We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good potential let down by service”
Review of Zojila Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zojila Residency
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kargil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Kargil is not a place one would choose to stay, but it is the most convenient stop on the road from Srinagar to Leh. Many new lodgings are in construction, and the place is dusty and noisy. This is a relatively new hotel, but you would think it opened last week judging from the unfinished fittings and the dust and building materials around. The rooms are solid, spacious and comfortable, many with river views, and the bathroom is good, although HW not always available. We had some power cuts (found this is not unusual all around Kashmir/Ladakh). It's a bit out of town, and not a nice place to walk around in due to construction mess and roaming groups of young men.
The service/attitude is a problem. They act as if they are doing you a big favour even to check you in. We were offered twin room though we booked (and pre-paid) for a double. Restaurant service is sloppy although food is pretty good. At the end we were overcharged and had to argue about the bill. If the service (and general finishing/cleanliness) was improved this would definitely be one of the best places to stay in Kargil.

Room Tip: Some rooms have views of river - although with construction work and fencing it was not really pictu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belinda-ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here for one night, while we were going to Leh. This is quiet a decent hotel and have good food and occupancy. Rooms are Big and comfortable. Room Service is not that good here.

Make sure you carry cash to pay as past Srinagar, no one accepts Cards, though there are ATMs

Room Tip: Rooms on River side have good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azar_Jindal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

After a night in tents, the Zojila residency was a welcome change for us enroute to Leh. The roms are spacious, food is tasty and staff supportive. The hotel is by Suru river (a tributary of Indus) and offers cable TV, hot water, wifi and all basic amenities.

Room Tip: Rooms with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank manisha_kothari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

One of the best hotel to stay, room are very good neat and clean and of big size, food quality is excellent and the owner is very supportive must go to this hotel when your visit to kargil, hotel is near to the river with good view

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nayan_mumbai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Kargil is a place where everyone stays only overnight. And the hotels take advantage of this. This hotel is good, but they are not transparent about their rates. They see the customer and charge accordingly. We were not aware of any other good place so opted for it. Wifi even in lobby is not free; they insist on taking food in their restaurant. The bottom line is avoid this if possible.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the river on back side, for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Raju K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Looks like a relatively new hotel. Rooms were good compared to the others we had seen in the same place. Hot water needed time from tap and it was lukewarm at best. The service required follow up, but the attitude was quite helpful. Wi-fi worked and also had a decent enclosed parking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anirban G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Usually i would rate a hotel like this either 2-3 star but i chose to give it 4 due to options available in Kargil. The hotel is newly built has wooden flooring a nice 32" LCD along with most cable channels available... Since hotel just started it still needs to improve a lot on few aspects. wifi only available in the lobby. Food was good through our stay... Geysers are missing in Bathrooms... which is a must...
owner is a nice guy and i'm sure with time this property will get better.

anyway its the best available hotel in Kargil.

Room Tip: Ask for bigger rooms facing the River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sayadil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kargil hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dzojila
Hotel Dzojila
#7 of 11 in Kargil
105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Siachen
Hotel Siachen
#10 of 11 in Kargil
65 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Kargil
Hotel The Kargil
#4 of 11 in Kargil
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Highland Mountain Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Hotel Chhutuk heights
Hotel Chhutuk heights
#6 of 11 in Kargil
14 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Royal Gasho
Hotel Royal Gasho
#5 of 11 in Kargil
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zojila Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zojila Residency

Address: Near Brigade Bagh Zojila Residency Near Brigade Bagh | Baroo, Kargil 194105, India (Formerly Hotel D Zojia)
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Kargil District > Kargil
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kargil
Price Range: £40 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zojila Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zojila Residency is an upgrade A class hotel in Kargil and has all the modern facilities available in a modern hotel today. It has 38 Deluxe Double rooms and 04 Family Suites with a multi cuisine restaurant and a conference hall of 50 seats capacity with ample parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Zojila Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing