to relax and forget all the life troubles!!!
In this quiet hotel you'll naturally forget stress and the noise of the city where you live...
Enjoy your holiday here!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atleticgabry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My husband and I just spent our first vacation in St. Barth's at Saline Gardens. We had a delightful stay - our host Jean-Philippe was great, very accommodating, had fantastic suggestions for dinners, arranged a car rental for us, booked reservations, recommended places to go, and was very helpful when we had any questions or requests. The setting of five cottages was very peaceful and relaxing. You get to know other visitors around the pool or at the communal breakfast - that was a very nice touch as we became acquainted with a nice group of visitors. As we explored the island - we were the closest to one of the best beaches on the island - we were happy to return each night to our temporary home...would highly recommend these cottages.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My husband and I just returned from our trip to St. Barth, and I was inspired to write my (very first!) review of Saline's Garden right away. Before we arrived, Jean-Philippe and Laurence were very helpful answering our questions via email and even booked our rental car for us. Within minutes of our arrival, we were in our car and on our way to Saline's Garden. We were immediately struck by the beauty of St. Barth and had the most wonderful time getting to know Jean-Philippe, Laurence, and some of the other Cottage guests during our long weekend stay. We love to travel but don't usually repeat places (too much of the world to see!), yet we now plan to make a trip to St. Barth at least once a year. It's hard (read: impossible) to pick a favorite moment of the trip, but we really loved sharing a Presidente poolside with Jean-Philippe and hearing about his surfing adventures before dinner at an amazing place he recommended and booked for us. I got the impression that Jean-Philippe puts a lot of thought and consideration into his recommendations, and places a great deal of emphasis on restaurants that are a great value (not just the "in" place of the moment), which we definitely appreciated. We really did feel like his guests and are so grateful that this little slice of heaven exists. We will absolutely return and can't wait to bring family and friends with us next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AGMarq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My husband and I love this simple but well-designed gem near to our favorite beach in St. Bart's. John-Phillippe and Laurence are wonderful hosts and the communal breakfasts with people from (this year) Italy, Brazil and France are filled with lively conversations. J-P has the scoop on which restaurants are good each year and what's going on with the island politics. The six cottages are arranged around a small pool which is beautifully lit at night. We just left and are already pining to go back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 111susanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

After falling in love with St. Barths 3 years ago, my husband and I have made Salines Garden our hidden escape while on island. Salines Gardens is comprised of cozy, beach-inspired yet well appointed villas set in a peaceful and tranquil lush garden setting all surrounding a well-kept plunge pool perfect for a post beach dip after a long, hot beach day. Equally desirable its location, Salines Garden is ideally located within minutes from the best beaches on the island and a quick hop into Gustavia and of course St. Jean for the islands best shopping and dining. We have become close with the villas owner and "concierge" Jean-Phillipe, who caters to a host of international guests which makes evening communal cocktails quite interesting and another draw to Salines Garden. Jean Phillipe, whom we consider the mayor of St. Barths, will enhance your stay with his local insight on all aspects of your trip and most importantly, the restaurants which seem to vary seasonally. Enjoy St Barths and it's hidden gem , Salines Garden.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Basia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

it had been a few years since we last visited st. barts [high cost of lodging] but when we found the info on salines garden we immediately made a reservation. everything was perfect , from the ambience [many couples from france to practice our limited french with] to the helpful tips from jean philippe on where to eat . the cottages ,some of which have kitchenettes [ours did] , offer the opportunity to shop for lunch at the "rotisserie" for a wonderful lunch " to go "..of course the beaches are magnificent [we did not have a favorite] but it is great to people watch at st. jean and watch the planes land and take off {especially when they come in on the water side..all in all a wonderful place to use as a base for a totally relaxing vacation !!!!! joe and donna r.i.

Room Tip: we would recommend our room " wakiki"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salines
1.1 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
379 reviews
1.4 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
619 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villa Marie Saint-Barth
Villa Marie Saint-Barth
#2 of 2 in Colombier
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
50 reviews
16.6 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
764 reviews
3.1 mi away
Le P'tit Morne Hotel
Le P'tit Morne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Colombier
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salines Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salines Garden Cottages

Address: Salines 97133, St. Barthelemy
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > Salines
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salines
Price Range: £124 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to St-Barths' finest beach, nested in a blooming tropical garden, five cottages surround a tranquil pool. A thoughtfully refined atmosphere for a relaxed and restorative vacation .A unique place, simply to discover.A delightful exception in St-Barths . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Salines Garden Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salines Garden Cottages Hotel
Salines Garden Hotel
Salines Garden Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing