We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Hotel d'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel d'Angleterre
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Arreau
Nairn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights and loved the simple elegance and genuine hospitality. Marie-Helene, Sandrine and their mother were very welcoming hosts and were extremely kind and helpful with their advice; everything from weather reports to which pass to take over the mountains for the best views.
The hotel was refurbished two years ago and the public areas and rooms are very stylish in an understated way, combining traditional with contemporary. We had a “comfort room+” at the back of the hotel which was spacious and quiet with a view of the garden to look out onto in the morning. It was spotlessly clean and the king-sized bed was fitted with an excellent mattress.
Breakfasts were typical continental, fresh and offered a good choice. For dinner there were three menus to choose from for varied appetites and we enjoyed the two meals we had sampling food from the region. We thought the food was very good value. There is an interesting aperitif list and the wine list has a good selection of all-French wines. We went to La Grange one night, also owned by the family, in Saint-Lary about 10 minutes away and had a very enjoyable dinner there too. The restaurant is very busy and Sandrine booked us the last available table.
The WiFi service is good and the car-park behind the hotel is a definite plus.
Arreau is a small town but is full of character and very picturesque. We also liked Bagneres-de-Bigorre which we visited on the Saturday to go to the market.
We would definitely love to make a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tombain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    42
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
54
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Only stayed one night out of season.
The Hotel is in an old building but inside is very modern.
The bedrooms were sizeable ,clean and the bathroom very well fitted out.

The Hotel is just off the Village centre, which has a good selection of restaurants and bars...if I ever came back here during the season I would look to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Osiris001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed one night at this lovely hotel. It has obviously been totally redecorated inside and this has been done very tastefully with no expense spared. Our room and bathroom were spacious, the bed was very comfortable and the carpet was so soft and lovely to walk on. The family who own it are very friendly and even though they had some difficulty speaking English, they manage very well. Unfortunately, there were major road-works going on in the village and no restaurants were open for dinner (due to water supply being turned off). The hotel was not serving dinner either, but the lady at reception did suggest a couple of places we could dine at in another village.They did serve breakfast though, which was very nice. There is private parking behind the hotel, where you walk through a lovely garden to the back entrance.
We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henryjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We have stayed with Marie-Helene and her family on two previous occasions and we keep coming back! This was the first year I had taken my bike and saw the hotel from a new perspective. it is close to at least a dozen of the major climbs - all of which have featured in the TDF at some stage. Secure bike storage is offered and there is a washing line in the garden for all the cycling kit that needs to be washed!!
The hotel has undergone extensive renovation since we were last there and it looks wonderful. We stayed in a brand new room and were the first guests - quite special. It was a large room with a full sized bath, separate toilet, juliette balcony, french doors and a lovely skylight in the bathroom. The entire suite was light and bright - fixtures and fittings were of a high quality. Bed was large and comfortable as were the pillows!
As always the food was outstanding - 4 x courses every night and the chef comes up with a great menu using the local produce. it is really a treat to eat at the hotel with the locals.
Arreau is a great town with a wonderful market on a Thursday - one of the best I have seen in France - one of its best kept secrets!!
You will not be disappointed if you choose to visit Arreau and this lovely hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for room 206 - its brand new, very quiet and is just lovely! It has its own entry and is more pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed here whilst driving through the Pyrenees. The hotel was pretty simple but clean and comfortable. Arreau was a very picturesque town, and as it had a couple of restaurants definitely preferable to some of the very quiet towns we passed through! We didn't spend much time in the hotel but I can say that the staff were friendly and relaxed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We have stayed with Marie Helene and the family two years running and have had a wonderful time on both occasions! They welcomed us back like family and made us feel so happy to have returned to their hotel. The food here is wonderful and nothing is too much trouble to make your stay memorable. We speak very little French but the staff were so keen to try and speak with us and help us out no matter what we required. We will return again for sure - its a real hidden treasure!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Lovely stopover during our drive through the Pyrenees Cosy hotel with comfortable rooms and lovely food. Very welcoming atmosphere. Staff on desk didn't speak too much English but we managed with others helping out. Value for money

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JUPANDMUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arreau
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Val d'Aure
Hotel du Val d'Aure
#2 of 2 in Arreau
42 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mercure Saint Lary Sensoria
Mercure Saint Lary Sensoria
#1 of 10 in Saint-Lary-Soulan
485 reviews
6.2 mi away
La Pergola
La Pergola
#5 of 10 in Saint-Lary-Soulan
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Aurelia
Hotel Aurelia
#1 of 1 in Vielle-Aure
126 reviews
6.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Rives de L'Aure
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les ...
#2 of 10 in Saint-Lary-Soulan
419 reviews
7.5 mi away
Le Sapin Fleuri
Le Sapin Fleuri
#1 of 1 in Bourg-d'Oueil
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre

Property: Hotel d'Angleterre
Address: Route de Luchon, 65240 Arreau, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Arreau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Arreau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Angleterre 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
> traveled through time to present all the charms of an authentic distinguished house with a sincere family spirit. Entirely renovated, in 2013 summer the Hotel d'Angleterre ensure you a confortable stay, combining modernity and a mountain touch. Rooms and Junior Suites spacious and cosy : flat screen TV, desk, wifi, telephone, large storage areas and elevators. Three home-made breakfast options served in the dining room or on the terrace and possibility to dine at the restaurant during summer (from mid-may to end of september). The garden, the hidden swimming-pool and the lounge are at your disposal to relax. Large locked car park, secured and specific place for sport and leisure equipments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing