We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best deal in St Barths and possibly all of the Caribbean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Salines Garden Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salines
albany
Level 5 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best deal in St Barths and possibly all of the Caribbean”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This was our first trip to St Barths but we got a heads up on this great place three years ago on Trip Advisor. We went to some other places in between but we knew eventually we would be able to put St Barths and Salines Garden Cottages on our schedule. Now the problem becomes when can we put it back on the schedule to go a second time.

SGC has a lot to offer for a great price and Jean Phillipe and Laurence are two great hosts. We chose not to take a room with a kitchen which we didn't feel we needed but we did want to store some ice for our small beach cooler. Laurence let us borrow a larger cooler to use and this worked out perfectly.

The free breakfasts are a great place to mingle with the other guests and to get their perspectives on St. Barths. We might have been the only one visiting for the first time. It seems like many people are returnees to the Island.

We wanted to take the plane over from St Martin but it was booked so we took the ferry and Jean Phillipe met us at the ferry dock and we followed him to SGC in our rental. I wasn't expecting this and that set the tone for outstanding service.

We stayed in the Pavone room and it was perfect for our needs. Most of our days we spent at the great beaches so our in room time was minimal but it was very nice not having a TV. We didn't miss it at all although the in room free internet did come in handy to stay connected to the outside world.

SGC is very close by to Grand Salines beach which is an absolutely fantastic beach. There are also three restaurants between SGC and the beach. We only ate at one of the them but we did check out the other two and they looked great and if you go by the amount of cars parked there you would have to guess the food was very good as well.

SGC is very close by L'Orient and St Jean. Both have shops and nice places to eat. SGC is also fairly close to the airport and Gustavia. Fifteen minutes max. The roads are a little tight and curvy in some spots but we had no problems at all finding our way and it's nice to go to a foreign country where they drive on the same side as in America.

We would definitely recommend SGC for people looking to spend $150 and under a night. It's an absolute incredible steal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doublegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    36
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
17
165
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We just got back from our 2nd visit to Salines Garden in St. Barthelemy. We did not think it would be possible to have a better experience the 2nd time, but we sure were wrong!! Jean-Phillippe gave us a great place to stay, good advice about things to do on the island, and peace and quiet. He is a very nice man and really cares about his guests!! We will be coming back for many years to come!!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tommy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We just returned from a lovely 12 days at Saline Garden Cottages. I first traveled to St. Bart many years ago and have returned a number of times over the years. My wife had never been to St. Bart, and this was our first stay at Saline Garden. Our room was even more beautiful than the pictures. Very comfortable bed and linens with immaculate daily made service.The landscaping and plantings surrounding the intimate and romantic pool-bar area, are spectacular. Each morning, the jovial creator and owner, Jean-Phillipe provides a wonderful light French breakfast, trustworthy suggestions about where to dine, swim or surf. And if you're lucky, he may have an wonderful island story or two to share with you. Saline Garden is a quiet, down to earth oasis in the midst of bustling, racy St. Bart, yet the town of Gustavia is just over the hill, a mere 5 minutes away. The crystal clear waters of Saline Beach, one of the world's most beautiful, untouched, undeveloped beaches is nearby, as are some of the best restaurants on the island (Le Esprit and M&P). Saline Garden Cottages is a tremendous value at twice the price! We'll be returning next year!

Room Tip: We LOVED our stay in the cottage named Pavones ! But truly, all the cottages are adorable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Me and my wife were there 2 days ago, everything was great.
The infrastructure, the location and the care that everything is done by the owner (Jean-philippe) and his team is surprising.
The best deal (include costs) in the island.
Ask Jean-philippe about restaurants, places and others, and you will could double-check after, you will see that him
We went to "Do Brazil" for have lunch (because we are Brazilians) and was a big mistake (not educated waiters and just looking for rich people to get good tips).
In the end of the same day I met Jean-philippe on the pool deck and told him the experience.
He immediately apologized for whats happened and booked for us another restaurant for dinner and made it in his own name (because it was already crowded).
An experience not only polite, but shows some of the spirit of the island .... a place to come every year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HugoSergioAssis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Although sad from leaving paradise to return to the real world, we’re anxious & excited to share our review of this gem of a place.

Salines Garden Cottages is a charming, quaint and romantic respite from everyday life. The grounds are beautifully landscaped & blessed with a tropical/local variety of bird species, butterflies & even turtles. Our chic & thoughtfully appointed room – Pavones, brought all the conveniences of a home with everything necessary to secure a comfortable stay. A communal breakfast which is included in your stay is served on a room to the side of the pool which we though was adequate enough to get the day started. It’s perfectly situated within walking or driving distance to one of the most beautiful beaches (in our opinion) – Salines Beach. And it’s also a short drive to other spectacular ones: Gouverneur, St. Jean & Shell. In addition, it’s close to Gustavia if you’re in the mood for a little shopping & near many good dining spots. During our stay, we had the pleasure of meeting Jean-philippe, the owner. He’s a very personable, knowledgeable & accommodating host. He has many good recommendations & this afforded us the opportunity to make the most of your time during our 3-night stay at St. Barts. We will most definitely return and are already setting some time in our calendars for our visit next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ADM2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

It was our second time on St. Barths, the first being only a day trip. Now we decided to stay there for several days. The Saline Garden Cottages are an ideal place, as they beautifully situated in an area with many trees. The Cottages are arranged around a central pool with a nearby bar. Our room had a nice kitchen outside and showed a good taste for esthetics, as did the whole Hotel. Already by arriving you feel at home and come into contact with a lot of interesting people. Jean-Philippe, the owner, is very helpful and because of his long-year experience knows many interesting stories. We appreciated very much that was very silent, and indeed we never slept better during our stay in the Caribbean. You could just sit down watching the birds and lizards. Another advantage is the short distance to Anse de Salines, one of the most beautiful beaches not only of the Caribbean where we used to swim and snorkel every day. Thus we highly recommend Saline Gardens and we already plan our next stay in one year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eberhard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

It was our first trip to St Barths and Salines Garden was the perfect place to stay. Fantastic value with everything you need and hospitable host Jean-Phillippe. Jean-Phillippe picked us up from the ferry port, organised a car rental for us, made us a delicious breakfast every morning and gaves us helpful hints on beaches, restaurants. It really is a beautiful island and we met some lovely people at the Salines Garden. Would highly recommend staying here and hope to be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CassieCobain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salines
1.4 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
613 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
374 reviews
1.6 mi away
Les Islets Fleuris
Les Islets Fleuris
#1 of 1 in Marigot
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Le P'tit Morne Hotel
Le P'tit Morne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Colombier
143 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tropical Hotel St Barth
Tropical Hotel St Barth
#4 of 8 in St. Jean
109 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Baie des Anges
Hotel Baie des Anges
#3 of 4 in Anse des Flamands
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salines Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salines Garden Cottages

Property: Salines Garden Cottages
Address: Salines 97133, St. Barthelemy
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > Salines
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to St-Barths' finest beach, nested in a blooming tropical garden, five cottages surround a tranquil pool. A thoughtfully refined atmosphere for a relaxed and restorative vacation .A unique place, simply to discover.A delightful exception in St-Barths . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Salines Garden Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salines Garden Cottages Hotel
Salines Garden Hotel
Salines Garden Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing