We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Salines Garden Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salines
Carmagnola, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 24 May 2010

...twenty days of a peaceful holiday in a cottage very nice...the hotel is in a garden wich describes completely the caribbean colours and the beauty of the island.
The owner of the Salines Garden Cottages is also a perfect guide of the island and he can help you to choose a different restaurant ( everyone very good!!!) or a cafè where you can have a good drink or a coffee...my suggestion is...TRY THIS!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atleticgabry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    36
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
17
165
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

Everything about this trip starts off with the approach to the island in a small, off-white, feather-light plane. As it lands, it hits the brakes abruptly, at short intervals, to avoid further advance into the picturesque turquoise Caribbean Sea.

A Jeep is there waiting in the meadow, accompanied by its chauffeur who is no other than Jean Philippe, the boss and owner of Salines Garden Cottage. A warm welcome from this relaxed gentleman keeps us at ease and loosens us up as he explains the island with humor and derision. Laughter escapes the SUV as it strolls along the coast.                                           

We stop at a large red electric gate that widens our eyes in shock. The gate opens to a paradise of luxurious vegetation, placed at the feet of a superb, monumental rock peak, sculpted over the years by nature’s elements. The carefree spirit and silence of this place overcomes us. The multicolored birds and butterflies seem to dance a ballet as we are accompanied to our tropical bungalow overseeing the pool.
Every bungalow, numbered from one to ten, are more like mini suites with individual kitchens, patios and each decorated differently to evoke various countries. We almost wanted to share all the bungalows to travel more at ease in this paradise comfort. The local construction has charm and respect, everyone has their own independent space without being shut off or isolated from everything. An inviting noise joins all the hotel guests by the pool bar. It displays a huge conviviality and complicity reigns amongst all the international guests, which quickly becomes a cordial relationship. We hear English, French, Spanish..etc...just to say,  very multilingual.
                                                                                                                     All of this, managed and animated by Jean Philippe and his spouse, Laurence.
Where will we dine tonight?
Finally, for this first night we opt for grilled fish and lobster at l’Esprit Saline,  which is the regular and favorite ‘hot-spot’ of the stars and cosmopolitan showbiz people. Not to forget, Jean Phillipe had already made our reservation!!
This recuperating night and the company of the light ocean breeze were a perfect combination.                                  
Surprise- all the clients are at a huge table for a fulfilling breakfast and anecdotes of activities from the previous evening swarm in. A nonstop dance from the black and yellow sugar birds travel and coexists with us.     
                                                                                            
Later, choosing the daily choice of activities is difficult; the beach, shopping, sport, promenade by boat, or even fishing...ancient TaiKuando master, Surf...Jean Philippe and Laurence always advise wisely and know exactly what the whole island has to offer. They only have to pick up the phone and dial.
Salines Garden Cottage, this superb and incredible location of residence among paradise will always stay with us and be the source of souvenirs from a millionaire-like vacation, as well as souvenirs of a second family.                 
Thank you Jean Philippe & Laurence !!              
04/19/10
Maxim & Elyan Miami Fl

Helpful?
2 Thank MJmnmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

we're just coming back from St barth where we spent 4 days at Saline Cottage garden.
we had read many reviews before choosing this cottage, and we were not disappointed!
It's a small place (5 cottages) around a nice pool and bar surrounded by a tropical vegetation which makes it a very charming and quiet place to be. One afternoon it was so hot that we prefered laying next to the pool under the shadow of the vegetation.
nothing to say regarding the cottage and the bathroom which were well furnished and decorated. the owner, jean-philippe, came to pick us up at the airport, he is full of good advice and knows everything on St Barth (from gossips to politics..). it really worth it spending some time at breakfast talking with him to really feel St Barth's life. we hope to come back soon

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soso128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut-USA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Just returned from a 10 day stay at Salines Garden, a tropical sanctuary...wasn't sure what to expect but so happy we took a chance and stayed here. This centrally located mini-resort has it all except ocean front views...but on tiny St Barts this element really doesn't matter. Within a 10/15 minute walk are two of the best beaches on ST Barts. The cottages are spacious, most with high ceilings and a 4 poster bed...bathrooms are halogen-lit, modern, and spectacularly updated. The space also provides a common bar and another sitting area with wide screen TV. We hope to get back here often.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daruten1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Salines Gardens is simply a wonderful experience. If you're looking for 5 star amenities like spa, large pool, private beach, room service, business facilities, this is not your hotel. But if you are looking for a beautiful place to relax in tastefully decorated simple rooms, you simply cannot do better. Much closer in feel to having your own small villa than being in a regular hotel. Perfectly located in the centre of the island, it's a short drive to anywhere you would want to go to. Superb bang-on advice from the owner on restaurants. If you want to get off the beaten track on the island and not feel managed by a "hotel experience", this is your place. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edgarthehippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2010

I stayed here with my g/f, we are both in our early 30's and cosmopolitan with an eye for detail and service. This place was a good place to stay in St Barth, and among the less expensive hotels on the island, after alot of research. After an motorized entry gate, there are basically a few buildings grouped around a small plunge pool. The room we stayed in (Essaouria) was small but cozy, and had everything we needed. We felt secluded from the bustle of Gustavia, but only 10 min drive away. Saline beach, after Colombier beach, was our favorite on the island, and it's just a few hundred meters down the road from this hotel. The owner was an older French guy who was very friendly and had a bit of wine for happy hour for everyone at his little bar when we returned from the beach. There was wifi which was nice. I would go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JadedJetset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Salines Garden--located down the road from Saline beach--a vast and superb beach, calm at one end and at the other end gentle surf--offers a small group of handsome, well-maintained and clean accommodations (with and without kitchenette) artfully and discreetly arranged around a small pool amidst lush tropical vegetation. There are comfortable outdoor options for sun or shade and we were especially grateful for the quiet we shared with the other the other guests. You will see a lot of your host Jean-Philippe, who, while arranging your continental breakfast (with local newspaper) offers news of local and world events accompanied by engaging commentary. In addition, he has a charming way of acquainting new arrivals with those already there that makes for a pleasant social atmosphere. Prior to our arrival we expressed an interest in having an oven or microwave in the kitchenette, and when we checked in we were pleased to find a microwave had been supplied. Although cases of Dengue fever have recently been reported on St. Barths, the owner has the property sprayed regularly against mosquitoes. We hope to return to Salines Garden.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wscottbraznell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salines
1.4 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
612 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
372 reviews
3.1 mi away
Le P'tit Morne Hotel
Le P'tit Morne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Colombier
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Les Islets Fleuris
Les Islets Fleuris
#1 of 1 in Marigot
16 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tropical Hotel St Barth
Tropical Hotel St Barth
#4 of 8 in St. Jean
108 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villa Marie Saint-Barth
Villa Marie Saint-Barth
#2 of 2 in Colombier
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salines Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salines Garden Cottages

Property: Salines Garden Cottages
Address: Salines 97133, St. Barthelemy
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > Salines
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to St-Barths' finest beach, nested in a blooming tropical garden, five cottages surround a tranquil pool. A thoughtfully refined atmosphere for a relaxed and restorative vacation .A unique place, simply to discover.A delightful exception in St-Barths . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Salines Garden Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salines Garden Cottages Hotel
Salines Garden Hotel
Salines Garden Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing